1992 Dodge Shadow es convertible 2.5 turbo from North America

Summary:

After I give this car to my daughter I like it so much I may look for another for myself

Faults:

Injector harness was replaced at 13000.

Window motors.

Hub assembles and ball joints.

Radiator.

Shorts in tail light wiring mostly ground problems.

New paint.

Replaced hali coals in two cylinders.

Vacuum leaks.

General Comments:

Car is very easy to work on.

Very quick and surprising for a four cylinder.

Looks good with top up or down.

Very dependable has never stranded me anywhere even when it acts up it always goes home.

This is a very fun car I am giving it to my daughter as a first car, but with a roll bar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2005

2nd Jul 2006, 04:30

A Shadow with a roll bar sounds cool to me. Though convertibles do get a bad rap, and rightly so. But there's nothing you can do about it.

1992 Dodge Shadow ES 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Even God himself couldn't save this car

Faults:

When I got this car I had to replace the head gasket.

The car has 5 rust holes in the body; 1 on the hood, 2 under the trunk, 1 under the back seat, 1 under the drivers side.

The car will not go up a minor hills past 25.

Both doors are crooked when closed.

Right brake light never works even thought it has been repaired 2 times already.

General Comments:

The car clanks and clunks when making turns.

It tilts almost to the point of scrapping when making a turn.

The car automatically revs itself when in park.

The hatch has to be held up by a 2x4 piece of wood.

The car spends more time in the auto shop than on the road.

I have already put 3 times as much money into the car to get it running than I spent on it.

Everything, but the engine and the transmission has been replaced and it still won't run properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

30th Apr 2005, 18:00

When I got my Shadow, I also had to replace the Head Gaskets. They were a pain to get to. I also almost had to replace the head, but then it would have been worthless. We also had to replace the radiator. The owner before me had replaced the transmission. So much work for not the best car. But hey, It purs like a kitten!

14th Nov 2007, 23:37

Maybe the transmission's next. I once bought a 1986 car with 140,XXX miles on it that did what your car does when going uphill. Turned out it had transmission problems.

15th Nov 2007, 06:32

God could have fixed it, but He didn't want to. All prayers are answered, and sometimes the answer is "No".

17th Aug 2008, 11:44

I bought a 1992 Shadow as scrap, four years ago. The car ran, so I started to drive it back and forth to work. Other than having to replace the pads on the front brakes and the rear exhaust pipe, I have never spent a cent on it.

The odometer shows 297k and gets pretty good fuel mileage for and old car, but the body cancer on it, is beginning to get to the final stages and I'm afraid I may have to invest another 100 bucks for another to take its place.

Overall, this is a great little car that always starts and runs and if not for the body rot, would likely be hauling me around for the next ten years.

1992 Dodge Shadow ES convertible 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

This car is very good, it has power everything with the exception for the top, and good performance

Faults:

My passenger window motor went out.

Radio quit at 99,000 miles.

My power seat motor began getting weak at 100,000 miles.

Thermostat quit at 100,150 miles.

Top began to tear at around 98,500 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very good car.

The performance is great with the 3.0 liter v6 and manual transmission.

The seats are comfortable.

The dash houses a 125 mile per hour speedometer and a tachometer which red lines at 6,000 rpm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2003

1992 Dodge Shadow ES 2.2 from North America

Summary:

The car every teen should own

Faults:

The head is cracked.

The motor is bad.

Paint is faded.

The 2.2 and 2.5 are only good for 70,000 miles (cheap heads)

General Comments:

The car is great, if I had a million dollars I would buy all of them I could.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

2nd Oct 2003, 08:32

My father had a 1992 Shadow with the 2.5L, and it was still running strong at 144,000 miles when the transmission gave out. Also, the timing belt is non-interference, which is a big plus compared too many Japanese cars (His broke once at ~120,000 miles - you can just drive it until it breaks.)

22nd Oct 2007, 00:13

How do you know that all motors will give out at 70k miles? You should refrain from making such blanket statements. Just because your motor was only good that long, doesn't mean that's true of every 2.2L. You have no idea how it was maintained before you got it.