2000 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 11 of 16

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4500 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

VTS??? Buy a Zetec-S!!!

Faults:

Timing belt tensioner needed replacing (under warranty) at 6000 miles.

There was a water leak inside the car, Ford dealer couldn't fix it, so I had to. Just a case of re-fitting the rubber seal around the door properly.

General Comments:

This car is definitely worth the good reviews it had in the motoring press. I paid £8500 for a five month old one from a local Ford dealer, saved £3000 on new.

Standard the car is supposed to run at 103bhp at the flywheel which is rubbish, most Zetec-S' push out 110bhp standard. Perhaps Ford kept the performance figures down to keep insurance ratings down???

My car has been modified with a Jetex panel filter and Janspeed catback system. A Superchip will be fitted after its first service. The car will beat a standard Saxo VTS with just the exhaust and filter. People seem to compare the Zetec-S with a Saxo VTR, in my eyes there's no contest, it handles better and is a lot quicker.

Interior wise the car looks good, seats are supportive, although it could do with lumber support and maybe an adjustable steering wheel???

All in all, I would recommend this car to anyone, and get one soon as production ceases at the end of 2001.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

17th Jan 2002, 09:07

It's got to be said that the Zetec-S has more BHP then Ford state it has.

Mine keeps up with a standard VTS on the straights, and will handle better into corners and exits.

The best hot hatch of the year by far!

11th Jun 2002, 15:10

Agreed. 115bhp is commonplace on rolling roads BEFORE tuning takes place.

I'm certainly not complaining.

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 petrol from France

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12500 kilometres
Most recent distance23200 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Tremendous value

Faults:

The cassette player gave out at 15,000km. However, it was covered under the warranty.

General Comments:

A tremendous joy to drive. I am actually an American graduate student living in France, and since my previous car had been a 1997 Ford Taurus (re: big, heavy V6 22 m/gall), I stuck with the American mark over any French or German car. Although 1.25L is tiny compared to cars back home, I took that car all through Germany, Alsace, Lorraine, Switzerland (up the Alps), and Italy. Not a lot of "go" on the auto-routes, but certainly adequate. Since where I live is noted for car thefts, even a new Fiesta does not attract much attention.

My only serious complaint is that the city 9 litres per 100 km should be better. The performance of the first three gears can certainly smoke the Polo, Saxo, Peugeot 206, or the Bravo. However, to run the car at 4000 RPM at 120-130 km/hr is a little excessive. Fuel economy plummets if you are driving over 130 km/hr. That may sound like a lot, but driving in Germany and France is much quicker than England and the U.S.!

I just sold mine, and I have noticed that Fiestas tend to fall in value very quickly (but maybe that is because there is not as much demand for them in France). It had the reputation here as being a woman's car, but that was no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.25 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6250 miles
Most recent distance8301 miles
Previous carFiat 125

Summary:

Nippy, Smooth, Nice, Bargain

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Nice little car all round, Great performance up to 3rd gear and has a smooth ride, I am really impressed so far with the handling and far outperforms my old Fiat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2001

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5500 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

At under nine grand and 5000 miles on the clock it really is a bargain fast drive

Faults:

The temperature gauge temporarily went berserk, fluctuating between cold and normal very quickly whilst driving along. Seems to have cured itself and nothing showed up at the dealer diagnosis.

Short grinding sound a few seconds after moving away. Does anyone know what this is?

General Comments:

The car is a fantastic drive and the handling is excellent. Shorter gearing would have been nice, especially in 5th.

More power would be great, but that would mean more than group 8 insurance and put off a lot of its potential buyers. Maybe Ford should have put the Puma engine in it and had 2 models like the Saxo VTR/VTS.

For cosmetic reasons, I changed the standard gear knob for the little round alloy one from the Puma (£20 from dealers). It sounds mad, but the previously sticky gear change (especially when going from 2nd-3rd, and 4th-5th) has been transformed by the smaller (heavier?) gear knob.

If you leave your car on the road or even on your drive at night - have a proper alarm fitted. My wheels went after only having the car a month (the Ford locking nuts posing not the slightest problem to the thieves).

Apparently they are flavour of the month. Get a shock/tilt sensor fitted.

Anyone compared the Zetec S to the new upgraded (98bhp) Saxo VTR?

Congratulate yourselves on having a fairly rare car - The new grown up Fiesta arrives at the end of the year, so your Zetec S may seem common now, but with only a 2 year model run it is likely to be a rare sight within a couple of years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2001

7th May 2001, 10:37

The noise you hear when you pull away is just the A.B.S. self testing. It's normal so don't worry about it.

Steve.

21st May 2001, 08:00

Why do people keep comparing the Fiesta Zetec-S to the VTR when the Fiesta has the same engine as the VTS?

31st May 2001, 05:03

The Saxo VTR is a good car, but that typical French build quailty has always worked against it. The Koreans and Malayisans build their cars better.

And now that the Zetec-S does eveything better for similar money, there really is no contest.

Good to see Ford have moved the performance hatch stakes. Hopefully the Zetec-S could be a future classic.

I did hear that Ford plan to make a ST145 version of the next generation Fiesta - any truth in that? Might have to wait a couple years if so - could be worth it.

It's just a pity it took them so long to provide the Fiesta with performance to really take advantage of the chassis.

Any chance of doing something similar to the Ka?

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 54 reviews