2000 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 21 of 24

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Don't buy this car!

Faults:

The check engine light came on at 10,000 miles, car began running very rough. #8 fuel injector was completely plugged and had to be replaced.

Problems with the injection system at 20,000 miles - car running rough again. Also, transmission sounded like it was going to fall out when put in reverse. Dealer claimed they "tuned" up the car and put sound insulation around transmission case.

Easter Sunday 2000 - stuck inside a car wash because car won't start. Problem due to failure of two computer sensors which had to be replaced.

40,000 miles check engine light on again. Car running rough. Needs same work as at 10,000 miles on fuel injectors. One week later, same problem. Replaced parts.

60,000 miles check engine light on again. Car running very rough. Fuel Injector problems again. Also, rear window motor failed and had to be replaced.

Extremely poor mileage - no difference on road or in town - never better than 13 mpg. Air conditioner works poorly.

General Comments:

All the problems with the fuel injection system have been attributed to "bad" gas. I even have it in writing that the solution to this problem is to buy gas at name brand stations. The bulk of my gas has been bought at Texaco, Amoco and Sinclair. I have the credit card receipts to prove it. I also have a bag full of "rust" taken out of one of the fuel injectors. I have never had a similar problem with any other vehicle that I have owned. Now my son's 99 Dakota is doing the same thing and they have also told him that the "problem" is just bad gas.

This car has been very undependable and the dealers have been unpleasant to work with on the warranty issues. Plus now - the injector problem is no longer covered by my extended warranty since they claim it is a "fuel" problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2002

22nd Feb 2004, 18:11

I have a 2000 Dodge Durango SLT that is VERY dependable. No problems even similar to the one's you describe. My only problem is the check engine light came on recently (36k miles) and hasn't gone off. I'm thinking it's one of those situations where the light comes on at a certain number of miles and has to be reset. I had a Mazda that did that. Even with the check engine light on, it's the best running, best driving vehicle I have ever owned. Sorry to hear you have had so many problems.

18th May 2013, 07:51

I have a 99 Durango SLT 5.9 V8, and the check engine light came on recently. Turns out my catalytic converter had crystallized and needed replacing. After I did, the light went away and all went back to normal. However, after installing a 52mm throttle body spacer, and 3 inch exhaust with a Super40 Flowmaster, I've acquired a knocking noise coming from the left (passenger) side of the motor. It sounds as if a rocker arm is loose or a rod is broken. I'm worried because this is my family vehicle. Any suggestions on how to go about locating said problem?

2000 Dodge Durango V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Right now, thank God I'm alive and my kids weren't in the car

Faults:

A few months ago the Durango started making a light knocking noise, initially while accelerating and then pretty steadily. The Durango also appeared to be locked into 4-wheel drive (although it had not been placed in four-wheel drive).

The dealer service department said it was a transmission problem, replaced the transmission oil which they stated was "dirty" and also agreed the truck was "locked" in four-wheel drive (although not indicated by the gear shifter or dash lights). They, in turn, released the truck from four-wheel drive; fixed associated problems at a cost of $900.00. This was not covered by warranty.

For the past few months the truck continued to make knocking noises. This morning, while driving, the drive shaft fell off the differential to the ground. I, obviously, had to have the car towed to the dealership. Thank God I was only going 10 miles an hour when it happened. The report is, the U-joints went bad, causing damage to the drive shaft, which as it fell off, damaged the transmission seal. This, unfortunately, is not covered under warranty and costs about $700.

General Comments:

If U-joints can randomly go bad to the extent that the drive shaft falls off the car while in motion; shouldn't some sort of safety check be performed at 50K miles?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

26th Aug 2002, 18:58

I don't know why you posted that review. Something fishy here.

All of your problems are covered by warranty. No questions asked.

2nd Feb 2004, 08:54

I have a 2000 Dodge Durango and about a month ago, an older gentlemen had asked if I had any problems with my Durango. I responded, "No, not really. Just a few minor problems such as a sensor going out and replacing the brake rotors." He then told me that his transmission had gone out and it seemed to be a common problem with the Durango. Lo and behold, a month later my 4x4 gear is working poorly and then the transmission goes out. Furthermore, I sympathize with you, because I was stranded approximately 2-hours away from home with my 2-toddlers, which was a tribulation. I kept good service on my vehicle and now "I WILL TRADE IT FOR SOMETHING MORE RELIABLE."

1st Sep 2004, 09:54

No surprise for this vehicle make/model. Chevy and Ford are no better either. I switched to a Toyota Sequoia, after vehemently opposing Toyota. I have to admit, it's much better than the big america 3 altogether, especially in quality and ride.

23rd Apr 2007, 10:32

I was intrigued by this site because I also have a 2000 Dodge Durango and my rear differential is starting to wear, but aside from that I've never had a better truck. She is my baby and I get awesome gas mileage a smooth ride and it's easy to fix. I feel in retrospect of your comments that perhaps you all just got a bad deal through your dealership. Two of my brothers have Durangos as well. One is a 1999 and the other is a 2003 and they love theirs as much as I love mine. They have never had a problem aside from minor ones. I think that your mechanic was probably not as well trained in diagnosing problems and you just let it go too far before you worried about it. If you pay attention and truly care for your truck i.e. making routine maintenance and checking her out properly BEFORE the problems gets so bad that you shouldn't have a problem. If you just drive and don't get in tune with the workings of your vehicle then your gonna have problems. You should never have let it get so bad that stuff was falling off of it. That's truck abuse. You deserve to drive a Honda.

8th May 2007, 20:39

$4200??? You could replace the trans and transfer case for that amount. Better get another quote.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 86 reviews