2000 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 24 of 24

2000 Dodge Durango SLT Plus 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired420 miles
Most recent distance14800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Stylish, sleek and wonderful driving!

Faults:

At 9000 miles, the shocks began to leak and the bushings on my sway bar were cracked which both cause major squeaking and a rough ride. This was fixed within one day. Dealer was prompt and very courteous - except for the shuttle back to my job. I was an hour late for work because they could not find the man who drove the shuttle to take me and another woman back. This happened at the dealer in Norwood, MA.

Currently, my rear driver's side window does not work. I will be taking this in for a service shortly.

General Comments:

Overall, I love my Durango. It is not even a year old, and it has had these 3 problems, so that is a huge letdown, but I am optimistic. When my lease is up, I would definitely consider getting another one. It would be one of my top choices.

Gas mileage is hard, but that was expected, so I am not too upset over it. The stereo system (8 speaker Infinity) is great, it sounds perfect and goes very loud which I like a lot. I recommend getting the steering wheel controls if you are short like me (5'4"), because the controls on the dash can be hard to reach for us shorties!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2001

2000 Dodge Durango STL 2WD 5.2 L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2 L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired162 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Definitely not a lemon!!!

Faults:

The only thing that has been wrong with my Durango is the clear coat was flaking. I brought it up to the service manager and it was repainted and back on the road in 5 days. That's why there's a warranty.

General Comments:

I love my Durango. If you're here to gripe about the fuel mileage it states it on the window sticker. I put a Flowmaster series 40 in place of the stock muffler, and yes it's louder, but I'm getting 22 miles on the highway and 15 in town.

My grandparents like it due to the fact it's easy to get in and out of.

The ride is great.

With the great financing I could afford a $30,000 instead of a $20,000 vehicle. For those "suckers" that paid $40,000, I got everything but the 5.9, leather and the center console. That's not worth $10,000.

As far as a warranty goes on small parts (I.e. switches, latches), if you're just outside your warranty period go talk to the sales person that sold it to you or the relations manager. You'd be surprised how far you make it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

18th Jan 2005, 08:14

Maybe they are about little things, but they definitely weren't when my engine blew up. They told me "oh we stopped selling that brand of extended warranty because we were having complaints of claims being denied". DUH. Don't they feel a little responsible for selling me a junk extended warranty? They told me to take it up with corporate diamler chrysler. I wrote in my original review that I "might" buy another vehicle from this manufacturer. I wish I could take that back. I will never buy a dodge chrysler vehicle again.

2000 Dodge Durango from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Reliability in question..

Faults:

Transmission failure at the above mileage. Diagnostics revealed the need to either open the case or replace the transmission. Third gear failure (cause uncertain to me at this point, although dealership may know the specifics).

General Comments:

Prior to this, we were very satisfied with the vehicle. I am now hearing that the transmissions for Dodges were known to be unreliable... wish I had known. Of course, this is all hearsay. I haven't read any such information from a reputable source.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

30th May 2001, 11:05

I've heard that too, but that was the transmission behind the 5.9 cummins.

2000 Dodge Durango SLT+ 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tahoe

Summary:

All in all it's just all right with me

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The automobile has been flawless so far and the ride comfort for a SUV is outstanding.. The only thing that I find to be a problem is the 13 mpg overall average. The 350 in my previous Chevrolet Tahoe (JUNK) was in the high teens.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2001

2000 Dodge Durango SLT+ 4.7 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.7 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance3250 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

Nice vehicle, but poor support from Chrysler

Faults:

At 3200 miles the transmission went from fully auto, to no shifting. Check Engine light came on, and the transmission would not auto shift. Dealer seems to have diagnosed the problem as the "reverse" solenoid in the transmission, said the part would be in the next day.

5 days later, no part, "they don't know why" and haven't reordered a new part for next day delivery, instead "we expect it in tomorrow" is the canned answer... Chrysler parts distribution, and dealer attentiveness STINK!!! Also, no loaner car, I must rent my own... for a $33K vehicle they should provide a loaner free of charge!

General Comments:

Comfort, performance, and handling are great, but if the dealer service and parts availability are this POOR, I am very concerned! No one seems to care, from the corporate Customer Assistance Center to the Service Manager at the dealership...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

2000 Dodge Durango Sport 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Solid SUV, bad dealership service

Faults:

It pulls to the right, nothing wrong per dealership.

Transmission makes a ratcheting noise when shifted into drive, nothing wrong per dealership.

Fuel pump makes high pitch whine, nothing wrong per dealership. etc....

General Comments:

Dodge dealership service departments suck!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

7th Jun 2002, 09:12

Try new tires. I had the same problem which was fixed after replacing the stock tires with better ones. I also noticed excessive wear on the right rear tire even with tire rotation every 5000 miles.

16th Oct 2004, 13:33

Re: transmission noise when shifting into drive. All modern Chrysler transmissions make this noise. The tranny is completely controlled by computer, so the sound you are hearing is an actuator engaging the gear.

15th Mar 2007, 11:26

The only major replacement I have made is the Air Condisioner Compressor. After 6 years I think it is a great SUV.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 86 reviews