2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 Gasoline from Taiwan

Summary:

I don't care about gasoline price, cuz I drive Matiz

Faults:

My Matiz is almost 6 years.

Too many faults, but they all solved now.

General Comments:

I drive this little rocket for transportation between my house and my office 5 days a week.

Round trip is 100km. This means my Matiz's milemeter grow up very fast.

Now it is almost 160000 km, only for 5 years and 9 months.

Most of the time I drive via Freeway. Average speed rate is 100km. But I usually push it to 140km or more, when the traffic is not dense.

The average mileage rate is 17.8km / liter. 80% freeway, 20% city, air condition on.

The best part I love it is "Handling", "Running Cost", "Design" and "Space".

The worse part I hate it is "Squeeze Noise" and "Rust".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 cc petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

CV joints noisy at new. 2 weeks to get parts.

Water leaking into cabin from new from antenna.

New clutch needed at 130000 km cost $780.00.

Water pump leaking at 100000 km. 21 day delay while parts ordered from Korea.

Ignition switch failed at 145000 no part available. had to use another make of vehicle switch.

CV joints failed 2nd time. Genuine price $480.00 each, non genuine $120.00 each.

Rotor arm broken at 155000. 3 weeks delay ordered from Korea.

General Comments:

Petrol consumption good 15 k/p/l (42 m/p/g city driving.

Parts availability is terrible and very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

22nd Dec 2005, 09:56

Interesting! So it's not just in the UK where parts are expensive and difficult to get hold of. My next car will most definitely not be a Daewoo or Chevrolet. The Matiz is just too expensive to maintain once it comes out of warranty.

5th Oct 2011, 04:50

What vehicle ignition switch did you use? This has gone on my car and there is still no part available without buying an entire lock set - which I really don't want to do.

Thanks.

Pippa.

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Wasn't aware that car shouldn't be driven in bright sunlight!

Faults:

Both panels under the headlights have faded. Material for these is different to the rest of the car. Anyone else had this problem?

General Comments:

Manufacturers say that this is because the car has been used in the sun!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

3rd May 2005, 20:53

Well I just wanted to ask what type of detergent you use on the car to wash it? The detergent could eat away the paint causing it to fade under hot weather.

8th Jun 2005, 07:31

I've already checked this out with the dealership and they agreed that the turtle wax wash I use would not cause the problem.

23rd May 2009, 14:02

Well even my headlamps plastic have faded. This is a big issue cause the Matiz design offers great aerodynamics, so when your car runs at high speed, the air rough passes through the front part of your car. That's why the head lamps gets faded, but overall I must say it's a complete masterpiece.

2000 Daewoo Matiz 0.8 SE 0.8 cc, gasoline from Taiwan

Summary:

A Good Car for Everyone

Faults:

1.

Rear right wheel fly away just when I get off the High Way, caused by bearing burn out. When about 80000km.

2.

Battery replaced twice.

3.

Charger replaced on about 90000km.

4.

Four doors rust from inner steel material near the window edge. Not leaking yet when rain or car wash.

5.

Left electronic window slow moving, but acceptable.

6.

Engine oil attached on engine. Means engine oil leaking very slowly. Not drop on the ground.

7.

Cooling water leaking just within a month of new car. under 1000km.

General Comments:

1.

I own my Matiz SE for 5 years. I use it everyday go to work via High Way (Free Way). Round Trip 100km.

2.

When I go to work in the morning on the High Way, the average speed is 100km/h. I usually up to 140km/h when I have chance. The top speed record is 160km/h with air conditioner on.

3.

I did not chance any setting of my engine. It is just what it was from the new one.

4.

Never failed on start. Very reliable.

5.

Even when it runs to 160km/h, I am still with confidence and without seatbelt on. Matiz is very stable on high speed and windy condition.

6.

Not good on mountain climbing. Very good on flat road with high speed.

7.

The body height limited for front passenger is 190cm. I ever take my Holland customer who is 190cm and just fit.

8.

Good roomy for foot and head. Bad roomy for shoulder and side.

9.

You will touch the passenger's leg when you shift to the 5th speed, if, your passanger is not slim.

10.

Great handling. I ever use it for rally racing on high mountain and hit in a 1 meter deep hole. Nothing go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2005

24th Nov 2008, 05:53

I *completely* disagree with this review, and can't decide if the guy is serious or not. Driving at 160km/h without a seat belt on? Who would seriously drive at that speed, in such a small car, with no seat belt on? Stable at high speed? Rally driving around mountains? This car can do NONE of these things. It's a great little city car, but it's terrible on the highway.

20th Oct 2012, 18:04

Not surprising then that the wheel parted company?