1998 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1998 Ford Mustang LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A good car for the money. No regrets in buying this car

Faults:

Spindle and hub right side had to be replaced. Approx: 60,000 miles.

All four O2 sensors had to be replaced at 85,000 miles.

Replaced serpentine belt at 50,000 miles.

I bought this car new, drove it to work for 3 years. Gave to my daughter in high school. She drove it to high school and is now in her senior year college. Very few problems. The car now has 95,000 miles on it.

General Comments:

Very good car for the money. Been in the family 10 years. Would not recommend for a first car for teenager. Had to go with BF Goodrich tires, because this car would lose traction in the corners when it rained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2008

1998 Ford Mustang regular V6 3.8 Liter from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

All show and no go!

Faults:

Serpentine belt had to be replaced twice before 64,000 miles were put on the car.

Cruise control was replaced free because of recall.

CD player stopped ejecting the CD.

The air conditioning doesn't stay cold when I'm stopped at a light.

Driver's side window motor replaced at 60,000 miles.

Driver's side door lock actuator replaced at 64,000 miles.

General Comments:

The 1998 V6 Mustang is plain too slow. Anybody who says this car is quick is absolutely telling a big fib.

The seats are very uncomfortable because they tilt back at a poor angle. In other words, you have to spend all your energy holding yourself upright while driving. Adjusting the seats does not fix the problem.

The turn signal lever was cheaply made as well as the headlight light knob which pulls off when it gets cold outside.

The interior dash looks bare bones, every expense was spared.

I only get 14 mpg for city driving.

The car has too many rattles and other vibration sounds I can't identify. Actually, I don't even want to know where they come from.

Drives terrible in the rain and snow. I've gotten stuck in two inches of snow.

This car has gone through more tires than I can count, and I don't race it or drive hard.

Even on a nice sunny day, it rides and sounds like a John Deer lawn mower.

Riding over a small hole in the road makes this car want to crack in half. This car always had a horrible suspension, and I bought it brand new in 1998 for about $20,000.

I should have bought the Nissan Maxima instead. I almost did.

The only positive thing that can be said about the 1998 V6 Mustang is that it is a nice looking car from the outside. Looks can be deceiving and they are!

I would not take a chance and buy another Mustang.

Hasta La Vista, Mustang!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2007

3rd Feb 2008, 05:09

I believe my 1998 mustang has held up very very well, it has 170,000 miles on it and is still driving like a brand new car! I am very pleased with it!!!

20th Aug 2008, 16:00

I'm at 180k miles, still runs like brand new. The suspension is perfect, would burn any stock 4 cylinder, and 10000 miles later still don't need new tires, and maybe yours is slow cause it's auto.

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L SOHC from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.6L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62500 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

Exactly what I want in a car

Faults:

Driver's side seat belt does not retract.

General Comments:

The car handles well and has strong passing power.

Very fun in traffic and in the mountains..

Comfortable seats.

I need to know the horsepower for this stock motor. It's a 4.6l SOHC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2007

8th Feb 2008, 08:47

It has 225 horsepower.

8th Mar 2009, 16:23

Not too strong, but good starting point to install aftermarket parts to gain more power.

1998 Ford Mustang Coupe V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

Fun after the money's gone

Faults:

Shocks, struts, strut mounts.

Worn O2 sensor (has 4).

Interior switch broke off side panel.

Driver door lock sticks.

Trunk interior panel snaps broken.

Hood release under hood failure (not safe on the highway).

Rear tires worn.

Headlight lens worn.

Brake pads.

Rotors.

Squeal once in a while at start up.

General Comments:

I invested in after market air intake system, platinum spark plugs, premium wires and true duel exhaust. After doing so, I received 30% increase in power alone. Sounds much better and saves much on gas, rear end fluid and gasket (pain).

I believe in maintenance care, so I fixed and repaired the following:

Struts and shocks, trans filter and fluid, oil and oil filter, exhaust, brakes and rotors, stereo system (only cannons fit well in trunk), aftermarket front and rear lenses, trans cooler, and rear end oil and gasket.

I purchased this car used. As long as you don't beat it and take time to fix things before they are broken, it is fine. This may be lots of things to fix, but at least the trans and motor are perfect.

I am probably in the $1500.00 mark as far as investment. But I figure the car would have been more expensive.

I have owned previously a Mitsubishi Eclipse and Laser. I was all about the need for speed thing, and hooked those cars up, but I noticed the cars felt fast because they were small. Those small engines have to run harder to stay up, which leads to many other problems. More bolts seized, not including all the calipers.

My Eclipse was ended after switching to synthetic.

I got too old for that, and got no respect for those all American guys on the road. It seems that either way you go, somethings going to be fixed. Either save gas and get smaller, or go larger and pay less in repairs. I don't miss those cars quite yet.

I have heard insurance is high on this car, but if you have a V6 and a clean record, it's not bad. Mine is $650 for 12 months full coverage. And at every light it gets serious looks that almost distracts other drivers. I rarely would purchase a used sports car, but I noticed it was clean and wasn't modified... yet.

FINAL WORDS:

The main thing is pre maintenance. Get it fixed before it breaks. Change it before it needs to be changed. Add a few toys to keep it running as cool as possible. Even take out the thermostat in the summer. Spray the under body once in a while with WD 40 (brake part area, etc.) And all the fluids. And you will have a well running car.

If you don't, prepare to be disappointed. I have owned 13 cars in my life, and they have all had problems.

A car is like a well cared female. If you stop bringing flowers, taking her out to dinner, and for getting those anniversaries, you're gonna pay for it or it will divorce you!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th June, 2007

8th Oct 2008, 08:14

I have a 1998 Ford Mustang, 3.8 V6, with 116,000 miles. I'm confused as to this list of problems and how you seem surprised. Brakes, rotors, shocks, struts, O2 sensors, things like that are wearable items, they need to be replaced on any car, especially one that is 10 years old and nearing 100k. As for the rest of the issues, again, it's 10 years old.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 42 reviews