1999 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 4 of 9

1999 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance84300 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

A serious disaster

Faults:

There's nothing good about this car.

2 months after I bought my car, the "check" signal started to blink. I took it to mechanic and changed the engine-cooling system.

Then, 1 month later, it stopped working! (the engine did not start!) It was the electric problem, so I needed to tow my car and replace my fuse, and running for about 3 weeks and stopped again.

I towed my car, and this time it was a computer problem, and I need to replace it a new computer.

And 3 weeks after, the "check" signal turned on again!!!

I really don't know what to do with my car now. It is slightly better than my last car Geo-Metro, but it's not worth it.

No wonder Daewoo went bankrupt.

General Comments:

Do not buy cars from Daewoo. Never!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2003

13th Oct 2003, 16:04

A Geo Metro will out last any Korean made Daewoo junk, you should have used your head and kept the metro... I know why don't you go out and buy you a Kia now see how you like that.

12th Dec 2003, 09:46

Not trying to make the last comment appear any more inane than it already does, but would point out that the replacement for the Metro which is coming out next year, the Aveo, will be built in Korea by GM Daewoo.

1999 Daewoo Lanos Not Sure 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.3 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance72500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Avoid at all costs- believe me, there will be many

Faults:

Wow, where to start? I purchased this car from a Toyota dealer after trading in my trusty Corolla for something newer. The Daewoo was affordable and had air conditioning, two things I was looking for. The car only seemed to run well the first few weeks, and then everything went downhill. The A.C. system seemed to be cooling insufficiently, so I took it back to where I bought it from (good luck trying to find a Daewoo dealer in Northern Cal.). They brought it in the shop and looked at it, and in doing so found that some old car parts were left on the air cleaner, and by chance they had stayed there since the day I bought it. They recharged the a.c. to correct it.

Next, the radio quit working on me. Had an aftermarket unit put in that the Dealer paid for. OK, I said. That's when the downhill went from "bunny slope" to "triple black diamond." I was accelerating to get on the freeway, and the car felt like it had no power. It would bog down, hesitate, and feel like it was going to die. This was not when it was cold, it was certainly at operating temp. Took back to the Dealer I bought it from, and they said that every Daewoo they'd ever seen performed exactly the same way, just a characteristic. Since Daewoo is being phased out, I cannot hope for much support, and I feel bad bugging the Toyota Dealer about it because they don't know much about these models.

General Comments:

The car scares me to drive. I don't know if it will die on the freeway, and I certainly cannot accelerate fast enough to merge onto freeways, go up hills, even take full loads of people. I pity those that have taken the cheaper road and gone with the Daewoo product, I sure have learned my lesson.

Hey, I wonder if the dealer will let me get my Corolla back?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

13th Jun 2003, 23:27

To whom it may concern- If you haven't noticed, Daewoo is so bankrupt that they are no longer selling their vehicles in the United States any longer, and they needed GM to bail them out. And if any car takes practice and "learning," as you say, it may not be worth the while- especially for a $3000 subcompact. I have since ditched the Daewoo and purchased another Toyota, smartest car buying decision I ever made. I spent a little more, but I did not need an instruction manual to drive it off the lot without it dying. By the way- your "125 mph," besides being illegal, must have either been traveling downhill, or else it probably put up a good fight to get it there.

7th Aug 2003, 19:17

I have a Lanos hatchback, it has close to 100,000 miles on it and I've never had a problem with the car trying to "bog" down when I'm getting on the highway and I also have the 5-speed. My little car has been wonderful for me, I don't like the interior much, but I paid very little for this car and it has served me very well.

24th Nov 2007, 20:51

Most likely the loss of power is due to the catalytic converter being plugged. this will cost $120 to replace. The tune up is probably needed as well, but not nearly as badly as catalytic converter replacement.

22nd Sep 2008, 17:03

I'm trying to work out why a Toyota dealer would try and resell a four year old Daewoo with a warranty...

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews