2000 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 12 of 16

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance8156 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Warm hatch with superb handling

Faults:

Knocking noise from the suspension when going over rough terrain.

General Comments:

The car handles and corners better than faster hot hatches.

In my opinion Ford should make an even hotter version. And they could wipe the floor with the Renault Clio 172.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2001

13th Jul 2001, 20:34

Stop listening to Autocar etc. and learn to drive a real hot hatch - a real hot hatch has to be part instinct/part learnt. A Ford Fiesta pats you on the back for making errors - who's in control, the boys at Ford or you? Buy a Saxo/106.

20th Jul 2001, 10:05

Well said, I own a Saxo VTR that is very quick and handles like a dream.

3rd Oct 2001, 12:27

Yeh, they don't go so well stuck in the dealers or conked out on the hard shoulder. Avoid the 106/Saxo, get a VW and relish in cars that don't fall to bits, squeak or misfire. The Saxo catagory is full of people with problems on both these cars, yet some people are still bold enough to say "oh but it's worth it besides the faults". If a Saxo was a girl you would dump her for her faults!

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Good looking, cheap and excellent fun to drive

Faults:

Faulty suspension link rod replaced under warranty after 4000 miles. Dealer said that it was 'hanging off'!

Faulty anti-roll bar bush replaced under warranty after 4000 miles.

Car was taken to the dealer due to excessive knocking from the suspension. Both faults were found immediately and the knocking has now ceased.

The car can be a bit 'rattly'.

General Comments:

The car looks great and turns heads. People are not used to seeing a Fiesta that looks this good.

Also, the way the car grips the road is marvelous. It handles like a dream and windy country roads are a joy.

The car is also far more comfortable seat-wise than my previous Citroen Saxo VTR.

On the downside, the constant rattling is a pain in the neck and generally the car is quite noisy, particularly on the motorway.

Also, quicker acceleration would be an improvement. An extra 15/20 BHP would stop me constantly getting burned off at lights by people in less sporty-looking cars. Am thinking of moving up to a more powerful car shortly, but only if it handles as well as the Zetec S.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2001

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance6100 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Amazing performance for the engine size and price!!!

Faults:

The car was delivered with five paintwork defects, all of which were repaired under warranty.

The wind screen wiper motor failed after 500 miles.

The engine occasionally cuts out when the engine is cold.

General Comments:

For such a small engine the car is incredibly quick, and puts a lot of larger engined cars to shame.

The car handling is perfectly balanced, and is always a joy to drive.

Although not the most spacious supermini, it is very comfortable in the front especially for the passenger with the well designed cutaway glovebox. However space is only adequate in the back and the boot.

Overall I love this car, but the time has come to say goodbye as it gives way for another Fiesta, a Zetec S.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2001

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.25 Manual
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance8700 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

All in all it's a good looking nippy car, and great value for money

Faults:

When it rains the ABS light on the dashboard and sometimes the handbrake light stays on.

General Comments:

It looks good and drives well, it's nippy and I've had 115 out of it.

It's a great package for the money, power steering, alloys, front fog lights and I got a CD player for an extra 200 quid.

I'm sure the lights comming on in the rain on the dashboard is just a minor glitch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec Sport 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Looks and a beast in one

Faults:

CD player cuts out.

Annoying crackling noise.

Odometer cuts out now and then.

Handbrake light is faulty.

General Comments:

I think this car is the nuts, it looks great and it chips.

I have had 120 mph out of it and it's pretty good 0-60 too.

Get rid of the black plastic and get it colour coded, it will be the nuts.

I recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2001

28th Feb 2002, 12:01

I'm from Rodos, Greece, and I have the only Zetec S on the island. There are a lot of problems like pre-ignition noises from the engine when I accelerate and noises from the plastics of the facia, and also noises from the back suspension.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 54 reviews