1999 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1999 Ford Contour SE Sport 2.5 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance175600 kilometres

Summary:

Plenty of power, but poor quality interior

Faults:

At about 80,000 kilometers the clutch went and the whole clutch assembly had to be replaced. I couldn't believe it and when the car was repaired, which took over a week, I had the clutch looked at by another mechanic. He told me the parts looked barely worn.

The dashboard has become warped and is no longer smooth with the windshield. The cover for the defrost outlet where the air is blasted out onto the windshield no longer stays in place.

General Comments:

The car rides and handles great. Its tuned liked a European car so it handles corners with ease. Plenty of ponies under the hood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2004

1999 Ford Contour Sedan V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A horrible purchase. Never again

Faults:

The dash is poor quality. It was replaced through a recall in 2/2001 and now in 4/2004 the dash is completely warped and disconnecting again. I've used dash covers & sun blockers and have tinted windows to ensure protection. 2 dashes in less than 5 years is not good. Ford refuses to stand by its quality (or lack there of).

My brake pads have to be replaced every 3 - 4 months and the rotors are replaced every 9 - 10 months. Ford assures me there is nothing wrong, but I've been told my company mechanics that that the size breaking mechanism is too small for the weight of the vehicle. Its extremely expensive to fix.

General Comments:

The first new car I purchased in my life was a Ford. Its what I always wanted. Now, I will never let anyone I know buy one because the safety and quality is not there. The model itself should have been recalled & never allowed to enter the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

14th Jul 2004, 19:52

Two dashes must have been expensive! I was quoted 450$ just to unclog the goddamn air vents. Maybe I should go to a different dealer for a better price.

23rd Aug 2004, 18:54

I also have a Contour. Overall the vehicle runs really well. But to reply to the comment about the Brakes....I myself have had them replaced twice in the last 5 months....

1999 Ford Contour SE 4 cylinder., 2.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder., 2.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

The brakes, rotors and cylinders failed within the first six months.

The electrical system failed at approximately 75000 miles, shortly after the warranty was up.

The dash has warped considerately over the past year.

The computer is not reading any errors as it should.

The automatic transmission is now failing.

General Comments:

This car seemed to be the perfect family car.

It is a 4 door and fit two car seats very well.

There is not much legroom for adult passengers in the back seat.

The seats are uncomfortable on long trips.

The car handles well around corners.

The car is not worth the hassle overall.

The upkeep on this car will break your pocketbook.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

1999 Ford Contour SE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carFord Cobra/LX

Summary:

A nice deal especially the svt

Faults:

Well at first we have a problem with a real bad humming noise when it gets cold. I wish I knew what it is. No one can help me. I've asked the dealerships and none of them know anything. Dealerships and garages suck. The only ones that I can get to help me is the ones who have had this problem before. The humming noise is coming from the air intake. When I took the filter out it got twice as loud. I wish I knew what is was. If you can help me email me at Cobrafanatik22@aol.com thanks.

The doors also squeaked a lot when opened. I just have to keep greasing them up.

General Comments:

Other than that this car is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

13th May 2003, 22:28

I have a Mondeo and I have the same problem with the doors. Keep greasing them. It is a poor design.

7th Aug 2007, 22:26

Hah, well this is 4 years old, and I doubt you have the car.

However, that humming noise is a common problem on the platform. It usually occurs on V6 models during the colder seasons. We have fixes for this issue which are quite cost effective i.e. 30 cents and just requires a copper plug and a drill.

Check out contour.org, it's a great site for enthusiasts. A great bunch of guys and gals.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 33 reviews