2001 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 6 of 7

2001 Ford Windstar LX 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90800 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

The King of Minivans

Faults:

The driver side window intermittently goes up and down when I press the button.

The driver side sliding door does not always unlock when you hit the unlock button.

The EGR sensor had to be replaced at about 60000 miles.

New front pads at 75000 miles, and the factory rotors were still within spec.

General Comments:

Car has great performance for a minivan.

Tons of storage space.

Comfortable on long drives.

Extremely reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

4th Nov 2004, 06:51

We have also had trouble with the unlocking on our driver side sliding door. I am spending about $200 this week to have it fixed!

2001 Ford Windstar LX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance46650 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

The repairs are costly

Faults:

The transmission went out at 46,650 miles.

Recall in Dec. 2003 due to faulty lower seat to floor latches.

General Comments:

The van has plenty of room.

I get good gas mileage.

It is a good looking vehicle inside and outside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

2nd Nov 2004, 12:53

Wow that scares me about the transmission going out at 46,000 I just turned 41,000 on my 2001 LX, but, right now I just found out I will need a new alternator it has bad diodes. Very surprised for only having 41,000 miles, but, every vehicle will have its problems sooner or later.

2001 Ford Windstar LX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carGMC G.M. grand prix SE

Summary:

Not sure what or who is at fault here

Faults:

When I first purchased this vehicle in January of 2002, there was a tremble in the steering wheel, which has progressed considerably.

Had to purchase 4 new tires recently, because they were cracking and one was bulging. The problem was not alleviated, the steering wheel was still shaking and at this point driving was unstable.

Took my car into the dealership several times since I have bought the vehicle, and they have continued to say nothing is wrong. Just recently I called the dealership where I purchased the vehicle, told them I had to put new tires on, and the mechanic at other service station said the tires could not be balanced properly because all 4 rims were bent. I have not received a phone call back from the Ford dealership yet, as it has been over a week.

Shortly after purchasing this vehicle, I had a loud grinding noise 3 seconds after starting. I had brought my vehicle in several times with this problem, and received the same response that they didn't hear the noise. The sound is a loud metal against metal grinding sound.

Two rotors were put on vehicle about 6 months after purchase, and my constant complaining. The dealership put on 2 used rotors off a used van in the lot.

Approx 3 months ago, while in another province, there was a terrible grinding when I put the brakes on. The Ford dealership in this province, had to shave the two rotors as they were corroded.

There was a terrible smell coming out of my vents. Dealership told me the pollen filter had probably never been changed; and installed a pollen filter at a high expense to me, and tried to charge me for labor for a test drive on account of the shaking steering wheel, even though they did nothing to fix the problem.

General Comments:

The vehicle handles as unbalanced, ia hard to steer. I will not drive it long distance at this point.

Loud grinding noise after the first start of the day, which is disturbing, as it feel as if something will break. It appears to be associated with the air conditioning, and heat; although the alternator or starter were never tested.

I do not find the seating comfortable, especially on long distance driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

14th May 2004, 12:23

I have a 2000LX Sport I bought new in July 2000. I have 52,000 miles so far and have seen many of the same problems that others have experienced; far too many repairs. Our van recently makes the same severe metal grinding noses from the passenger side engine compartment upon starting when cold, then the belt screech followed by the engine quit. I have the vehicle at the dealer two weeks ago for the repair. They said it needed new intake manifold gaskets and an updated valve cover with new torque bolts all for the tidy sum of $705. Well, two weeks later the engine light is back on along with the screech and engine quiting. Now its back to the dealer to try again. I am so disappointed in Ford and I plan to replace the car with a Toyota or Nissan vehicle.

Replaced or fixed to date: tires, tie rods 38,000, rear shock 5,000, slide door water leaks, driver/passenger door belt line trim comes loose, front rotors replaced -no turned, heat/ac temp control module replaced 40,000, slide door lock broke -could not open door 38,000, remote door locks malfunctioned 25,000 and 50,000. I had hoped that with very good care (followed the service schedule to a "T") this vehicle could get us 50,000 miles without annoying repairs. No such luck!

15th Mar 2006, 23:29

The noise heard at start up is from the AC compressor. When you start the vehicle in defrost or AC the compressor lets out a loud grunt. It is the refrigerant/oil moving through the compressor. Start with it on the vent and switch to defrost after a few seconds and you won't hear the noise anymore.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews