1999 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1999 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.3 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 121

Summary:

Many problems and high consumption (9.5 l/100km)

Faults:

My car sometimes doesn't want to start and they cannot find the problem. I have been back to the dealer already several times for this.

My Lanos uses lots of fuel. About 9.5 liters on 100km seems a consumption number from the '70s to me!!!

One problem with the airbag (indicator) which is solved now (I hope the airbag still works!!!)

General Comments:

Too many problems and too much consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

1999 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.3 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23 kilometres
Most recent distance24000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

I hope to get rid of it before the warranty ends!!!

Faults:

The gearbox had to be replaced already after 2 weeks.

After about 5000km the waterpump had to be replaced also. The worst thing is that the car salesman tried to convince me that this wasn't covered by the warranty. I really had to threaten that I would speak to the newspaper before they agreed to fix it under warranty.

There is also a problem with the fuel-meter for which I already have already been 4 times to the car shop and it still isn't fixed at all!!!

General Comments:

This car is not very reliable and the service (at least in the car shop were I bought it) is very poor.

Furthermore the 1300cc engine really lacks power and for sure is not very economic.

I really wish I still had my Excel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2000

20th Feb 2001, 15:44

You're right, Hyundai Excels are loads better, I've got a Hyundai Accent GS and they're a great car to drive. Also my mum has a Hyundai S Coupe, and my brother's girlfriend has a Hyundai Excel. None of us has had any problems yet.

1999 Daewoo Lanos SX 1.4 from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18253 kilometres
Most recent distance12 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Racer

Summary:

A good bargain at this price, a lot better value than Japanese made cars

Faults:

It was working perfect when I first had it. But until 5000km, the front disc plate shook when I stepes on the footbrake at 80km/hr. I took it back and they fixed it within a day. It happened again when the car had the mileage at 15000km. They fixed it by changing the brake pads. Besides this, everything is working fine.

General Comments:

A great and comfortable car with a spacious interior. Very quiet and stable when the car is running at any speed. A lot better than my previous car (Daewoo Racer which is same as a Vauxhall Astra) Nice dashboard illuminates at nighttime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

1999 Daewoo Lanos 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance6900 miles
Previous carFord Aspire

Summary:

I should have kept the Aspire...This Daewoo has no quality at all

Faults:

A lot of cheap plastic parts have broken on the interior.

Problems with front brakes and the engine light starts blinking sometimes.

Rough vibration from the steering wheel.

General Comments:

I should have kept the Aspire... The Daewoo has no quality at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2000

8th May 2001, 18:44

My lanos blew a head gasket at 25000 miles and after the dealer put it back together, the engine light would blink. They found out the timing of the cam on the head was off.

17th Aug 2001, 20:56

At 37,000 miles, my wonderful Daewoo, is a piece of crap. Rattling of my muffler and my steering wheel, the car won't start, for no particular reason, and had to get new brakes, which I ordered those two months ago and still don't have them from the dealer.

The engine light keeps on going on and off, I need a new thermostat, and I have only had the car for a year. And the warranty ended just 1,000 miles ago.

Anybody I know, I tell them not to buy a Daewoo, it's a lemon!!!

1999 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

The Daewoo is a great car at a great price, I would definitely buy another

Faults:

Broken seal on headlight.

General Comments:

About one month after I bought the car, I noticed that the headlight had moisture inside. I took it back to the dealer and they fixed it within an hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2000

1999 Daewoo Lanos S 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance13100 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Faults:

Engine misfire at 6500 miles that took three attempts to diagnose and 8 weeks of repairs by which time the dealer had stripped the head and reworked the valves, changed the EMU, plugs, leads and several other electronic components. The engine now uses excessive quantities of oil and sounds like a tractor on cold mornings. It has taken in excess of 20 communications to get this far and the car still uses approx. 1 litre of oil every 400 miles.

General Comments:

It has been very difficult communicating with Daewoo and trying to get them to fix the car. They appear to find it difficult to reply to letters and phone calls. This is a great shame as other than its engine problems and poor after sales service the car handles well, is cheap to buy and cheap to run. Trouble free motoring, that will be the Daewoo!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2000

28th Feb 2001, 15:50

I purchased a '99 Lanos and for the first 8 months my car was in the shop for 6 months. The engine had been misfiring. They replaced everything from computer components, leads, plugs, EMU valves, to stripping the heads.

Were I live allows for a customer to file the "Lemon" law. I filed and like an idiot gave them the benefit and took a second new 2000 Lanos. Well not quite two months ago I started all over with the problems. My car is scheduled for it's heads to be stripped next week. I have not seen a car run or act like this piece of junk and am terrified to even drive the car. I have had the car die while driving 65 mph down the highway. I am really becoming annoyed by the service and responses from the main office in Cali. Good luck getting them to answer the phones. I am just about to the point of filing a lawsuit.

If you have any other articles or response of this nature I would be very grateful for any further details you can provide.

JJolynn90@aol.com

1999 Daewoo Lanos SX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

None at all.

General Comments:

Comprehensively equipped and with a fixed price package for 3 years, this car is a model for other manufacturers to take note of. Aside from lacklustre seating, I have no gripes at all for performance, equipment, economy or any other criteria.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2000

1999 Daewoo Lanos 1.6? from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6?
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is only 3 months old and no problems yet, however I have decided that the interior is awful, I dunno who designed this but they should be fired, I have had several people tell me how unsightly it is. Besides this fact the car rather nice, just basic transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 1999

19th Jan 2004, 20:39

Your complaint begs the question: did you not notice the interior design before you bought the car?

1999 Daewoo Lanos S 1.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.4
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10

Faults:

Trivial stuff like the rear windshield liquid dripping after use. Was fixed rapidly enough!

The gas meter doesn't read properly, will be fixed next week!

General Comments:

Very nice looking, comfortable, will know how it handles Canadian winters in a few months!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 1999

1999 Daewoo Lanos SX ? from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission ?
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet (only 6,000 miles so far).

General Comments:

Very good deal, extremely comfortable and handles great. Very good pickup, a lot of rear seat space, looks nice.. highly recommended. I drive many other cars when I travel as rentals, and can't wait to get back to my Lanos!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 1999

1999 Daewoo Lanos SX 5 Door 1.6 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I am very happy with my car, I find it to be very quiet at all speeds. I find it to be a classy car for its price range. Gear changing from 1 to 2 is a bit jerky, but for the rest I find the car a great buy.

Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews