2000 Daewoo Leganza Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2000 Daewoo Leganza SE 2.2 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A comfortable, sporty, affordable magic carpet

Faults:

The only things that went wrong with the car were my fault. In a rainstorm, I ran up on a curb and bent one of my rims. I had to get the rim replaced. Other than this, I haven't replaced a single thing on the car. I do plan on replacing the windshield wipers soon.

General Comments:

For a 4 cylinder engine, this car feels like some V6 engines.

The car is extremely comfortable and handles very well on the highway.

I get the best gas mileage of any car I've ever driven.

The standard equipment on the SE model includes so many amenities that are usually costly options on other vehicles.

There is enough room in the back seat for tall people, and four very large adults can sit in the car comfortably.

The price and free maintenance received with the warranty is very good. I have received very good service from people who know everything about the car.

Daewoo is now a General Motors company, but even before being purchased by GM, the car was designed and made with some GM parts so that if anything goes wrong, the parts are readily available.

The European styling is awesome. As a matter of fact, I read that the exterior was originally designed for a small Jaguar. How about that for refinement?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

2000 Daewoo Leganza SX Standard from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Standard Don't Know
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Voyager

Summary:

It's a lemon that smells like a rotten egg

Faults:

The car emits an unbearable sulphur smell.

Mileage is extremely poor.

The gas pressure is low.

General Comments:

In appearance and handling, the car is very nice.

However, its mechanical malfunctions, and Daewoo's refusal to stand by their warranty, make this a dreadful car to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2001

29th Aug 2001, 10:39

You're using the wrong type of gas... causing the egg smell. (87 octane, or whatever - use the correct one!)

Doing this will create the same effect in most cars.

This may also explain your 'poor' gas milage and other gas related problem.

24th May 2006, 15:47

The car looks great, but it is a piece of JUNK!!!

No wonder the company disappeared. I wasted my money and time at the dealership waiting on repairs. Now they are out of business and parts are extinct.

25th May 2006, 10:45

Uhm, Daewoo is still around and making cars, including the Chevy Aveo, Suzuki Reno and Verona.

8th Nov 2008, 11:09

I have owned a 2001 Leganza CDX for about 5 years.. I have had a very good experience overall... I've put about 100,000 miles on it. A little hard to find parts sometimes, and it did need new wheel bearings at fairly low miles.. Other than that a very nice car, good MPG's (35+) on road trips about 25 overall in town. Great handling, comfortable seating (for the driver -- the passenger seat is made from brick, I've been told)

2000 Daewoo Leganza SX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Very stylish, comfortable, luxurious and trouble free car (so far)

Faults:

Nothing. Except some dents from road debris and shopping carts. Body seems not so strong. It scratches and dents easy.

General Comments:

Very comfortable seats.

Smooth ride (kind of heavy), but I like this when compared to my previous feather weight MR2.

Very roomy interior front and back. My mom likes to sit in the back more than the front.

Very stylish. It's designed by Italian, I like it very much. People take notice and heads turn. Very much modern and latest look, unlike some Japanese and American models. They are too conservative in body design, I think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2001

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

After a bad accident, my Cavalier was totalled so I needed another car. I got a Leganza. What a bad mistake that was. It has so many problems, I don't know where to start.

The transmission dropped dead twice in a year. The dealer blamed me for not knowing how to use it. It's an automatic, use what? Oh well.

Three leaks coming from the car, 2 are oil, 1 is undefined according to the dealer.

Three out of the four power windows gave out.

That mileage they advertise is nowhere close to it, I might as well have a huge SUV for this gas consumption (around 15MPG).

Something makes a rattling noise that the dealer can't find.

Keeps needing wheel alignments, each time to the other side.

A/C fluid keeps disappearing, has to be recharged about every 2 months.

General Comments:

If not for the so-called luxury items, this car would be unbearable. Seats are very nice and comfortable. All those little gadgets are fun to play with.

I know that it's impossible to have good value and high quality, but there is no quality here.

Don't make my mistake, buy some small car with good quality if you are looking for good value. I really miss my Cavalier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

20th Jun 2001, 22:16

Either you don't really own this car or you got the biggest lemon out there. I have a 2000 CDX with the same miles and it is flawless. I get 26mpg stop and go driving with the air conditioner on full blast and the sunroof open. Can't see how you get 15mpg. I would say if the transmission (made by Toyota) has failed twice in a year and with the list of all the other problems you say you are having, check into the "Lemon Laws" in your state.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews