2000 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 15 of 16

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.25 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance258 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo VTR

Summary:

A superb, well priced, nippy little hatchback!

Faults:

Nothing as yet, I've only had it for two weeks.

General Comments:

What a superb small car! I love it, the performance for a 1.25 litre engine is outstanding, it's very revvy.

Handling is pretty good, but could do with being a little lower.

Overall I'd recommend the Zetec to anyone, my other car is a Saxo VTR, and although it's a great little hot hatch, I really don't mind when my wife nicks it and I've got the Fiesta to run around in. It's not slow by any means, the brakes are excellent and it's a great car to drive.

Well done Ford!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2001

20th May 2005, 03:31

I agree that the steering is a little high it feels they have borrowed from the Ford Model T.

23rd Jan 2008, 04:28

Couldn't agree more with the comment on Jan 2001. I've had my Fiesta for just over 4 years now and had only 1 fault which hasn't happened for over a year now?. (The water gauge was stuck in the red with 65000 miles on the clock, this occurred whenever I was after driving for more than half hour, a common problem apparently?), other than that the only other replacements were tyres and brakes obviously.

Very nippy little car, reliable, and always starts in freezing cold weather.

It's comfortable, and the only negative was it had no goodies like electric windows, CD player, air con etc.

I am now considering a new car as my no claims have built up, but it will either be the 1.6ltr version of the Fiesta or the Fiesta ST.

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier GSi

Summary:

Get one in Imperial Blue!

Faults:

Rear passenger side wheel arch liner has had to be replaced twice under warranty. It sounds like a design fault.

An annoying knocking noise when travelling down bumpy roads.

General Comments:

I get 40 mpg!

The car looks great and turns loads of heads.

The handling is great and can't be faulted, but I'd like it to have a slight bit more ooomph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2000

17th Dec 2000, 19:22

I have had this knocking noise fixed, it was the anti-roll bar bushes and front shockers... however I believe my dealer fitted them badly and as a result I wrote it off last night losing control of it....

4th Dec 2002, 07:42

I'm sorry to hear you wrote you car off, but be aware FORD/dealers will never admit liability or problems with their vehicles, they will brush it under the carpet.

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Beasty looking young lads car

Faults:

Front suspension.

Knocking noises when driving slowly over bumps.

General Comments:

I love the car to bits, it looks sexy and sounds nice... never ever thought I would buy a Fiesta after they designed the Mk4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

26th Dec 2000, 15:09

The knocking noise you mention could be the jack which is located in the boot. Wrap it in a cloth then put it back, it should stop.

15th Apr 2003, 09:21

The Ford jack is actually kept under the bonnet in a black plastic box.

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4050 miles

Summary:

Great hot-hatch which is very easy to drive

Faults:

A slight mishap with a kerb left it in the shop with four flat tires, four cracked rims, one broken rear axle and a dent in the bonnet for over 5 weeks (the wheels were back ordered).

The airbag warning light came on after 2500 miles, a quick trip to the dealer found a faulty airbag module, this is also on back order (for over 8 weeks now).

They also discovered the front suspension bushes have gone. The car is booked in 2 weeks from now to have these faults rectified.

There is an annoying "knocking" when driving at slow speeds along bumpy roads, I have been informed it is the rear wheel carrier, however I have a suspicion it is the exhaust knocking on the tunnel.

General Comments:

Great car, I love it to pieces, everybody who's driven it comments that the handling is second to none (well, in the same price bracket). The performance is also just right, not too quick, but fast enough to not be too much of a beast!

I would recommend anybody buy one of these, whether you are just looking for a run-about or if you want a serious fun car, the Zetec-S lives up to expectations!

One thing I would note however, FORD DEALERS, their performance is abysmal, first I had to wait 8 weeks for my car (a financing issue apparently). I've been waiting nearly 8 weeks for a replacement airbag module and some suspension bushes, during this time I've managed to have an accident! Which took five weeks to be repaired!

The car would be perfect, if the dealers were not so poor!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

22nd Feb 2001, 11:02

The knocking noise at the back is the exhaust rubber not fitted correctly.

6th May 2001, 14:10

I have the same knocking noise from the back of the car but I think is the rubber of the shock absorber. Mike Rhodes Greece.

22nd Oct 2002, 09:17

The knocking noise is the suspension bushes. They need to be replaced for the purple ones.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 54 reviews