1998 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Great to look at and even better to drive!

Faults:

I had to replace the clutch at 65,000 miles because it was starting to vibrate and I was having trouble with second gear and reverse.

General Comments:

Taking off from stop lights gave me an adrenaline rush every time.

Besides the clutch problem, it was a perfect car, and selling it was the biggest mistake of my life.

Even on 12-20 hour road trips I always looked forward to getting behind the wheel, the interior was very well designed, my only complaint would be the placement of the cup holders, you can't shift with a drink in the front one.

As far as performance, I put a supercharger on it which really added to the overall performance, especially racing, that thing hauled. The car handled great up to about 130, then the steering got a little mushy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A very cool car for the money

Faults:

Car likes to pull left or right under severe braking.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive.

I love the way this car looks and it is very responsive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

1998 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A great performance car at good price

Faults:

O-ring leaking in Air Conditioning at 18,000 miles. Covered by warranty.

Replaced left tie rod end at 38,000. It was not bad, just squeaking when you turned left.

General Comments:

This car has ran perfect since I bought it 4 years ago. No engine or transmission problems. The V-8 has great power.

As long as you are not riding in the back seat, it is comfortable to drive. I have taken it on several 10-12 hour trips with little fatigue. I have gotten as high as 28 miles to the gallon several times on trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

1998 Ford Mustang V6 Sports Coupe 3.8 Supercharged V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Supercharged V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

After modifications it is a very good bargain

Faults:

Nothing had gone wrong with the car before I had rebuilt it. I used the car for racing after the engine was bored out and supercharged so the normal wear and tear and rear gears going out. I replaced the gears with 3:33 gears from Ford Racing.

General Comments:

This has been a very good car, but I sold it because it was impossible in the Midwest Winters especially after I lowered it.

The car is generally slow stock and not very sporty. Just adding dual exhaust unleashes a lot of power that Ford holds back. Ford really restricts the air flow which restricts the HP.

But be ready to spend a little on the gas or a lot in my case. I changed the Fuel Injectors and the computer along with the oxygen sensors so the only octane gas allowed was 93+.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

1998 Ford Mustang Coupe 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Fun to drive, nice to look at

Faults:

After initial purchase I had some problems with the window trim seals. These were fixed by local Ford dealership.

Starter had to be replaced prior to failure. Fixed by dealership.

General Comments:

In general the V-6 Mustang Coupe is a fairly sporty car that is easy on the wallet and doesn't require you to stop at every gas station you pass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2002

1998 Ford Mustang LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Delightful car if you are on a budget and have the lead foot disease

Faults:

The Serpentine belt was replaced last week, after driving the car 54,000 miles. No other problems have been found with the automobiles ability to perform.

General Comments:

Other than oil changes every 9000 miles, that is the only item that I have been forced to replace. I replaced the belt upon inspection while at at oil and lube shop, the belt did not just give out on me while driving.

I beat on the car frequently, I push the car to it's limits daily and as I said before change the oil only about every 9000 miles. I use a synthetic blend of oil replacement, but it is needed as I put about 1000 miles on it a week.

No other problems have been encountered thus far, the car runs and drives remarkably.

Very quick handling for a V6 car, suspension takes curves like a charm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2002

6th Mar 2003, 15:49

Had the exact same thing with the Serpentine belt, but at about 45,000 miles. That was probably due to my aggressive driving. Another thing to look at... I don't know if anyone else is experiencing this, but the stock tires (Eagle GA) on my car had the poorest traction. I've slid 180's and 360's in rain. Another thing is the ABS brakes, without ABS it's really bad with braking. You should get this car with ABS brakes unless you have good experience with braking. Right when my factory warranty ended, my battery died, but the Ford dealership was nice enough to replace the battery with another one (better edition too) without any charge even after my warranty expired a couple days ago.

21st Dec 2004, 07:02

Surely you are crazy to say that your 3.8 mustang is quick and powerful. Go drive a 3.8 Grand Prix. It will blow the doors off any mustang and runs side by side with a GT. A GTP will beat a Mustang GT (Pre 05). 3.8 Ford engines are weak like most Ford products.

9th Nov 2005, 21:50

Yes you are right! The 3.8 GM does haul ass over the 3.8 Ford. But be ready to spend a LOT of money keeping that good ol GM 3.8 running, especially is you have it in a Pontiac. Get to know your mechanic, and don't go on long road trips- they go sour FAST when your Pontiac is stuck in first. Trust me, I have owned a few.

8th Mar 2009, 16:19

Talking about 3.8? LOL, come on, those GM 3.8 cars are front wheel drive, not good. Ever seen a front wheel drive burn rubber? Looks so funny it's not right. The only 3.8 that's OK is the 97 and up Camaro with a manual trans, but go and see the reliability on those. Most are bad, but better than front wheel. My brother's Camaro runs good when it's running right, but man those coils coils coils and window motors motors LOL.

19th Dec 2009, 21:06

The 3.8 in the Camaro is one and the same that is in the FWD cars.

A side note, the 3.8 was the first V6 mass produced, and is based off of an early OHV V8 with two cylinders cut off. Cutting edge eh?

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 42 reviews