1999 Daewoo Lanos Sedan S 1.5 SOHC from Serbia


Best value for money


I got some funny noises from my breaks so my dealer replaced both break-disks under warranty.

General Comments:

Like Hyundai Accent and KIA Rio, Lanos looks like German cars from mid '90s.

I like plenty of room in cabin and large trunk, good performance for 1.5 SOHC and low noise (except noisy Hankook tyres). I don't like tiny entrance on back doors.

Low price brings old fashioned engine, lower quality of interior plastic and lack of features like power windows, power steering, central lock, ABS and airbags on S model, but $7500 for new car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2002

1999 Daewoo Lanos LX 1.6 from North America


A really fun car to drive


Road noise is quite high.

General Comments:

A really fun car to drive. The car is geared properly for once in that down shifting to d3 on the automatic transmission will not shift out. The RPM keep on coming with more power for passing.

The small width allows one to use the whole lane straightening out curves. It reminds me of a midget.

The car is really solid on the road. I hit the binders at nearly one hundred MPH when I saw a policeman in a speed trap, not a shimmy or a shake. I hope I don't get too many tickets driving this thing.

No lack of power in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

29th Apr 2008, 02:33

Totally, I want to just drive around for fun, upgrade the brakes if you want to drive that fast. I did to mine, and try just slamming those on and letting the ABS take over... do it on a straight road; I did it on a sharp corner, found myself in a ditch. The car ran right after we pulled it out, I needed to clean out all the water though, that is about it, my antenna broke off though... still working on fixing that.

1999 Daewoo Lanos SE from Australia and New Zealand


Don't buy a Daewoo


Yesterday my engine burst into flames as I was driving along the road. The resulting blaze (which lasted approximately 8 minutes before the emergency services put it out) melted all the plastic components under the bonnet in addition to the grill, headlights and front tyres.

Despite having 12 months to run on my warranty, Daewoo have denied liability and I am forced to lodge an insurance claim. The fire was obviously due to a fuel or electrical problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

2nd Mar 2002, 09:39

I had a headlight harness start melting and was told that it would have caught fire if not fixed then. I also read that another man had the same problem, so don't let them get away with blaming you! Good luck!

9th Sep 2002, 04:57

We also had a Daewoo Lanos, just over half way through its warranty. The vehicle caught fire in the engine bay while the car was stopped at a traffic light. By the time the fire brigade arrived the engine bay was a black mess and the vehicle was a write off. Guess what? No suppport whatsoever from either the Daewoo dealership or from Daewoo Australia. They even had the gall to tell us we had no right to call on Daewoo Roadside assist to tow the car away. How's that for great customer service???

16th Oct 2002, 21:41

I have owned a Lanos for just over two years and have had not one problem with the car. The serving has also be of the highest standard. The car has run faultlessly since new. The only bug I have with the car is the weak headlights, but this was fixed recently by replacing the globes with aftermarket brighter globes designed for plastic headlights. Overall it is without doubt the best small car and I have driven most other makes in Oz.

1999 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand


Best of the price range


Not one problem in the 12500 kms I have owned the car.

General Comments:

Compared to other cars in the class (small & cheap), the Lanos is definitely the winner. Its finish is great, and as standard it has power steering, CD player and air conditioning.

3 years free care are fantastic, and I have not one complaint with the service department, they will go out of their way to help me.

The front seats in my 3 door are the only annoying thing, the lever to tilt the seat forward to allow people to get in and out fo the back is halfway up the seats. This makes getting seat covers a bit difficult.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001