1990 Geo Prizm from North America


A reliable workhorse


Had to replace the timing belt about 3 weeks after I bought it.

One by one, each of the interior door handles have broken. The only one that isn't broken is the driver's. Having a hard time finding replacements, any help?

Wheel bearings went out at about 226,000 miles.

Brake lights don't work when the tail lights are on. They work when no lights are on. Still checking on this problem.

General Comments:

Considering the amount of mileage on this car, it runs amazingly well.

Repairs at this stage of the vehicle's life are very much expected, however, I am very surprised at how very few repairs I've had to make.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

1990 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 Liter DOHC from North America


One Word -- Reliable!


Headliner is coming off.

Armrests are coming loose.

Weatherstripping came off and I had to replace it.

Brakes, new muffler, radiator, nothing really that big.

General Comments:

I am so in love with this car!

Since my brother got it before me he blew the speakers which I'm not too happy about, but other than that it's an awesome car. I bet ya any money it will outlast my mom's car, dad's car, AND my brother's car! I'm so proud of my baby!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2003

1990 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6-DOHC from North America


The best car in the world


The headliner came down.

The windows are off track.

The heater switch broke.

General Comments:

We bought this car from a mechanic, because the previous car we had blew the moter. The car sat for three months and it was only 500.00.

We didn't expect the car to last long, but we were fooled, this is the most reliable car I have ever owned. She starts every morning and has never left me on the side of the road. We love her. She looks so sad we call her "Hoopty". She has never failed us.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

31st Dec 2003, 21:52

I just wanted to make a little note. I was the owner of this little reliable car. Sadly the car was rolled by my little sister. The funny thing is we rolled it over and it started. Reliable until the end. Sadly it was totaled. They are great cars buy one!!

1990 Geo Prizm Sedan 1.6 Liter from North America


A wonderful car


Well, the speedometer has went out twice. My step dad had gotten a piece off a Toyota and rigged it up on there, but it broke again, so now I gotta have it fixed.

Not that long ago, the radiator busted, so I had to buy a new one.

The strut thing broke, and I had to replace it.

It's really a good car. I don't think I would ever get rid of it.

My paint has been peeling since I got it, so I gotta have a new paint job put on it. My sister just bought a 1992 Geo Prizm, her first car, just like mine was my first, and mine is a 1990.

My trunk; I have trouble opening it, so I have to buy another trunk lock, and my key broke in the switch, so I have to get another switch too.

I have went long ways in this car, and it goes non stop. I am always on the road. It does not burn oil.

General Comments:

This car is a very good one, and I would recommend it to anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2003

1990 Geo Prizm GSi 1.6 liter from North America


Performance has not diminished with age


Interior door handles on both front doors have been replaced.

Trim on gear shift broke at about 50,000 miles.

Window motor on driver's side door came loose at 100,000 miles.

Tail pipes have fallen off.

Vents in dashboard are loose.

Radiator started leaking at about 90,000 miles.

Clock in radio does not keep accurate time.

Paint started chipping around 80,000 miles.

Headliner fell down at 75,000 miles and has been replaced.

General Comments:

The problems noted above are really just inconveniences when viewed in light of how well the car performs.

Considering that it wasn't treated with tender loving care, this car has been an excellent vehicle.

It is very quick especially when the transmission is set in the power mode.

The front seats are not very comfortable for tall drivers.

The passenger compartment has a problem with road noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

22nd Apr 2003, 13:04

Hey man, what do you mean when the transmission is set to power mode, I got a '97 prizm and I was wondering if I could set mine.

22nd Apr 2003, 21:50

The only Prizm that ever had a POWER MODE is the early Prizm GSI sport model, it has a 4-speed automatic toyota transmission that had a "power" mode, all that was is it changed the way the car shifted gears, The GSI PRIZM was discontinued after 1992-

18th Jul 2003, 09:56

Hey, I have a 1990 Geo Prizm gsi and it does have a POWER MODE. It's pretty sweet when you are racing!! YEAH!! this car rocks.