2000 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 9 of 16

2000 Ford Fiesta 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

Lively performance and smart appearance

Faults:

It may be boring but nothing has gone wrong - I have no complaints at all and perhaps after twenty years of Fiesta manufacture Ford may have just about have got this model right.

General Comments:

Great value! Pity about the specification as would have far preferred the Zetec 1.6 with its central locking, alloy wheels etc.

However, this model was sold in March 1999 with a £500 discount and with two years free comprehensive insurance for up to five drivers - providing cover on my seventeen year old learner driver son!

Main grouse is with tacky bit of felt carpetting in boot area and with the general carpeting finish - it all looks as if it has just been thrown in with no attempt at all at tailoring within the footwells or moulding the carpet to fit. Original Mark 1 Fiestas in 1976 were much better finished in this respect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Not fast, very common, same Ford Europe rubbish

Faults:

Tappets became very noisy on 4 occasions.

Main electrics for the dash and lights went after 10,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is the "fastest" the Fiesta range has to offer and isn't very fast at all. Compared to the Corsa 1.6 it gets destroyed.

Poor seats and driver postion give a harsh ride when coupled to the economy Ford Europe suspension.

Nothing compared to my previous car; Pug 106 1.6 XL.

The car looks nice, but there are so many!

Don't buy unless you have to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

26th Jan 2002, 12:47

Kind of makes me wonder why people complain about the lack of power when presumably they had the opportunity to test drive one before buying it??

The car has a lot to commend it, but I must agree that it is a bit gutless.

9th Feb 2002, 15:41

We have had a Zetec S for the past two years and I must say that I have been very impressed with it. Perhaps the reason you view the car as common Rord Europe rubbish is the fact that you have not gotten to know the car in the same manner we have. It is a joy to drive and even more so in comparison with the other bland offerings on the market. And now, two years down the line, I would not have had it any other way.

There have been no faults, the car is as fun to use now as it ever was and I have not driven a better car in years. Okay, the majority of dealerships have no idea what they are talking about. My 19 year old daughter could probably tell you more about the Zetec S than half the Ford dealerships in this country put together could. She loves the car as much as I do. The dealers are letting down an excellent all round little car through their own incompetence.

And you call the car common. What else do you expect a mass marketed performance tuned car based on a model as popular as the Fiesta to be? If you want a rarity, try kit cars, but I doubt you'll find one as reliable and as good an all rounder as the Ford Fiesta Zetec S. Please, try other cars before you put this one down, it's the best car I've owned in a long time, and I've been driving for thirty years. This little "Warm" hatch is my pride and joy and my only regret is that with the arrival of the new Fiesta, I will soon have to bid farewell to a marvellous little vehicle.

And my daughter says that this is one car she will cry over when we have to say goodbye. And coming from that speed demon, that's saying a lot.

12th Jun 2002, 07:46

If you must compare a Corsa 1.6 to a Zetec S, it says it all really. The Corsa might be fast in a straight line, but if you want something that handles properly, doesn't break down every 10 minutes, is lively and cheap to insure, the Zetec-S blows it away. I love mine.

11th Jul 2002, 12:42

You are defending the Zetec "S" b/c you ahve one and are stuck with it.

In reality look at what else you could have had.

I think we agree that the choice for the Zetec "S" was not the best one.

Though, it is one to its own, if you like then go enjoy it!!

24th Aug 2002, 15:01

Any car critic will tell you the Zetec-s is a vastly superior driving car to any model of corsa.

12th Mar 2013, 15:05

I completely agree with you. "A CORSA'S BETTER" they say - the audacity!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 54 reviews