2000 Daewoo Leganza Reviews - Page 6 of 7

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance6850 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The most car for the least money

Faults:

A faulty valve timing sensor caused the check engine light to come on about 1500 miles. Repaired by the dealer who provided an identical car at no charge (except for gas).

General Comments:

I like the full size spare on a wheel that matches the alloys on the car.

The ride is very smooth and comfortable.

The seats are very comfortable.

The backlight of the stereo is hard to see during daylight hours. OK at night.

Steering wheel could be extended a little further, or make it adjustable.

This is best car we have owned. My wife is very happy with it, and drives it everyday.

This is the best value I could find for the dollar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

4th Oct 2002, 13:09

Probable cause of check engine light caused by loose gas cap.

29th Sep 2004, 01:29

My wife got letter for cam sensor recall, causes check engine light to come on, and or catch fire..

13th May 2005, 08:05

I received the same letter, I had changed the sensor by the time I received it though... I sent copies of all the receipts and paper work attached to it, but I never heard from them again! Did you get a response???

2nd Mar 2007, 20:02

I need a number that I might call in re: to the cam sensor recall. Any help will be appreciated.

2000 Daewoo Leganza SX 2.2 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance8000 kilometres
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Good bargain, given the level of comfort and performance

Faults:

Notice that there is no thermostat for the air-conditioner. This is a standard feature in all Asia cars. The absence of thermostat will make the compressor work non-stop, which can result in short component life.

General Comments:

Handling of the car is great!

However, there is certainly room for improvement in noise insulation.

Fuel consumption is economical too. One liter of petrol can go up to 10.5km, even when traveling in slow traffic of 50km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

31st Aug 2001, 22:41

As to your comment on the A/C compressor. It has been our experience that the constant start and stopping of compressors causes more wear than leaving it run continuously. This keeps the lubricant in the system evenly distributed. I have asked several HVAC techs where I work and the compressors with the least problems are those that are running all the time.

The big reason they start and stop the compressor in the other cars is to improve A/C on fuel economy. Most A/C systems will last at least the first 4 to 5 years of the car whether or not it runs continuously.

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance10005 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Very happy so far, hope they get back on their feet soon.

Faults:

Perfect so far.

General Comments:

Great value for the money. Good performance for a 4 cylinder. Gas mileage could be better (27mpg highway, accord got 33mpg).

Only complaint is the steering wheel needs to extend out a little further towards the driver. Can't complain about service because everything works perfect. Very satisfied so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Everything you need and could want

Faults:

The passenger side vanity mirror broke off of the visor. It was fixed the next day while I was driving an identical loaner car. That's all.

General Comments:

Great. I was able to treat myself while at the same time not living beyond my means.

The car looks super cool; with a sleek, bullet-like shape. It drives well, has nice handling and has an engine powerful enough to get on the ridiculously crazy highway safely, every day.

It is completely loaded with quality bells and whistles and I feel like a total queen driving it. It also doesn't hurt that it is not seen too often on the roads. I don't like to fit in entirely!

Oh yeah, I must add that the service has been awesome. I am so glad I don't have to deal with the jerks I encountered at the Volkswagen and Pontiac dealership/service centers. Although the car is already bought, the people at the Daewoo dealership continue to bend over backwards to make sure their customer is pleased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews