2001 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2001 Ford Windstar SEL from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

The best automobile I ever owned!

Faults:

My current 2001 Ford Windstar SEL only had two problems. The first one was the two front struts cracked and need to be replaced, but that was all covered by the warranty. The second problem was the two rear shocks broke, but yet again, my warranty covered that.

General Comments:

What can't I say about this car, I love it. I have four kids and they all love it. We have an entertainment center that was just a VHS player, but we modified to play DVD's also. The two captain chairs in the center row are so comfortable you can fall asleep in them. The dual rear doors that are automatic make live so much easier. The best part of them is that one of my children have their hands outside the doors while their closing, the sensors turn on and quikly stops the movement. the ride is so comfortable. If your ever going to buy a used minivan I strongly suggest you buy a Windstar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

11th Oct 2006, 15:00

Could you please explain how you modified the entertainment system to play DVD? I would like to have this option for our van as well. Thanks.

19th Feb 2009, 16:40

I would be most appreciative to know how you converted the VHS player to a DVD player. Our VHS player is broken and we can't get parts for it, so if we could get the DVD player to replace it, we would be so grateful. We also love our 2001 Ford Windstar, it is the greatest vehicle we have ever owned. We checked recently to buy a new one and were so disappointed to learn they are no longer being made.

Thank you for any information you can provide regarding the replacement of our VHS player. ejyost@msn.com.

23rd Feb 2009, 13:47

I don't know how to "convert" the system to play DVD, but you can plug a portable DVD player into the auxiliary input.

12th Mar 2009, 18:29

We also own a 2002 Ford Windstar and absolutely love it. We too are very sorry to see that Ford no longer makes this vehicle. We have 135,000 miles on ours and it is still going strong. My husband is going for 250,000. Looks like a brand new vehicle. Of course, my husband is a fanatic about his cars. The key to keeping them running is to change the transmission oil every 35,000 miles.

darlene@bright.net

6th Sep 2010, 19:46

We also have a 2001 Ford Windstar SE that has about 130,000 miles on it, and it's still going strong. If we could change one thing it would be the VHS player to a DVD player. Can anyone out there tell us how to do that?

We contacted Ford and they don't make DVD players for vans made in that year. If anyone can give us some suggestions, we'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

My email address is debbc16@verizon.net.

2001 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Buyer beware, do not buy this vehicle

Faults:

Our tape player has never worked.

The tires have had to be replaced three times already.

Today our transmission quit on us while my husband was driving the car with our three children inside.

There is a rattling sound in the air conditioner vents while driving at speeds over 60 mph.

General Comments:

This van is leased, but of course, not covered on an extended warranty. We knew that we would only have it for 3 years, and didn't feel the need to purchase an extended warranty. Unfortunately that will prove to be a huge mistake. We are currently in the process of trying to fight Ford to force them to cover the cost of the repair, or we will return it next month when our lease expires without repairing anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

2001 Ford Windstar LX 3 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Avoid this minivan-no wonder Ford Free Stars have such high rebates on a new vehicle

Faults:

Three recalls in three years

Loose and ill fitting interior parts; creaks, rattles and rumbles since new

Transmission failed at 38,000 miles - (complaints to dealer during warranty period about clunking and hard shifting had been greeted with "can't find anything wrong" after inspection and test drive) $2200 cost to repair - Dealer and Ford shrugged it off and asked if I bought the extended warranty.

Now have a leak somewhere near engine plenum; front suspension getting mushy (3 years of mostly high speed highway driving) - could be struts wearing out (rather soon)

General Comments:

Low initial price, good rebate at purchase in 2001 - however, poor reliability and many repairs combined with a very low resale value make for very expensive ownership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2004

24th May 2007, 04:57

I agree, Our family 2001 windstar ran good until 74,000 miles and now idles rough, and seems to miss a cylinder or so. Have tuned it up and changed the oil every 3000. The arm rest has fallen off and the seats are very uncomfortable. I will not buy a Ford again. My Father worked for Ford for years and we all owned Fords, but now we all are looking at other imports because of the consumer ratings. My villager had its Transmission replaced after 80,000 miles.

24th May 2007, 09:23

What an informed comment. "Rough idle!- Ford cars are no good!" Try the following: replace spark plugs, wires and maybe the ignition coil pack. You should have done that about 10,000 miles ago. Replace fuel filter, air filter and PCV valve. Add Lucas Oil Fuel Treatment or similar to your gasoline for a tank or two.

"And my Villager is no good either!" except that it is a Nissan Quest with Mercury Villager badges.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews