2000 Daewoo Matiz Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance4600 miles
Previous carHyundai Pony

Summary:

A real bargain car

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

During the UK petrol dispute, I never needed to fill up, I saw loads of Matiz's driving but none queuing for petrol.

A great little bargain car, and despite what many articles say, a great motorway car too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

27th Jun 2006, 22:06

I have had my Matiz for about 2 years. I only have two complaints, 1, the gear box really isn't that great, it does get pretty challenging to change gears, and 2, a little more power would be great. It is otherwise great on petrol and nifty.

11th May 2007, 10:27

Daewoo Matiz S is great!

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE+ 0.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1400 miles
Most recent distance4200 miles
Previous carFord Puma

Summary:

A little car that gives big rewards financially

Faults:

Nothing, apart from the Daewoo supplied locking wheel nuts rounded off when i tried to take the front wheel off, the nut removal tool supplied in the tool kit is not at 90 degrees to the car when you apply force - watch out! It cost me £200 to sort it because the wheel concerned had to be hacked off, with an angle grinder!!

General Comments:

Apart from my cock-up with the wheel, it's an ace little car. Had a Puma before so the performance is pathetic against that but it excels at so much that I don't really care.

Comfort good, equipment excellent and I paid £5,500 for one with 1400 miles on the clock, a bargain.

Had a Sony stereo fitted with an amp and sub, makes a huge difference and helps on longer motorway runs cause the engine gets a bit noisey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

19th Aug 2001, 02:43

Even I had a similar problem with the wheel nut removal tool. It gave way the moment I tried to open the nut after a puncture. Got that replaced though.

Dr. Shashikiran

INDIA.

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from Venezuela

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Excellent value for your money

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Very reliable little car. Not expensive but well built. The inside space gives a feeling like driving a bigger car. Excellent as a city car, but also good enough on highways, allowing average speeds of 120 km/h.

The rear suspension seems to me a little bumpy on irregular roads, but generally the suspension is very good for this size of a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2000

29th May 2007, 05:28

I believe the aerial base unscrews from the aerial, not the other way around. access via behind the interior light.

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Absolute sheer value for money, superb

Faults:

Nothing whatsoever, I cannot believe how reliable it has been and I have worked in the car industry for 25 years.

General Comments:

I spent 12 months looking round at all the small cars on the market, there are better cars but I wanted value for money and pound for pound there is nothing to equal it. It is a brilliant little car and very roomy inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2000

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance3100 miles
Previous carHyundai Pony

Summary:

A great little car

Faults:

Nil.

General Comments:

Very cheap to buy and run, good fun to drive and very big inside for its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 32 reviews