1999 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1999 Daewoo Lanos 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance45500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

Citrus fruit

Faults:

Too many too name - from seals around the door breaking, plastic trim falling off and worst the fuel consumption - 13 litres per 100km, unbelievable for a 1.5 litre car. OK it's auto and we mostly do short trips with the air con running, but this is ridiculous.

The dealer initially stated that it was a problem, but after 10 services and Daewoo Australia taking the car for 3 weeks, they decided that 13 l/100km was normal!!!

We also had oil with the consistency of mud (normal again according to Daewoo) due to 17% petrol in the oil. Yes, we have the analysis from Mobil.

Seats are badly worn after 2 years. Plastic scratches easily.

I have very little if anything, positive to say about this lemon.

General Comments:

Utter rubbish. At $18000 Aus I did not expect a Rolls nor did I expect what we got.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2001

9th May 2005, 21:13

If you run an engine for short periods, water gets in the oil. You are supposed to run a car for at least ten miles a trip or change the oil more frequently.

1999 Daewoo Lanos 1.5 86hp from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 86hp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Nexia

Summary:

Good bargain

Faults:

Nothing, oh, except two crashes, which weren't my fault, other drivers crashed into me, my local dealer repaired the car in 10 days (excellent!). I even got the spare in use - Leganza.

General Comments:

Good engine, reliable,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

1999 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.6 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance11232 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

A real pocket rocket!!

Faults:

Cam cover starting to leak in the front.

When new, the left rear window (power) made a noise when operating it, but the dealership took care of it.

Driver's side mirror was sticky when new, the dealer corrected it.

Other than that, nothing major.

General Comments:

With a set of rims and side emblems that say "Lanos" above the letters "SE", the car looks better from the side (seemed naked).

I've added a K&N air filter, Bosch platinum+4 spark plugs, eliminated the resinator and muffler and replaced them with 2 1/2 pipe to a cherry bomb in back and the car really performs now.

I love (and get compliments on) the interior with its swirls and color scheme. I love it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

1999 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

F - Failure to succeed

Faults:

Well when I first got the car I didn't have a single problem. Then 2 weeks passed and I had a rattling noise in the exhaust, speakers blown, bad transmission, my right wheel feel off riding down the road at 12,456 miles. I had the wheel covers fall off a total off 13 times while going down the road, finally had to super glue them to the wheel.

General Comments:

Nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2001

1999 Daewoo Lanos 3 door S 1.5 from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16300 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Nexia

Summary:

Winner, bargain

Faults:

Needs new springs as the originals are too soft and lowering the car with new springs!

Closing the doors underestimates the car as the sound of it is terrible.

General Comments:

Original design, grows to your heart! Many people can't stand Daewoo's for their origin!

I love my Lanos, it's quite quick, roomy, seats are made of good material.

It needs alloy 15' wheels!

Otherwise the PERFECT CAR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

22nd May 2001, 14:55

I've put over 13.5k miles on my Lanos 3-door. I bought the base model (S?). Steel wheels, no a/c, decent stereo, etc. This is my first new car. I really like it! First thing I got for it was a K&N air filter. Later, I did a Mobil-1 synthetic oil change. The only problem I've had is the headlights... first the pass. side, then the drivers side. The dealer did a "band-aid" fix while they waited for new headlamps. I haven't gone back to get them as I had replaced both healamps myself before I took it in. Anyway, not a bad car, though I'm disappointed that it has no front anti-sway bar. 105hp from the twin-cam 1.6L is decent enough. I, too have noticed that I have to adjust my seat every so often. Well, what can I say? I'd like to see a better aftermarket for the car (especially suspension). The car has potential, would need to work out a few bugs though.

25th Dec 2004, 01:14

I'm planning on buying a Lanos. What is the fuel consumption? I drive quite fast. In kilometers please.

LP.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews