1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America


Great truck


Replaced catalytic converter (about $250.00) at 80,000 miles.

Replaced cracked head at 110,000 miles (no clue how that happened... about $1,000).

Replaced AC compressor at 175,000 miles (got a rebuilt one on eBay for $120.00... including shipping... put it in myself in less than 2 hours... don't go to the dealer; they quoted me $1200 for the job!).

Replaced alternator at 180,000 miles ($120.00 installed).

Pretty good deal in spending $1600 in maintenance over a 13 year period in my opinion.

General Comments:

This is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. My previous vehicle was a Honda Prelude, and this truck is WAY MORE reliable than the Honda was.

At 201,000 miles, I still own and drive this truck. Even though I just recently acquired another vehicle, I still use the truck for commuting at least 2 days a week (it gets a lot better mileage than my sedan - average of 27 MPG... and I drive fast). Also, this truck has never leaked a single drop of oil (a pet peeve of mine).

Total cost of ownership ($8,900 purchase price (19K on the clock), about $1,600 in repairs over a 13 year period). Net cost of about $10,500 plus gas/insurance/etc.

P.S. I replaced the original brakes at 150,000 miles, and have yet to replace the original clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2008

1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS Extened Cab 4.3 Liter HIgh Output from North America


Great little pickup


Left Tie-rod rusted to the point it couldn't be adjusted.

Constant knock in the motor (still running strong and not burning oil)

General Comments:

I paid 2650 for the vehicle

There is no rust on the body panels

Decent interior

Great power

Cannot be beaten by the Japanses trucks

Plenty of aftermarket parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2006

10th May 2007, 11:12

Yes, plenty of after-market parts as the parts need replacing constantly.

1995 Chevrolet S-10 4x2 Short bed, reg. cab 2.2L I4 from North America


Best quarter ton pickup that money can buy


I rebuild the trans roughly once a year, but I tow things that are roughly twice the capacity, and load the bed well beyond capacity. I think I may have solved this with a trans cooler, but if you're not doing MAJOR towing/hauling on the weekends, don't worry about it.

I barely ever do tuneups.

The alternator was dealt a mortal wound jump-starting a diesel air compressor (which had 4 batteries to start it) but somehow still clung to life for about 8 more months.

General Comments:

I love this truck. I will never buy anything other than Chevy after owning this vehicle, since it somehow manages to take every bit of abuse I throw at it, and returns fantastic (28+) MPG on the highway and around town.

If you want a truck that you can just hop in, beat on and not worry about, the S10 is for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2006

5th Mar 2006, 21:55

You ever think of buying a heavier duty truck?

12th Nov 2006, 09:51

28+ mpg? little optimistic I think...

27th Apr 2007, 11:49

Not TOO optimistic... A 1995 S10 with a 2.2 L4 and a 5-speed Manual transmission will REGULARLY return 29 miles per gallon, Highway. Trust me. I have one. The same truck with an auto tranny gets 26mpg, Highway.

1995 Chevrolet S-10 2.2L 4 cylinder. from North America


Great little truck


Since I bought it the only problem that I have had is the thermostat gasket leaking. It cost less than $10 for the t-stat and gasket. Everything else has just been routine maintenance.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic little truck. It gets very good gas mileage. I average about 24 mpg in town and have gotten as much as 32 mpg on a long interstate trip.

It has been very reliable for me. Even though it now has 220,000 miles, it still runs very well. I expect to get over 300,000 miles before rebuilding the engine.

The only thing that I can gripe about are the seats. They need a little better padding on the sides.

As far as performance goes, I think that it is acceptable. Its handling isn't as nice as most cars today, but for a truck It handles extremely well. The acceleration could be a little better, but I wouldn't trade it for its great gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2005