1999 Ford Explorer from North America

Summary:

Reliable, but has some minor bugs

Faults:

Gas gauge quit working all together.

Door locks either stick or don't work at all. I've had this fixed at the dealership twice.

Sometimes have problems changing gears out of park.

General Comments:

This car has its problems, and I fear it will soon break down. But it has been the most dependable car I've ever owned. It's 11 years old and has 220,000 miles on it, and it is still going! I find it amazing that it has lasted this long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2010

10th Sep 2012, 15:25

I agree. I have a 1999 Ford Explorer 4 door XLT V6 SOHC with 220,000 miles, and besides small cosmetic issues, it's been the best car I've ever owned. And I've owned a lot; new and used.

1999 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 5.0L V8 from North America

Summary:

Still love it after all these years!

Faults:

Display not working (radio, time, outside temperature, compass).

Power locks not working.

General Comments:

Still love it, despite its faults. It's comfortable, fun to drive, and reliable.

330,000 KM and still going strong, as long as you can afford the gas!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2010

1999 Ford Explorer XLT 5.0 V8 from North America

Summary:

Great value, great truck, best used SUVs

Faults:

The only things I've done in the last 60,000 miles are a front differential and the ball joints, which cost $1,200. Other than that, nothing has gone wrong, this car is mint.

The $1200, that is a lot, but I got a great deal on the car, and those are the only things I've had to do.

General Comments:

This is a great truck, the V8 is the way to go; a lot more sturdy and almost better built than the V-6, has a much better tranny, and is a lot more powerful.

The leather seats are of nice quality, and the sounds system is premium.

I love this truck, and it is in mint condition for being over a decade old. She looks like she just rolled off the assembly line all shiny and new.

The only thing I don't like about this car is random squeaks and noises, as well as the ride. But then again, I have mud tires on her.

Other than that, she's a beast in the snow, unstoppable, you can't get this Explorer stuck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2010

1999 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 from North America

Summary:

A gas guzzler, but I love her

Faults:

Wire servicing 12V to the fuel pump wore through, left me stranded, had to walk 6 miles to get home. Replaced the wire, works fine now.

Previous owner replaced front diff, got it stuck and ran it too hard in 4x4 trying to get it out - should have called a tow truck.

General Comments:

This vehicle is very spacious, I went camping and slept in the back, comfortable as well.

Depending on the tires you run, you may or may not get much road noise.

I bought this vehicle thinking I would get 20MPG, I get anywhere from 15-18. Got 21 on a road trip this summer.

Handles very nice, and rides well on rough roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2009

1st Jan 2010, 03:04

My 99 is starting to have gear noise from the front end, has about 115,000 on it, hate the AWD, but it is what it is.

Also starting to get a little grinding noise when I step on the brakes, guess it's time for some new pads.

Needs a new door seal on drivers door, and gas pedal sticks a little. Sometimes when you take off, it doesn't want to press down smoothly, it sticks at the top, then breaks loose.

Other than that, looks like a vehicle maybe 4 years old, still looks sharp.

And I don't remember the code to the keyless entry. I heard it's stamped somewhere inside it, but I can't find it.

Owners manual is long gone, I need a new one.

2nd Jan 2010, 20:24

If you can't find where the code is stamped, you can always take it in to a Ford garage. They will look up the VIN and tell you what the factory keyless entry code is.

27th Mar 2013, 11:40

The keyless entry code is printed on a sticker affixed to the keyless entry module, which is mounted just ahead of the left rear wheel housing.

To access it, remove the fasteners holding the left rear interior trim in place, and pull it back enough to see the sticker. You'll probably need a flashlight, and possibly a mirror.