1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3 Liter from North America


This truck kicks A@#!


Got the truck from the company and had no problems with it since.

Some rust on tailgate.

Exhaust broke at catalytic converter.

General Comments:

This truck can smoke my friends Ford Ranger.

4.3 Liter in a small single cab short bed can hall balls.

The best small truck out there. Except for the ZR2!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

6th Jan 2005, 15:01

Is that ping-pong balls?

And if this truck is so great, why have you only put 5000 miles on it in two years?

27th Apr 2007, 11:44

Leave him alone, He's enthused about his truck, Euphemisms may range a bit... This is normal.

1995 Chevrolet S-10 Base 2.0? 4 cylinder from North America


Would never buy another one


Various interior pieces broke or came apart in the first 40,000 miles.

Transmission would grind going from reverse to first if you didn't hold the clutch in long enough.

General Comments:

I loved this truck when I first bought it. Unfortunately, the quality was terrible. In the first 5,000 miles when you shifted from reverse to first (say from backing out of a parking space) the transmission gears would grind. Several dealers looked at the truck and said this was normal, that GM put out a tech bulletin calling this "clutch wind-down time". According to the bulletin, you were supposed to hold the clutch in for 15 seconds before shifting from reverse to first.

Sure enough, if you held the clutch in for 15 seconds it wouldn't grind gears - at least in the beginning. By the time I got rid of this truck, you had to hold the clutch in for close to a minute before you could switch gears without grinding. Never could get it fixed under warranty so I jettisoned this truck.

If not for the poor build quality (things started falling apart in the interior pretty quickly), I would have probably kept this truck. On the highway it would easily get 31mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4 cylinder from North America


A very economical fun truck to own


Changed spark plugs for first time at 190,000 miles.

Replaced alternator at 210,000 miles for first time.

Replaced u-joints at 100,000 miles.

Replaced clutch at 125,000 miles.

Replaced air-conditioner pump at 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Recently drove from Alabama to California and averaged over 30 mpg.

Isn't the most powerful engine and you need to turn off air-conditioner when you enter interstate highway until you get it up to speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2004

22nd Aug 2005, 01:03

The 1995 s-10 was the best vehicle I ever owned. It rode smoothly and I never had one problem. I replaced the brakes which is standard and the you joints at 95000 miles. I had a tune up done at 93000 miles. It got great gas mileage and even though it was a 2wd, I never had any trouble in the winter (in Montana). Great Truck.

1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2 from North America


Stay away from the General Malfunctions Company


This happened in the last few thousand miles.

Assorted belts and hoses

Wiper motor.

O2 sensor.



Cat Converter.

Coil (ignition)

General Comments:

Save time and get a Toyota. This truck has been a complete nightmare.

I have owned it for three months and everything has gone wrong. Some things are to be expected since it is a ten year old car, but I have owned plenty of Japanese cars with a lot more mileage and years than this, and they had a lot fewer problems.

I have replaced the O2 sensor (expected), along with all the belts and hoses. For some reason, S10s have trouble with the air conditioning working right and the compressors are VERY expensive for a vehicle that looks like it came with a happy meal.

The windshield wipers are apt to go bad at any time due to a faulty circuit board, and GM is lying and side stepping any attempt at a recall.

The clutch gave out shortly after I bought it as well. To make things worse, S10s come with a self-adjusting clutch pedal so there is no adjusting the pedal at all.

This truck has NO power so don't expect to haul anything (including other people up hills). I have no idea why they even bothered to make an automatic. Going up a hill alone means that you must turn off the air conditioner, downshift, and pray.

When the truck doesn't think that it will make it somewhere in a certain gear, it jerks and jumps instead of just bogging down until you downshift. This happens at any given point, so be prepared.

Alternator went out too, which are fairly weak and something to be prepared for.

I have spent a lot on the appearance of this truck and in doing so I am amazed at the build quality of this truck. It looks like it was built in a third world country.

This is the third GM built vehicle that I have owned, and they all suck. I will never own another GM vehicle as long as I live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

7th May 2008, 11:54

Look at ALL the S10 reviews: 1982-1993 and 1994-2004. The Second Generation 94-04 was made in Brazil, and is still sold in some countries. There is even a current Brazilian diesel model on the road outside of the USA. Read the First Generation S10 reviews here and you will see a quality difference. The 1982-1993 S10's are regarded by some as the best ever made by GM. High operating costs forced GM to relocate production to Brazil.

22nd Nov 2008, 01:08

I have a 1995 dime, and all I have changed out is the alternator and it is hell on starters though. Has been bagged for like 6 years, but all in all, a damn good truck!

18th Aug 2010, 08:59

Did you notice that all those things he had to replace are things that you generally have to replace at some point in a vehicle's life time anyway? Sound like typical parts that are going to go bad with age.