1999 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1999 Ford Contour Sport V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Comfortable, but has some defects

Faults:

The top of the dash has warped severely and the face of the dash has all, but fallen off.

After parking the vehicle one evening, the dome lights and door buzzer would not go off. The door buzzer tends to come on while you are driving.

The fuel pump, which is located in the fuel tank, had gone out and when the mechanic was replacing it, discovered all the insulation on the wiring to the pump was burned off.

General Comments:

I enjoy the ride and handling of this car.

However, now I am afraid to drive it.

I seem to get no assistance from the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

1999 Ford Contour from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10

Summary:

American Made is What Made in Japan Was to the 1960's.

Faults:

Have a warped dash since shortly after purchase, which was a manufacturer's defect still yet to be replaced.

Have had brakes replaced repeatedly.

Have a bad transmission at 75,000 miles. Needs replacing.

The vent/heat/air has had a repeat problem of only running on maximum or low. Has been fixed twice.

The car was running on two our of four cylinders, which needed to be fixed.

My car is currently undrivable due to the bad transmission.

Ford is making progressively cheaper cars, which shows. It's no small wonder Contour was pulled off the market.

General Comments:

I thought it was a bargain, but it was a mistake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

15th May 2007, 19:58

To "fix" your warped dashboard, try this:

If you still have the black plastic strip that came out due to the warped dash, you can use tie-wraps to force it into place. If you look in the space where it goes, there are metal dividers along the opening. Depending on how severe it's warped, you can loosely put it in place and by using long tie-wraps, you can loop them through the metal connectors and bring the ends of the tie wraps together through the vents of the black plastic strip. Next, forcefully shove the strip into place and briskly pull the tie-wraps tightly (I strongly recommend plyers). Anyway, this will hold the dash in place and only the very ends will stick up. It works great on my 1999 Contour SE!

1999 Ford Contour SE 2.5L V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles

Summary:

A great value if bought as a used car

Faults:

1. Dashboard warp. Foor doesn't think this is important enough to replace. They had a limited "recall" and replaced the pads, but did not send notices out.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and handles great. I own a Corvette and am impressed with this vehicle. I find the ride comfortable, and the interior comfortable as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

14th Jan 2005, 13:16

I purchased my contour in 2001 and have been overall pleased with it. The only problems I have has was that I replaced the brakes at 50000 and the dashboard was replaced for free by Ford. I bought new tires at 40000. I am at 68000 and overall have spent less than $300 on these repairs. The interior lights don't always come on when you open the drivers door. At 68000 there is a squeeling noise in the engine. I'm not sure what that is. I'm taking it in this weekend. The head lamps yellowed too soon. I'm having to have them replaced- another $200.00. I like my contour though I am getting another car and giving this out.

2nd Aug 2005, 05:50

How is it that you got your warped dashboard replaced for free? Ours just warped last year and we were told that the free off was over in 2002 and it would cost $1100 or more to replace it. Please advise. codinc2000@yahoo.com.

1999 Ford Contour SE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Don't Waste your money

Faults:

The dashboard has warped-of course.

The engine cuts off when the gas tank is not even close to being empty.

The brakes don't last very long.

General Comments:

The general price is quite wonderful, but the dealers are horrible. I would not buy another Ford as long as I live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2004

30th Mar 2006, 15:49

My experience has been that there are good and bad among all the brands. No mfg can build all it's cars perfectly with perfect parts.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 33 reviews