1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2 L4 from North America


An economy worker


My head gasket blew at 50,000 miles.

My rear interior panels squeaked.

Wiper motor was replaced once.

Rear u-joint was replaced.

General Comments:

This is a great little truck. I have had few problems with this vehicle for the amount of miles it has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

1995 Chevrolet S-10 Base 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America


Gas Saver


The S-10 needed a new transmission fluid pump and torque converter at 50,000 miles. The multifunction switch went out at 70,000. Otherwise it has just needed basic upkeep.

General Comments:

This truck is slow as dirt, but it is built rock solid and can haul just about anything you need it to. The interior build quality leaves a lot to be desired. Gets 25+ mpg for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

16th Sep 2004, 09:19

I too have a 1995 S-10 base model. It has a 5 speed 2.2 4 cylinder engine. I think it's a perfect small truck for basic transportation and light hauling. I can't complain! I also get around 26 mph.

1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2 from North America


Not worth the savings in purchase price, all savings spent on repairs


The rotor had to be replaced at 40,000.

The water pump and head gasket blew at 69,700.

The windshield wipers stopped working.

Something called "synchros" are going out as I write this sentence.

The differential has been seeping since 1995.

The EGR valve and the catalytic converter were replaced at 75,000.

The air-conditioner stopped working at about 75,000 miles, I haven't fixed it because they say it will cost around $750.

The truck had a tendency to surge, (take off by itself when I was idling at a light.) It seems to have stopped after I replaced the EGR valve.

General Comments:

I do not recommend that anyone purchase any vehicle made by Chevrolet, especially one that has only 4 cylinders.

Do not bother buying the extended warranty, they will fail to diagnose what is wrong with your vehicle until after the warranty runs out. This happened to me regarding my blown head gasket.

I personally will never buy from Chevrolet again. They used after market parts on my differential, (which is still seeping), thus voiding my warranty anyways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

1995 Chevrolet S-10 2x4 ext-cab LS 2.2 four cylinder from North America


A somewhat decent vehicle


The engine died at 97,000 miles.

The radiator went at 100,000.

The Water pump went at 100,000.

(had to replace the water system on it at-least 3 different times.)

Had heating problems at 90,000 until 114,000 when I sold it.

General Comments:

Could carry a decent amount.

I seamed to spend more time fixing it than actually driving it.

Pickup was a little slow, you had to use all 5 gears to get up to speed.

I didn't like the engine in it though, I thought it was a little underpowered and couldn't handle the chassis that it was put in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3L Vortec V6 from North America


Great truck, hope I find another one just like it!


The only things that I have had go wrong with this truck are the basic things that should go out.

The battery has been replaced twice in 6 years.

The alternator went out at about 60,000 miles.

The universal joint went out at about 75,000 miles.

The heater core went out at 158,000 miles.

Other than those minor problems, the truck has just had basic wear and tear like belts, tires, and hoses.

General Comments:

This truck has been the most reliable and hardest working vehicle I have personally owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

1995 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3L from North America


A nice truck to own for the city


First thing, the tow was way out. They fixed this for me before I purchased the truck. It required a replacement of the upper and lower ball joints and a tire rod on the passenger side.

4 weeks later - an EGR valve went on it... costly.

Replaced a fan clutch as well.

1 week later - I can feel a strange shimmying from the vehicle. It occurs during launch so basically from 0 to 25 km/h, then it quits. Went to the dealer 3 times, and they cannot figure out what's causing it.

General Comments:

Great looking truck, lots of power, decent gas mileage. There's lots of room for a big guy like me, but limited space from the side seats in the back... but I don't drive my buddies around anyways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2001

20th Feb 2003, 10:20

I had a clutch fan replace about 2 years ago. I notice the cover that covers the fan hits the bottom cover below. We had that before when we replace the clutch fan which had fix it earlier. It seems the noise is back. What causes the bottom cover to do that.

20th Feb 2003, 10:29

Hand break on the S10. When you put the break down to release it I had to reach down and pull the pedal to release it. How can this be corrected.