2000 Daewoo Matiz SE+ 0.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great little cruiser

Faults:

I've had a noisy exhaust heat-shield, water in the side indicators, and some gear-box modifications as it was clicking when changing gear.

General Comments:

For an 800cc car it's pretty nippy once you get it going as I have managed to get it off the clock at 110mph.

A must to all owners is to get the Matiz lowered, I had mine lowered with a set of PI springs which lowered it 30mm and it handles very well for a narrow, tall sided car.

I have also had my alloy wheels changed for slightly wider TSW Alpines which make the car look better, I am now in the process of fitting a Renault Laguna front splitter to the front bumper as well.

Also on the outside I have had the car de-badged to make it look wider and the reverse lamp has been tinted red.

I have had my brake calipers and drums painted silver which looks great on my car as it's finished in Cobalt blue.

Also on the outside I've fitted a stainless steel 2 inch big bore tailpipe.

I haven't done much on the inside yet, just altered the stereo slightly - I have a Kenwood mask head unit with steering wheel remote, Pioneer 10cm 3-way door speakers, in the rear I have Phillips 6x4's which are 2-way speakers and I have a 8 inch Vibe sub-woofer. My front and rear speakers, if anyone wants to know, are a straight swap for the standard speakers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

19th Jul 2001, 10:24

Why has this entry got a glum face? It should have a smiley or neutral, judging by the owners comments.

Thanks.

20th Jul 2001, 02:49

steven@carsurvey.org:

This review has a glum face because the reviewer said that they wouldn't buy another car from this manufacturer. I appreciate that it gives a false impression of the review in this case, but it's usually a good indicator as to the reviewers satisfaction.

Best Wishes,

Steven.

17th Oct 2004, 06:57

I Have a 2002 Matiz and I can get up to just over 167Kph (104Mph) when the rev limiter kicks in.

3rd Feb 2005, 01:51

My record is 100mph (160kph) at flat motor way. Beated Toyota Corolla 1.6L.

I think 160kph is my limit, since my Matiz has been 5 years and 140000km plus.

4th Nov 2009, 18:15

I've got a 2007 Chevy Matiz 1.0 SE. I got 105 max on a flat road. I really want a front splitter, but can't find one anywhere. Will a Renault Laguna one fit or not? Please help, I've got a set of 30 mil lowering springs, just want a splitter so it looks as though it's kissing the floor LOL. Please help.

5th Nov 2009, 14:30

Well I won't recommend you to do it, cause it can cause you some serious chassis damage while driving on rough roads. Don't change the factory settings at all.

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from Germany

Summary:

What looked like a good deal cost me a lot of money

Faults:

The airbag check light already stayed on when I received the car. So I already had to leave my car at the dealer from the first day.

The lock from the trunk was broken within the first month. So it was impossible to open it.

The waterpump had to be replaced because it became leaky.

There are a lot of small noises that I always complain about when I go to the dealer. He tells me everytime that they are removed, but they really are not.

Since a few months, everytime when we have wet weather, the engine stops working sometimes when not in gear. For this problem I went to the dealer already 4 times, but it seems that they can't fix it.

General Comments:

From February 2000 until now, I had to go to the dealer already 11 times!!!

This is close to ONCE A MONTH!!!

Most things are fixed under warranty, but I have to take a day off for going to the dealer, and that is not paid by Daewoo.

I am now looking at dealerships of other brands to buy a new car, but there the problem is that the Matiz has already lost half it's value in one year. So what looked like a good deal cost me a lot of money!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

19th Aug 2009, 14:44

If you live in Deutschland, why would you buy a Daewoo Matiz when you can buy a Diesel Volkswagen Lupo? There are all sorts of Diesel VW's that you can buy over there that people could only dream to have in N.America.