1992 Dodge Shadow Dodge Convertible ES 3.0 V6 from North America


Good little car, very reliable


I had to replace the back brake lines, pads and rotars at 128,000 miles.

Getting a new radiator put in today (9/13/05) 131,000 miles.

New front right motor mount.129,000 miles.

I need a new top badly.

New tires.

Back left blinker doesn't work when you turn on the head lights.

Blew off the Serpentine belt.

General Comments:

Interior is in perfect condition.

The car is fast never left me stranded. Parts are not to expensive. The back seat is small, but I don't care because I don't have to sit back there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2005

1992 Dodge Shadow ES V6 3.0 from North America


Pretty decent little beast!


50-60k replaced the Rack and Pinion.

I did this with the help of my brother, nice way to waste a day!

At 70 or 80k replaced Rack and Pinion again! Previous one was a rebuilt and was binding. So... luckily had a warranty on the prior one. Only cost... another wasted day.

Serpentine belt will jump off powersteering and alternator pulleys. Maybe twice a year if I'm lucky. Keep a 15mm wrench handy just in case.

It now continually rides partially off the powersteering unit pulley. Replaced tensioner pulley to no avail.

Small gas shocks that hold rear hatch up have been bad. Too expensive to replace, I now use an umbrella to prop it open.

General Comments:

I bought this car for $2800.

Great car for the price, except for the above mentioned problems and repairs.

This car has some snap! I had it up till the speedometer was maxed. 125 or so mph.

It's been pretty reliable for such an older model. Fairly decent on gas.

Good Brake life! Replaced only twice in the near 60k I put on the car.

Parts pretty easy to find. Remember the Pontiac Sundance and Plymouth Duster are all the same engines.

Older technology so if your mechanically inclined you can do most fixes yourself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th August, 2005

13th Sep 2006, 21:42

No, that's a Plymouth Sunfire.

20th Oct 2008, 15:02

There is no such thing as a Pontiac Sundance. It is a Plymouth Sundance. No relation to Pontiac or the Pontiac Sunfire.

1992 Dodge Shadow es convertible 2.5 turbo from North America


After I give this car to my daughter I like it so much I may look for another for myself


Injector harness was replaced at 13000.

Window motors.

Hub assembles and ball joints.


Shorts in tail light wiring mostly ground problems.

New paint.

Replaced hali coals in two cylinders.

Vacuum leaks.

General Comments:

Car is very easy to work on.

Very quick and surprising for a four cylinder.

Looks good with top up or down.

Very dependable has never stranded me anywhere even when it acts up it always goes home.

This is a very fun car I am giving it to my daughter as a first car, but with a roll bar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2005

2nd Jul 2006, 04:30

A Shadow with a roll bar sounds cool to me. Though convertibles do get a bad rap, and rightly so. But there's nothing you can do about it.

1992 Dodge Shadow ES 4 cylinder from North America


Even God himself couldn't save this car


When I got this car I had to replace the head gasket.

The car has 5 rust holes in the body; 1 on the hood, 2 under the trunk, 1 under the back seat, 1 under the drivers side.

The car will not go up a minor hills past 25.

Both doors are crooked when closed.

Right brake light never works even thought it has been repaired 2 times already.

General Comments:

The car clanks and clunks when making turns.

It tilts almost to the point of scrapping when making a turn.

The car automatically revs itself when in park.

The hatch has to be held up by a 2x4 piece of wood.

The car spends more time in the auto shop than on the road.

I have already put 3 times as much money into the car to get it running than I spent on it.

Everything, but the engine and the transmission has been replaced and it still won't run properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

30th Apr 2005, 18:00

When I got my Shadow, I also had to replace the Head Gaskets. They were a pain to get to. I also almost had to replace the head, but then it would have been worthless. We also had to replace the radiator. The owner before me had replaced the transmission. So much work for not the best car. But hey, It purs like a kitten!

14th Nov 2007, 23:37

Maybe the transmission's next. I once bought a 1986 car with 140,XXX miles on it that did what your car does when going uphill. Turned out it had transmission problems.

15th Nov 2007, 06:32

God could have fixed it, but He didn't want to. All prayers are answered, and sometimes the answer is "No".

17th Aug 2008, 11:44

I bought a 1992 Shadow as scrap, four years ago. The car ran, so I started to drive it back and forth to work. Other than having to replace the pads on the front brakes and the rear exhaust pipe, I have never spent a cent on it.

The odometer shows 297k and gets pretty good fuel mileage for and old car, but the body cancer on it, is beginning to get to the final stages and I'm afraid I may have to invest another 100 bucks for another to take its place.

Overall, this is a great little car that always starts and runs and if not for the body rot, would likely be hauling me around for the next ten years.