1999 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1999 Ford Contour SE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The car was a bad experience

Faults:

The motor locked up.

The transmission went out - dealership error.

The wiring caught on fire - dealership error.

The dashboard was warped and wrong color - dealership error.

General Comments:

The intake sucked up water into the motor and locked the motor up. The water was only about 2 inches deep. From there, all of my problems were with the Ford Dealership.

They didn't replace the transmission fluid after changing the motor, causing the transmission to fail.

They left wires loose after changing the engine, causing the car to catch on fire on Friday 13, 2000 during rush hour traffic.

They had to replace the dashboard because of the fire and replaced it with a dashboard that doesn't match the rest of the interior, but said that it was the same according to the part number.

This car has had many recalls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

27th Oct 2004, 11:24

My Ford Contour 1999 will not move in reverse.

23rd Aug 2005, 20:08

My 1999 Ford Contour has a transmission problem, The O/D off light keeps coming on and shifting is not normal also reverse slips after the car has been driven for a period. The dash is warped. Other than that it's a great car. 80,000 miles.

22nd Aug 2007, 08:33

I have a 99 Ford Contour SE w/Duratec V6 DOHC engine. I bought it with 50,000 miles and absolutely fell in love with it. The week it rolled over 100,000 miles it spun a rod bearing on the number six cylinder due to oil starvation (Tube stopped up). I was using full synthetic. I pulled the engine, well should I say dropped the engine. It comes out of the bottom of the car sub frame and all. Everything I have to do to this car has been expensive and frustrating. From having to send the crank out of state to have it turned because of its odd size, to paying $396.00 dollars for a set of rebuild gaskets that ended up not having all that was needed included. I have also had many of the problems that was described in other posts and comments. Like the IAC valve and curled dashboard. I no longer love the car, but I still want to keep it. When its running it is a power house and handles like a dream. I wish Ford had just taken a little more time with the engine and this would be a fantastic ride. I am on the final stages of getting it back on the road and I pray that all goes well.

30th Aug 2007, 12:19

Well all did not go well. I have a loud roar coming from the bottom end, and will have to drop the engine again.

1999 Ford Contour 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Comfortable and quiet

Faults:

I haven't really had any big problems with the car yet. The seats are a little odd.

General Comments:

This is the best car that I have ever owned. It is comfortable and roomy. It seems to have a lot of power and is good on gas mileage. I think that for the mileage that is on the car, It has perfomed to standard. I have heard some poor reviews of this car. I hope that mine lasts awhile. I wish that I would have read some reviews about the car before purchasing, I would have thought twice about buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

1999 Ford Contour SE 2.5 liter DOHC 24 valve V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter DOHC 24 valve V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

A very good, dependable car

Faults:

My car had to have a gasket replaced under the dash due to water in the passenger floor board.

The radio has a very slight rattle (hardly noticeable).

General Comments:

I am very happy overall with my car.

I am in college and it handles my 20 mile commute to and from school very well.

It gets good gas mileage.

The car has very good power and is never sluggish.

The transmission operates very well as well.

The comfort and quality of the interior is excellent.

The dealership where the car was purchased has been extremely helpful with any problems.

I like this car very well and would have no problem buying another. It has been a very dependable and I have very few complaints with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

3rd Mar 2004, 15:24

This owner only had the car for 10,000 miles. This is not enough time to be very useful for a credible review.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 33 reviews