2000 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 13 of 16

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance250 miles
Previous carFord Focus Zetec 1.6

Summary:

Fast, looks great, a boy racer's dream!

Faults:

None. Apparently there was a problem with the brakes before I picked it up, but they had it sorted by the time I arrived to collect the car.

General Comments:

Not only does this car look ace, it handles superbly. The steering is so precise and it really shows on winding roads.

Acceleration is good, it's a lot faster than the Focus Zetec I've just traded in.

It comes into its own between 2500 and 3500 RPM - the traction control seems to help acceleration as well.

I'm still getting used to the fact that the rear seats are within reach! The Focus was massive compared to this. But I wanted a sports car, so I've had to compromise on space.

The only criticism I have is that the silver mesh used between the lights should also have been used below the bumper - instead of the black stuff.

Oh well, you can't have everything!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2001

20th Mar 2001, 09:26

Hello.

My mate fitted the silver mesh and it looks well nice.

23rd Apr 2001, 05:00

I wrote the above review after the first few days of ownership. I've now done 2000 miles and still no real problems. The car is noisy, there are a few rattles, but not much else.

There is one thing though. The engine makes a hissing noise as I apply pressure to the accelerator. It sounds like the car is sucking in air? If anyone has any ideas as to what this is, let me know!!!

24th Oct 2001, 04:59

Yes, it is perfectly normal. My car also does this. It is just air intake when you snap on and off the gas. Nothing to worry about at all!

10th Aug 2004, 05:41

The sound is definitley the intake through the filter, as the induction system is so well designed, it is able to intake a lot of air, without much restriction (like a "performance" induction. This is why you can hear the "sucking" noise from the filter.

2000 Ford Fiesta Finesse 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4098 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Cheap reliable car

Faults:

Rear view mirror fell down.

Left hand wing mirror came loose and was left dangling by the wires.

General Comments:

Cheap, reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th March, 2001

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6L 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta Zetec

Summary:

Superb!

Faults:

Nothing. A few rattles but nothing serious.

General Comments:

Excellent car to drive. If you liked the "old" Zetec you will love the Zetec S.

The car handles as good as it looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance21056 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Better than you think

Faults:

Nothing as such except for the digital speedometer "blinks" on and off. Ford say this is a characteristic of the Fiesta.

Paint defect on the front wing (dealer blames Ford - Ford blames the dealer), fixed under warranty.

Are/h door speaker has a loose connection. Not under warranty due to an aftermarket Sony stereo.

General Comments:

A little high to insure compared to other cars in its class (for a 21 year old anyway).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

26th Jan 2002, 02:09

Its good to see someone else has had the 'flashing' or blinking mileage display! I thought I was going mad, I was convinced it has flashed on and off a couple of times.

I've had my Zetec for 2 years, no complaints really. Very fast for its size and economical. My only gripes are the lack of space in the boot and back seats, and the styling is a bit dated now, but to be fair I knew this when I bought the car.

It has however loosened up a fair bit during the last 6 months, quite a lot of stone chips on the sills/doors, a bit of tappet noise when cold, the suspension is quite clattery, and the odd squeak in the cabin, but it is only an £8000 Ford, not a BMW. I do have my doubts about long term longevity, maybe after 5 or 6 years it could be a bit sloppy.

16th Oct 2002, 08:29

I have a 5 month old new style Fiesta ghia which I bought to use as a driver training vehicle, but it has a re-occurring fault which Ford are unable to cure. The electronic accelerator control (EAC) keeps failing and even after being replaced it still keeps breaking down (not a good advert for Ford!) This car has cost me both loss of company credibility and loss of earnings.

17th Sep 2004, 10:08

I am also a driving instructor, and have had problems with the EAC (Electonic Accelerator Control) failing intermittently. I've just booked it in for diagnosis, so Watch this space!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 54 reviews