1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3L from North America

Summary:

Enjoyable little truck

Faults:

I have to replace the exhaust manifold gasket and the rear axle seal. The seats are wearing out, but then again I'm not a light weight.

General Comments:

The truck looks great, inside and out, for as old as it is. Good ergonomics, easy to reach everything. Exterior holding up well, still looks good with very limited rust showing. Comfy ride, a little bit of play in the steering wheel, and braking is not the best. Driver's door doesn't close tight, but probably just wear. Ford Ranger man for a long time, but the little Chevy has been a joy, so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2011

1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4X4 4.3L V6 from North America

Summary:

Small truck, HUGE performance

Faults:

The only thing that has quit on my truck was the thermostat, but that was a generally cheap and easy fix.

General Comments:

This truck can haul. It seems like a regular small truck on the outside, but for the weight of the truck, it has a ton of power.

Being a 4X4, this truck can go just about anywhere. It also has very smooth suspension for a truck. When you go over the rough stuff, it is very smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2011

1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3 Vortec from North America

Summary:

Solid, dependable, with little to no problems

Faults:

Air conditioner clutch worn out, I replaced it at 87,000.

Y-pipe cracked, had to weld since no replacement part available - 86,000.

General Comments:

Purchased new in 1995. Best vehicle I've owned and still own. 88,000 miles and running like a top.

The Vortec is powerful enough to pull the 2 ton travel trailer, but it's at its limit. Needed a better transmission cooler and airbags to lift the rear end.

Gas mileage is fair, around 14/15 city and 22/24 highway. 425 miles from a 20 gallon tank isn't bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2009

1995 Chevrolet S-10 Extended cab from North America

Summary:

Trouble, but good if you're desperate

Faults:

This truck was a hand-me-down from my parents. I began driving it in 2004 when it had around 180k miles on it. It started out as a very reliable vehicle. I was hoping that it would just last until I got out of college (in 2007), and it only recently died. We definitely got our $5,000.00 out of it.

However, it seemed like things were constantly going wrong. In the 5 years that I owned it, I replaced the head gasket and alternator twice. The radiator also had a crack and needed repaired. Brakes went out at least twice. When there were problems, they were big and costly.

As much stress and money as this truck cost me, I feel that I can't knock it too badly because my family and I got 213,000 miles out of it. Needless to say, I was extremely relieved to get rid of it.

General Comments:

Great for 1-2 people, but forget anymore than that. Has two seats in the back of the extended cab, but only functional if you are a little kid.

Engine is very loud. Made ordering fast food hard because of the noise issue.

Driver's seat was stuck in full upright position which made for uncomfortable driving.

Very slow acceleration, even for a 4 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2009

1995 Chevrolet S-10 SS 4.3 Litre from North America

Summary:

A hunk O' junk!

Faults:

Where to begin...

First thing replaced - alternator - 3 weeks after driving it off the lot, and hassled by the dealer telling me it was a bad battery.

The ashtray would stick - if it closed, it wouldn't open - if you did get it open, it wouldn't close - replaced.

Lumbar adjustment knob for passenger seat broke off - replaced.

Dashboard grill warped the first time the heater was used - replaced.

Rear differential leaking - gasket replaced.

Both oil cooler lines leaking - replaced.

Rear differential leak - cover and gasket replaced 2nd time.

Rear main leak - repaired.

Fuel tank rusted out at 71,000 miles - replaced.

Carbon deposits clogging intake - two separate times - cleaned each time at $60 a pop.

O-2 sensor replaced - twice.

EGR valve replaced - twice.

Wiper motor recall - replaced. 5 months later, wiper motor fails and is replaced again.

Blower motor for heater fails - in the middle of winter - replaced.

Lumbar adjustment knob breaks for the 2nd time - no one sits on the passenger side, so the knob is never used. Works fine on driver's side. Go figure?

Power steering pump fails - replaced.

Brake recall - controller reprogrammed.

Currently (8/2009) - rear differential is leaking for the 3rd time - not yet repaired.

Power steering gasket is leaking again - not sure yet if I need to replace the gasket and / or the pump.

What next???

General Comments:

Considering all the problems this truck has had, and the amount of time and money spent to keep it on the road, I would not buy another Chevy truck. When you have to repair or replace the same thing two or three times, there is a definite problem.

I am sure I forgot about something that has been repaired or replaced on this truck.

It would be different if I drove this thing in the Indy 500 or took it mudding, or drove like a moron, but I do not. I have never had to repair a vehicle as much as I have had to this one.

It is also completely rusted out underneath, though it has been rust-proofed twice.

There are so many other little problems it has - hood prop broke, fuse issues, horn has never worked properly, etc. It also sucks in snow and ice! I think if I were a reckless driver, it would have died years ago.

What amazes me is, I have had three separate offers over the last 10 years to purchase it, the last one, just a few months ago. Believe me, when I CAN get rid of it, I sure as heck will!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2009

5th Aug 2009, 15:57

This isn't an uncommon review. Chevy has terrible build quality. I would never buy one. I personally am a Toyota fan myself, but I'd also consider buying a Dodge, but never a Chevy because I've heard awful things about them. I've owned Fords as well and they give me constant trouble. I was constantly fixing things on them. And you can't say I didn't take care of my cars, because I'm a mechanic and I always regularly service my vehicles.

11th Aug 2009, 12:53

Man that sucks. I have had a 94 s10 SS since it was new and never had a single problem with it. It has almost 200,000 miles and haven't even had to replace an alt. Just basic wear items like brakes, tires, wiper blades, etc. It's been the best truck I have ever owned. And it's still going strong.

28th Sep 2009, 21:41

I'm sorry you purchased a lemon, however you could've avoided this problem. I've ran the royal hell out of my 93 S10 Blazer and I haven't even replaced that much. I've had my Blazer airborne over railroad tracks and it hasn't crapped out on me yet. BTW, 140k and still running strong!

27th May 2010, 19:23

My 97 S10 SS has 210000 miles on it, and no problems. Great truck, ran the hell out of it across country 3 times. Can't ask for a better truck.

6th Mar 2012, 15:37

His is the next generation -- they stopped making your generation in '93. My understanding is that the quality really went down beginning with this generation.

15th Mar 2012, 03:28

Aww dude, I'll tell you right now that any Chevy I've ever encountered has performed above and beyond the call of duty, with ridiculous miles on them to boot. Because of this, I've only gained a lot of respect for them. Not gonna lie, I don't hear problems like the guy above very often; actually it's the first time.