1990 Geo Prizm 1.6L Twin Cam from North America


Best money I ever spent


Replaced valve seals at 245000 miles, no major engine trouble. Air Conditioner compressor froze up 4 years ago, replaced alternator once. Had one timing belt fail before its time, but it was a cheap belt. Best to use Toyota belts. Replaced one fuel pump. Headliner is gone, but this is Louisiana and they get real hot down here.

General Comments:

I am amazed every time I start this car! I still get 30 mpg on the highway. I could stand to fix the a/c, but that is just me being cheap. The car still runs great! It does eat spark plugs and wires up a bit, but I can't complain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

1990 Geo Prizm LSI from North America


Decent quality for a small budget


Water Pump Seized.

Exhaust broke below the converter.

Gas tank and gas lines rusted open.

Windows off track.

General Comments:

The car was reliable until recently. The gas tank and gas lines used to be made of aluminum, I believe. They both rusted and were very costly to repair. Newer cars have a lot of stainless-steel parts to prevent rusting.

The exhaust somehow broke right below the converter. This could be due to rust also, I'm not sure. Exhaust problems seem common in Geo's.

The water pump seized and caused the belt to incinerate. This problem has been mentioned in quite a few reviews. However, it could be the result of the previous owner's lack of upkeep.

The windows came off track, but it is fairly simple to fix.

Over-all, I like the "Ministry Mobile". I'm a youth pastor and college student. The car gets a lot of miles put on it each week, and it still runs pretty well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

2nd Feb 2006, 08:54

I hate to be the one to tell you that your gas lines and tank are not made of aluminum, because aluminum doesn't rust.

27th Apr 2006, 13:39

Well, although Aluminum doesn't rust per se, it does oxidize, and since all rust is, is iron oxide (meaning it oxidized), I guess you Really could say that Aluminum rusts. However, it Doesn't turn orange!!! ha ha

Oxidized Aluminum turns/looks white and powdery.

1990 Geo Prizm Notchback Sedan 1.6 4 Cylinder from North America


Dependable transportation, even with over 200,000 miles on them!


The Valve Gasket Cover has to be replaced.

The Heat and A/C does not work.

The Headliner is sagging and I am going to remove it if I cannot fix it.

The Drivers Side Door can only be opened from the outside of the vehicle because the inside Door Handle broke.

The seats aren't that comfortable, but I do not expect much from a sixteen year old Economy Car.

The Brakes have to be replaced within the next few months.

There is rust on this car, but not as bad as other Prizms that I have seen on the road.

General Comments:

For only $47, I bought a vehicle that is reliable and gets me where I need to go. Why the previous owner got rid of it, I will never know.

This car is miserly on gas, more so than the 1993 Ford Festiva Automatic that I owned previously.

The Engine starts right up and hasn't given me a problem yet except for an Oil leak.

The interior was poorly designed, but what do you expect for a car that you could buy for less than $9,000 back in 1990.

This Prizm doesn't have a lot of rust on it.

Toyota builds one heck of an automobile!

If you see one for sale, take an immediate interest. The reliability can't be beat! I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

1990 Geo Prizm from North America




I have had to put a new muffler on the car every year since I had it.

New radiator put on after 10 years.

The inside interior is in very bad shape. The plastic around the seat belts are broken. The fabric on the roof inside the car in all gone.

However the car has been running very well since 1990 and today I still drive the car every day. The car has 160,000 miles on it now how ever it has been a wonderful car. I have no problems with putting the extra money into the car even now it's like the ever ready battery it just keeps going and going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th June, 2005

17th Jul 2005, 13:38

I find it interesting that Toyotas are reguarded so highly for reliability. I've had two ford tempos that I've driven 200,000 miles and only starters and muffler replaced. I've changed plugs, but not the distributor cap!

7th Sep 2010, 17:36

To the second commenter: There is a reason Toyota has a reputation for making reliable cars. If Ford had given that a shot more often, they'd not have been facing bankruptcy as they, GM, and Chrysler have been as of late. However, that is not to say they have never made good or reliable cars, and I say that Ford cars in particular get better all the time these days. But more good Toyotas have been made than good Fords so far. And the Prizm, being chiefly a Toyota product rather than a GM product, benefits from the high build quality Toyota bestows upon its products.