1998 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1998 Ford Mustang 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance114815 miles

Summary:

A strong, lasting investment

Faults:

Even though the car has many miles on it, nothing has gone wrong.

Regular maintenance will more than maintain this car.

General Comments:

Not only is this car powerful, it is also very reliable.

The interior is well designed, and the climate control system heats and cools the car very quickly.

This car has a surprisingly large trunk.

I would not recommend this car to be used as a family vehicle, as the backseat is small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2002

1998 Ford Mustang LX from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

Great car, lousy repairs

Faults:

Unable to get Transmission out of park.

General Comments:

Unable to get Transmission out of park. Had it to the Dealer in Waxahachie Texas on three different occasions in the past 7 months.

December the said it was repaired. In March, same problem. In the shop again, same problem. They say it works great for them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

29th Jul 2002, 06:30

My 1998 Mustang (automatic) is currently stuck in Park. I have no idea how to deal with the problem. Would anyone please comment on this problem for me? A tow truck is on its way over, hopefully will be able to deal with it. But I'm not betting on it, based on this guy's review... Wish he had given some evidence of the solution... thanks.

1998 Ford Mustang LX 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance29900 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A cheap and reliable automobile

Faults:

This mustang has been very reliable.

Nothing has ever gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car starts and runs very well.

A/C is very cold and has never failed.

Looks great and paint is still pristine. I have only waxed it once.

I believe that Ford Motor Company was having a GREAT day when they built this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 L V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 L V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32500 miles
Most recent distance44560 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Awesome power for the price

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong is that some of the clear coat is peeling off of the back of the car.

General Comments:

I love my Mustang. It is the best buy for the dollar.

A person can do so much to increase a Mustang's performance compared to other cars. Mustangs are truly an American legend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th November, 2001

1998 Ford Mustang Convertible V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance46250 miles
Previous carYamaha FJ 1100

Summary:

Wait till you can afford the GT

Faults:

After two months of owning the car, the rear driver's window motor quit working.

The rear end has had a hum at 40 MPH, and cannot be fixed. We have had two rear ends replaced by Ford, with no resolution.

The windows will not stay aligned properly, constant hard-rain leaks.

Mis-adjustment of the top has resulted in having to replace the glass rear windshield twice.

General Comments:

Stay away at all costs.

Pay the extra money for the GT, or Saleen.

Very uncomfortable on long trips.

Rear seats are hard to get in and out of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance37500 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Great car once you do some work to it!!! :o)

Faults:

Everything you could imagine. I had to completely redo the motor since there is not even remotely enough horsepower stock.

General Comments:

I would absolutely buy another Mustang as long as Ford would get their heads out of their asses and actually put some balls into this car. So far I have put in new heads, intake, supercharger, headers, cat back exhaust, gears, pulley, drive shaft, and anything else you could imagine. Now I'm happy with it pushing a measly 510 hp at 460 tq.. When are we going to actually beat GM in the horsepower catagory? God, you make a truck faster than your sports car. What are you thinking?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

5th Jan 2001, 15:34

I think the Mustang GT is a great car, but you're right on the lack of power. But so what? If you have the money to buy the GT, you'd probably have a thousand or so left over, so just buy a supercharger and turn those Camaros into roadkill.

On your GT, 510 HP is definitely not measly. Even a Viper has about 460 HP, so you'd be the fastest thing around!

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Respectable power at a reasonable price

Faults:

The driver's side seat belt stopped retracting. The front clip came loose and dragged on one of the front tires for a few days until we found where the sound was coming from.

The driving lights keep breaking.

General Comments:

The Mustang is a great car, and has been the "reliable" car in our family. We've taken it on many road trips, and it has proved to be very comfortable and fun to drive.

It isn't quite as fast as the Cameros or TA's, but it handles very well and feels very solid.

Gas mileage isn't great, but it's worth it.

I would buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2000

15th Sep 2001, 14:10

Are the driver-side seat-belts poorly made on this model year, or is it just coincidence that two people have had the same problem? (You and one other out of 4 reviews). I'm in the market for an entry level sports car for under $10,000 and I've been looking at a late 90's GT. I like the styling of the '98 better than that of the '97 and below, but it's hard to find one in good condition that is under 10 grand.

1998 Ford Mustang Cobra 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 4.6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The only drawback is the cup holders. They interfere with the shifter. But in a car like this, who cares about them?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 1999

1998 Ford Mustang 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 4.6
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10

Faults:

Engine went at 25,000 miles!

General Comments:

Engine went out for no apparent reason, car is awful on gas and the seats suck big time, I think the tranny is already slipping! I wish I would have never bought this thing, I should have bought the Fire Bird like everyone told me to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 1999

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 4.6 SOHC
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Starter failed and some interior and exterior trim pieces needed to be replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 1999

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 4.6 L
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Manual clutch problems, into shop twice already (<18k mi).

General Comments:

Overall, the best Ford I've ever owned. I am a fan of manual transmissions, but between the 4 Fords I have had in the last 10 years (all trucks but this Mustang), Ford has no clue how to make a clutch that shifts consistently. NEVER AGAIN will I buy a Ford manual shift.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 1999

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 42 reviews