2000 Daewoo Leganza Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired206 miles
Most recent distance4589 miles
Previous carDodge Dynasty

Summary:

Wonderful value

General Comments:

I love this car! Comfortable, easy to drive, haven't found anything yet to say bad about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2000

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.0 from Luxembourg

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Too expensive for what you get

Faults:

A crack in the manifold.

The electrical motor of one window is broken.

More than 12 liters of petrol on 100km.

Speedometer sometimes is stuck on 0.

These problems all occurred in less than 1 year. For me this is a sign of low quality.

General Comments:

When I drive in the mountains, my Leganza feels like a heavy stone. I always have to shift to a lower gear. This was not the case with my Accord which was 10 years old.

I drive not too fast, and still the engine uses more than 12 liters on 100km. My Accord only used 9.5 to 10 liters.

I already had more problems with the Daewoo in 1 year than with the Accord in 10 years.

I went to daewoo because of the price, but that really was a mistake. It is still too expensive for what you get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st December, 2000

25th Mar 2001, 19:45

I see Dawoo becoming a bigger car manufacturer than Honda!!

4th Apr 2001, 15:17

Daewoo had recently been bought out by Hyndai. So much for them being bigger than Honda by themselves. - Reinhart.

10th Sep 2001, 19:39

GM bought an interest in Daewoo. Hyundai bought Kia.

1st Mar 2002, 19:21

Daewoo and GM merged. Hyundai diluted itself even further by merging with Kia. Anyhow, it shows how much you know as you don't even know how to spell Hyundai!

2000 Daewoo Leganza SX 2.2 I-4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13500 miles
Most recent distance13650 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Calais

Summary:

A very inexpensive Lexus

Faults:

The CD player skipped some, and the cover on the illuminated sun visors fell out.

General Comments:

Very good car. Lots of stuff for the money. Would get another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance8600 miles
Previous carPorsche 928

Summary:

The best car for a reasonable price

Faults:

The sunroof rattled until I realized that the shade eliminates this if you close it. Haven't had the problem since.

General Comments:

People laugh at the name and the company has its financial problems. Unfortunately people are judging the car compared to other manufacturer's who not only sell a more expensive product, but have only had quality asscociated with them for less than ten years. Here in the state's Toyota was not a quality car 15 years ago. Why are they comparing it to one then?

I have had several Mercedes Benzes and Porsches over the last 10 years. So I missed out on the Toyota band wagon. When I went shopping for an economical four door car I found that for the money it was the best choice. This was an objective choice. American cars are equal in quality to the imports considering that they are mostly hybrid's of the same vehicles. ie; Ford & Mazda or Mitsubishi & Dodge. Cars have come a long way in the past twenty years and I did something I thought that I would never do again, I bought a car that was not German.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2000

3rd Mar 2001, 10:28

Never be afraid to try a new car.

2000 Daewoo Leganza SX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance11202 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Poor dealer service

Faults:

The car seems to run well and has a lot of extras for the money.

The dealer service is poor. I bought mine at Gwinnett Place and return there for service. The dash cracked slowly and 8 weeks ago I took it in to have it repaired. They ordered a new dash but 8 weeks later they will not return my calls as to when it will be replaced. I will probably wait until a busy weekend and picket the place with my wife and kids. This car has only 11,500 miles and the warranty service is terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2000

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.0 from Belgium

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Unreliable, thirsty, lazy

Faults:

Two times I've had problems with the electrical wiring for the window trim.

Broken gearbox after only 8000km which took nearly 3 weeks to be replaced!

Consumes 12.5 liter on 100km. The dealer refuses to do something about this because he thinks it is normal!!!

General Comments:

This car is for sure not reliable, it is very thirsty and has very poor performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2000

15th May 2001, 19:39

Why don't you consider Hyundai? Being a Hyundai owner (1998 Sonata 2.0L), and having an automatic, I never had any problems with the transmission or the gas mileage. It is a very nice car! If you don't like Daewoo, come on over to Hyundai. I'm sure you'll find something pleasing.

28th Jun 2001, 03:38

Humm... you said you are a Hyundai owner.. but sounds more like you work for Hyundai!!

The Leganza has the look and feel of a luxury car so I believe that's why a lot of people buy it...

How can that compare to a Hyundai??? Those cheesy little cars can't compare to the model of a Leganza.. it's looks very classy... even the 2001 Hyundai XG300 doesn't look half as nice..

I was very impressed by the style of the Daewoo and it's a lot cheaper than the Japanese style cars... so if he/she wants to switch to a another car don't choose Hynjuck... yuck...

We choose Daewoo because of the style and not really cause we favorite Korean cars...

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance4800 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Great value -- definitely better than Hyundai

Faults:

Absolutely great.

General Comments:

Having owned a Hyundai Sonata, I was cautious when looking at the Daewoo. What a difference! The performance is the most surprising attribute of the Leganza, my friends comment about the styling, especially the front grille -- they think it's an Infiniti front with a Lexus body.

Price - what value, I have the CDX model which has leather, traction control, moonroof, etc and the price was well under $20000.00. I couldn't find another car with this equipment anywhere close to this price. I will consider the Nubira station wagon when our Corolla lease is up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2000

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews