1998 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carChrysler Conquest

Summary:

Very Slick care, but no Horses!

Faults:

Nothing is wrong, Very Strong car if taken care of.

General Comments:

Very Slick car, ONLY complaint is the horsepower. Very underpowered, 6 cats and poor design of heads and intake. Not for a project race care... To much money... I made the mistake, but it runs great now with about $1000 worth of upgrades.. Get the mustang for a nice sunday drive not for weekend drag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

1998 Ford Mustang Coupe 4.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Dependable gas guzzler

Faults:

My cigarette lighter hasn't worked since I got the car. Looks like it got fried.

General Comments:

You have to lean forward to check passenger side blind spot.

Trunk only fits suitcase sized objects.

Poor turning radius.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

3rd Sep 2009, 20:49

How is your 98 Mustang a 4.3L V6, did you rebuild the engine with a stroker kit? And if so, please tell me where you got your 4.3L stroker kit? I want one!

4th Sep 2009, 14:18

LOL, 4.3L it's a pretty serious bore from a 3.8L block.

2nd Jan 2010, 19:18

http://www.lunatipower.com/Product.aspx?id=2554&gid=316

This company makes a crank that de-strokes the 4.6L down to 4.3L.

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Excellent car for the money

Faults:

My A/C compressor clutch bearings went out and the whole unit was replaced under warranty.

The clutch went out in Jan 2001, but that was after two 1500 mile pulls with a trailer from Dallas to Fort Lauderdale.

Seats have worn poorly.

Driver side tie rod was a problem until a technical service bulletin corrected it.

General Comments:

The car delivers more than enough power for merging on highways and passing.

I get at least 20 miles per gallon with a V-8.

The brakes are excellent and I still have the original pads in good condition.

The best sounding exhaust system of any car. The true duals with the h-pipe make a distinctive yet pleasant sound.

A real bargain. Leather, V-8, 17" rims, Mach 460 for less than 20 large.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

20th Oct 2004, 07:44

Oct. 20/04

Ontario, Canada.

I like the Camaro Z28 as well as the Mustangs GT. However, it seems clear why the Mustang is still selling new, and the Camaro is going away. The Mustang GT's 4.6 litre engine gives plenty of horsepower and a really nice exhaust note, without being as much of a gas guzzler as the Camaro Z28's 5.7 litre. The mustang also seems to have a better reputation for quality. I lean toward the Camaro for styling, but the Mustang appeals to my practical side.

What to do... what to do???

1998 Ford Mustang 2 door sedan 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance80060 miles
Previous carHonda del Sol

Summary:

Cheap affordable eye catching sports car

Faults:

None the car has run great for the last 2 years I have owned it. It has been both reliable in the snow of Maine to the rain of North Carolina. I do recomend scheduled maintanance to keep the car in tip top shape. Also if you put on a after market intake (in my case ram air induction) keep your air filter in new condition or you will lose considerable performance.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable and very affordable. the inside though a little cramped in the back provides ample room in the front for short trip or a cross country road race. The car handles well though replacing the stock 15 inch rims and putting on 18 inch light alloy rims does wonder for handling. also if you go with a 45 series tire it provides enough cushion to keep you from bending you rims. As far as the performance under the hood with 150 horses stock and 215 foot lbs Torque not to shabby, but open up the exhaust with "X" pipes and a katback system you can do wonders to her HP. Then couple that with a M.S.D. ignition, under pulleys, shorty headers, 550cc injectors, Ram air induction and few other small toys you can get a lot of bang for a small amount of money. I must digress for a second and need to say that ford does need to put a little more into their stereos as for the fact they stock system is pretty much worthless, but with a little time at the stereo store you can make the car sound like a dream as they have awesome acoustics. Also through in a short throw shifter, better shift time off the line. The exterior of the car is very stylish and eye catching. Put a 5 inch cowl hood and it gives her all the integrity of a modern muscle car. Over all the car is a great bang for your buck. It is an eye catcher and makes you look good and is as good at 25 MPH as it is at over 100MPH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 42 reviews