2001 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 3 of 7

2001 Ford Windstar LX 3.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

It was worth it

Faults:

Rear cylinders stuck.

Replaced rear drums.

Shocks are bad.

Check engine light came on, but went off after we took off a battery lead.

Had to replace tires and get alloy rims.

General Comments:

Runs great.

Good fuel economy; over 250 miles a tank city driving, and over 350 on the highway.

Strong engine responsive engine.

Factory headlamps are dim.

Great body condition.

If you buy one used, replace the spark plugs and wires, fuel filter, do a radiator flush and fill. It will make such a difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2008

2001 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

TOTAL piece of Junk

Faults:

Tie rod ends gone bad, the door locks seem to have a mind of their own - locking at random and never when we want them to-some locks don't work at all,drivers window won't roll down at all, Engine has been losing water since we've owned it and now the engine is starting to knock. I Maintain my vehicles flawlessly - with the utmost attention.

General Comments:

This van is a horribble horrible piece of junk that I wish I had never laid eyes on - I hate that we spent all of our money on this piece of junk - can't trust it at all, now we don't know what to do beings we have 6 kids!!! Thanks a lot Ford - I'll never buy another Ford ever again. My family will take immense pleasure the day Ford falls flat on its face and goes bankrupt because of their mega-substandard junk they call vehicles -

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th October, 2007

10th Oct 2007, 11:06

I am sorry you feel that way. On the other hand I don't think that your feelings are quite realistic. I. e. you say that you maintain your vehicles meticulously. However, you bought this vehicle with 80,000 miles on it and drove it 10,000 miles more. I suppose the previous owner's attitude towards maintenance is affecting the car more than yours. Properly maintained most Windstars are o.k. Not fantastic, just o.k.

2001 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27 kilometres
Most recent distance71900 kilometres

Summary:

Great family van

Faults:

Battery replaced under warranty. That's it.

General Comments:

Follow the recommended scheduled maint, I have had no problems with this van it's great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

15th Jul 2009, 01:12

Update on original post. The van now has 130,000km, replaced front brake pads, rear brake shoes and wheel cylinders. Plugs, airfilter etc. Still going strong on the original engine, transmission, starter, alt, PS pump, rack, fuel pump.. you name it it still works. This van gets used everyday from taking the kids to school to 3000km trips to Fort Nelson and the Cariboo she keeps on tickin. CHANGE the fluids people!!! oil& filter, transmission fluid& filter, fuel filter, brake fluid and power steering flush, coolant. 8 years and 130,000 km or worry free driving.

2001 Ford Windstar LX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles

Summary:

Death Trap

Faults:

The Power door locks have failed on three separate occasions in this vehicle.

General Comments:

Each time a different door was affected.

I was unable to unlock the door using the power controls, from the remote on my key chain, or manually by pulling the locks up. Due to the design of the lock, it is impossible to grip the lock and pull it up into the unlock position.

Also, due to the child locks being in the on position, to prevent the children from opening door, I was also unable to gain access to my children except from the front of the vehicle.

My safety concern is that I would not have quick access to my children, who are in car seats, in the event of an emergency.

Although, this type of failure has occurred twice before and the Actuator was replaced, the third time is no longer covered under warranty and I am responsible financially per Ford Customer Service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th April, 2005

26th Aug 2005, 10:04

If it has taken place within 1 year of its last failure it is still covered under the previous payments. It is guaranteed for one year of repair date without having to pay the deductible...

I have had and still have the same issues along with other electronic problems with my windows, door locks and alarms.

26th Jun 2008, 20:08

About the problems with the door.

Spray some WD-40 on the latch, hinges and rollers. It does miracles.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews