1992 Dodge Shadow Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1992 Dodge Shadow from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A reliable, quick car

Faults:

My muffler has a hole in it after 106,000 miles.

The dome light has blown out and has not been easy to fix.

General Comments:

The seats wear really well.

It gets pretty good gas mileage.

There is plenty of room in the trunk with a large backseat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

1992 Dodge Shadow America 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

Great for the mechanically gifted

Faults:

Transmission slips when you accelerate rapidly.

Overheated for no apparent reason.

Oil pressure light would come on after driving on the highway.

Front right turn signal never works.

General Comments:

I would not recommend this car to anyone except a very smart, patient and rich mechanic. The car may seem sporty, but in the end you'll be dealing with more than you bargained for.

The interior is uncomfortable and doesn't give much space to the big and tall people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

1992 Dodge Shadow from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres

Summary:

Good, but an expensive car for fuel

Faults:

My head blew at 80,000Km.

Oil leaking from the valve cover gasket.

Oxygen sensor failed every year.

Bad gas mileage (about 350 km per tank in city).

Paint peeling.

General Comments:

Even my little troubles I had with the car, it's running fine and drives me from the point A to B. The body is A-1 and the motor does not seems to burn oil.

My valve cover gasket is always leaking, but I won't pay 150$ for a cover (that was the price I had from Chrysler). The only big problem is my bad gas mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

20th Jan 2002, 23:06

Odd, my brother has a 3.0 litre V6 and is getting roughly 30 mpg. He does have a light foot, however.

12th Jun 2002, 12:29

I fixed my own valve cover gasket on my '92 Dodge Shadow and it only cost me $9.68 which was the price of gasket.

My '92 Dodge Shadow has 140,xxx miles on it and on my most recent trip of 900 miles I got 33.5 mpg out of it. I can go 400 miles (on the interstate) before I start hunting for a gas station.

1992 Dodge Shadow ES 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Moderate performance and high reliability

Faults:

Fuel pump.

Engine wiring harness.

General Comments:

I've owned this car for 9 1/2 years. It has had only 2 major problems.

The fuel pump was replaced after 170,000 for $500. Garage would only put in OEM pump due to unreliability of after market versions.

The wiring harness burned out due to a faulty ignition switch. There were only 3 OEM harnesses left in the country and for the sake of a 1 year warranty on the job, the shop did the job for $1600. The harness was $1100.

The car burns oil, but has been reliable. It still has the original clutch. Hopefully the car will last for a quarter million miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2001

11th May 2002, 10:27

Were those two repairs performed at the dealership? They seem awfully expensive for an older Chrysler!

11th Jun 2002, 09:55

I have a question for the owner, Are you a lady? No offense, but repairman love to see ladies come in. I have a 92 Shadow that I bought new for my wife. great little car, The engine went at 68,000 took it to the dealer, they told my wife that it was not under warranty and she would have to pay for the repairs. well when I got to the dealership, The service manager said, Not problem. The car was repaired no problem. You must be thinking I went in to the service Dept. raising he$%, No I did not, I said please check your records again, I have a 7/70 warranty. Well what do you know you do, we get right on it. In closing I would like to say that my wife loves her shadow W/112,000+ on it.

21st Mar 2012, 03:33

I agree, that does sound expensive,

1992 Dodge Shadow America 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance97500 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Better than the Ford Escort

Faults:

Coolant sensor short out.

Dome light & trunk light don't work.

Passenger side CV axle is going out.

Brakes lock up easy.

A little heavy for its size.

Loud clutch cable.

General Comments:

Good dependable small car with good cargo space and good gas mileage. Better than the Escort.

You just have to have some knowledge of mechanics and treat it like you want it to last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 29 reviews