1994 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3L V6 TBI from North America


Reliable truck for light work or commuting.


Master cylinder had to be replaced around 75,000 miles.

Windshield wipers and cruise control have recently started to act up.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been great so far with only the one major problem with the master cylinder. It hasn't stranded me yet.

This truck has a smooth ride on the highway and good acceleration with the V6 for passing and merging into traffic. Handling is average, its definitely not a sports car.

When I first got the vehicle, gas mileage was around 18-19mpg, but has increased to 21-22mpg after changing my driving habits.

The wipers recently refused to work, I have no idea why. Fortunately it wasn't raining, I was only attempting to clean the windshield. Cruise control didn't work the day after, but the wipers did. I haven't had a problem with either since.

The radio could be better with the AM reception.

Its not extended cab, but I guess that's my fault :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2002

30th Nov 2002, 11:27

The '94 S-10 actually is a nice vehicle as you say. Personally, I've never had any problems with it. And the power those little V6s put out is unreal. For example, it towed a full sized 4x4 down the highway with ease. As long as its been taken care of, they're really good buys.

1994 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3 Vortec V6 from North America


A good truck for the money


I bought the truck new and have not had any major problems thus far.

I put a new exhaust system on 2 times.

New tires at 74,000 and 130,000 miles.

I replaced the battery 2 times.

Replaced a rear u-joint at 125,000 miles.

Otherwise the body and interior are in very good condition.

General Comments:

The air conditioner has always worked very good and still gets colder than my new truck.

The body has held up well in the past 8 years although the paint is starting to fade on the top of the plastic bumpers.

Overall this truck has held up well in all aspects over the years from the interior to the exterior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

1994 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3 L V6 from North America


Power vs comfort


Front lowering arms needed to be replaced.

Air conditioner needed to be charged at 50,000 miles.

The muffler needed to be replaced at 65,000 miles.

The clutch needed to be replaced at 68,000 miles.

General Comments:

The truck has a lot of power, and it is fun to drive with the manual transmission.

This is a very difficult vehicle to drive in a winter climate, the powerful two wheel drive slips around on ice, snow and rain.

The paint that is used on the truck doesn't stand up to the weather. I washed and waxed the truck all the time, but it still couldn't help with the fight against rust.

The ride is far from great. You may want to reconsider taking her out for long distances, not to comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

1994 Chevrolet S-10 LS Extended Cab 4.3 CPI HO from North America


Top of the line performer


The computer needed to be replaced, but that comes with age. The suspension is very loose, but I believe it needs a suspension upgrade.

General Comments:

This car can take almost any V-6 off the line. I am very pleased with the performance and overall look. I would recommend an S-10 to anyone. This car has potential to become a street/strip performer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

1994 Chevrolet S-10 4.6 V6 from North America


This truck is an improvement in American built trucks


Wipers quit working at 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

Dealer told me the wiper control module is **NOT** water proof so it shorts out and burns components when it rains. Clever.

The 4.3 V6 performs well and has fairly serious acceleration.

The ABS system is a bit jittery under hard braking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

1994 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2 from North America


Transmission gears jamming at 130,000 miles.

Water pump at 85000.

Starter at 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is owned by my sister. She is not good at maintaining anything in good shape.

The oil was changed every 20,000-30,000 miles.

Transmission fluid was never checked or changed until it was damaged.

I thought that the truck held up pretty good considering how it was taken care of. So I purchased an S-10 with a V6 and maintain it like it should be. And I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2001

6th Apr 2004, 15:51

Do you really mean she only changed the oil every 20,000 to every 30,000. it is amazing that truck ran at all in the end. Makes me want to go buy one right now if it can take that kind of abuse and still go.

8th May 2005, 22:37

Suprisingly vehicles can go a very long time without an oil change. With some vehicles that go 40,000 without an oil change and you change it, everything goes to garbage after that. Including the motor. A dodge neon went 40,000 miles without an oil change.