1992 Dodge Shadow ES convertible 3.0 V6 from North America


This car is very good, it has power everything with the exception for the top, and good performance


My passenger window motor went out.

Radio quit at 99,000 miles.

My power seat motor began getting weak at 100,000 miles.

Thermostat quit at 100,150 miles.

Top began to tear at around 98,500 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very good car.

The performance is great with the 3.0 liter v6 and manual transmission.

The seats are comfortable.

The dash houses a 125 mile per hour speedometer and a tachometer which red lines at 6,000 rpm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2003

1992 Dodge Shadow ES 2.2 from North America


The car every teen should own


The head is cracked.

The motor is bad.

Paint is faded.

The 2.2 and 2.5 are only good for 70,000 miles (cheap heads)

General Comments:

The car is great, if I had a million dollars I would buy all of them I could.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

2nd Oct 2003, 08:32

My father had a 1992 Shadow with the 2.5L, and it was still running strong at 144,000 miles when the transmission gave out. Also, the timing belt is non-interference, which is a big plus compared too many Japanese cars (His broke once at ~120,000 miles - you can just drive it until it breaks.)

22nd Oct 2007, 00:13

How do you know that all motors will give out at 70k miles? You should refrain from making such blanket statements. Just because your motor was only good that long, doesn't mean that's true of every 2.2L. You have no idea how it was maintained before you got it.

1992 Dodge Shadow ES 3.0 V6 from North America


Fast and roomy, very comfy


New alternator a long time ago...

New radiator at 160,000.

New radiator fan at 140,000.

The paint on the roof and trunk are gone and rusting.

Since 180,000 miles, the gas mileage has gone down from 30 to 20mpg, and she goes through oil frequently.

General Comments:

The car used to fly like the wind.

This car has outlasted everyone's expectations and we've certainly got our money's worth.

Very spacious, we fit a 75 gallon fish tank with gravel and stand while moving this past summer.

This car has driven back and forth between NJ and MD a million times, perhaps you've seen us.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

1992 Dodge Shadow GL 2.4L from North America




The weird thing that went wrong with the vehicle was the warning light for the airbag on the dashboard. It was covered under warranty, and it was actually part of the ignition switch.

The dealership serviced the entire engine at the 70,000 mile mark under warranty and probable resulted in the long life of the car excess of 130,000 and we literally drove the wheels off that vehicle.

The paint was another issue. Since car manufacturers quit putting lead into paint, the paint on the Shadow would literally peel off.

General Comments:

Very, very, shade tree mechanic friendly. I still remember the convenient placement of the oil filter on the front of the engine block with more than adequate clearance.

The timing belt needed to be replaced, and I cannot require the mileage it went out. I know it was beyond warranty, but again very mechanic friendly.

The interior held up very well with two young children in the vehicle at all times.

Interior storage with the lift gate was also very helpful and very roomy considering stroller, groceries. etc.

I'd buy another Shadow in a flash, I would have bought another one if Dodge had not cancelled the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2003

1992 Dodge Shadow Ex 3.0 V6 from North America


A high performance car for cheap $


Passenger door is messed up. Leaking anti freeze and oil from the gaskets. Ball bearing on the timing belt pulley needs replacement.

General Comments:

Intake, muffler, rims, system, dropping it 3 inches, blackout lights and etc. If anyone knows where I can get a header so I could put a turbo in it let me know. email me at daracer427@aol.com thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

1992 Dodge Shadow 2Door 2.?L 4 cylinder 5Speed from North America


I will own other cars, but this will always be my favorite.


When I first bought the car in winter of 1999, it had a big hole in the muffler. Sounded really scary inside, like a 18 wheeler. I bought and installed a new one.

After a few months of Alaskan winter driving, I had to replace the thermostat. It froze shut.

In summer/fall 2000 I cracked my clutch pushing 100mph to the Alaska State Fair. I drove back and forth from Anchorage to Palmer during that week.

In spring 2001 I had the head gasket and timing belt replaced. I think all the pot holes up here is what cracked it. Pot holes up here can get pretty big and deep.

Early 2002 I had the camshaft and timing belt (again) replaced. My only guess is wear and tear for the camshaft, the timing belt I don't know 'cause it was just fixed.

Next to fix is the suspension system. Since everyone else is upgrading their cars, I'll do the same with mine. And I'll start with the suspension sys. Maybe some kybs, konis, and eibachs.

General Comments:

This car is like a tank. Heavy and bulky.

The cornering was very good, but very stiff at first, but with suspension worn out, it tends to roll and bounce now.

It's kinda noisy when driving fast, but at least it does go fast. The pick up is great.

The headlight connectors are always burning and sometimes the speedometer don't work.

At first I was irritated with fixing my car so much. Now all I can think of is ways of upgrading it. I know more about cars now than before, all from repairing my car. I love it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2002