1992 Geo Storm 1.6 liter from North America

Faults:

Oil Pump, Timing Belt, and pulleys broke at 130,000, that was expensive.

Valve cover gaskets leak, who cares.

Strut going out.

Clutch went out at 150,000, then the fire wall around my clutch cable is busted, causing my cable to brake.

CV joints, it is cheaper to buy the whole axle.

The dash is cracked.

The internal mechanism in the drivers door is busted, when you take the door panel off to fix it you end up with other things broke.

Seats have wear out.

General Comments:

This car does really good on gas, even in the mountains.

Has a lot of power from a complete stop. It also has enough power for the rockies.

It handles extremely well in all sorts of weather. I have only been stuck in the mud once.

The back seat is a little cramped, but good enough for the kids.

My clutch cable has been the biggest problem, I have fixed it twice in one month. The fire wall keeps busting around it.

When my oil pump went out it broke every thing in side, causing it to be in the shop twice because of the bolt in one of the pulleys broke after it was fixed the first time, throwing my timing belt again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

1992 Geo Storm Base 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Gas saver

Faults:

Manifold cracked, thrown out bearing, clutch, all replaced before I bought the car.

General Comments:

For the money, these cars are worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2003

1992 Geo Storm 2x2 1.6 from North America

Summary:

A snail

Faults:

There have not been too many problems with the car. The main problem is that there is very little aftermarket support for the car. It runs good, but is slow so do not buy it to make a race car. I have replaced the exhaust and the belts for very little, but found that a performance aftermarket exhaust was less that a stock one. It is a good little car if you are just looking for a daily driver.

General Comments:

The car is slow. The steering wheel does not tilt and the view in not always the best. Acceleration sucks! The interior is very small and the speaker set up sucks. I just don't like the car and I would never again by a GEO.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

21st May 2003, 02:35

You have the weak model Geo storm, in the early nineties you could get the Geo Storm with a 140 hp engine, but only with the GSI version it was a sportier Storm with a lot more power, you have the base it sounds like just a simple commuter, there are however lots of performance parts for your car just type in Geo Storm / Isuzu Impulse in any search engine and I'm sure you will find something, the Geo storm is a cult car and has many mods available.

1992 Geo Storm Hatchback 1.6 liter from North America

Summary:

A car for a low income, high performance person

Faults:

Right C.V. joint when bad around 12900

Both front struts went bad at 128956.

The manifold pipe and flex joint broke at 129837.

Went through 1 clutch.

General Comments:

Just keep up on regular maintenance and this car will be a keeper.

This car is quick. I haven't had a car this quick since I had my Celica.

The interior of the car is roomy, but it gets a little cramped when you are 6 foot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2003

1992 Geo Storm 1.6 Liter 4-cyllinder from North America

Summary:

An underestimated car with unbelievable speed

Faults:

The exhaust pipe has fallen off of the manifold 2 times so far and sounds like its about to again.

I replaced the stock muffler with just a piece of pipe and a 4-inch chrome, baffled, exhaust tip, and it doesn't get loud or gain tone until the engine is warmed up to its fullest.

A little rust is developing under the doors.

The heat-shield rattles constantly.

My gas mileage should be great, but, unfortunately it isn't.

The rear-view mirror fell off after about a week of my stereo system.

The door locks freeze up causing you to not be able to close the door.

The frozen door locks cause the driver side door to fly open occasionally.

There is no room in the back seat for anyone to sit.

General Comments:

Despite all of the little problems this car is great. My engine is only a 1.6 liter, but it will fly. I have topped out at 113 miles per hour in this car in a long straight stretch and it was quite scary, so don't underestimate these cars and do not assume that because they are made by Geo that they are slow. The exhaust sounds wicked after the engine warms up and you have the revolutions per minute between 2,500 and 3,200. I have eaten Dodge Neons, Plymouth Lasers, Ford Probes, and several other sports cars up with this car. If GM would fix the smaller problems and maybe quiet down the engine a little, I would say they could re-market these. I added an aluminum racing wing to the back of it and it is a real rice burner, long live the Geo Storms...Overall, great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

10th Jul 2003, 21:46

Geo's are slow. Unbelievable speed? Maybe if you're used to driving a school bus. My friend had one. It was slow. End of story.

28th Aug 2003, 05:50

These "slow" cars as you say, are powered by an Isuzu motor, with torque to spare.. (I have spun the wheels up to 3 gear with a chirp into 4th)

The base model to the GSi model differs, base has a 1.8 SOHC while the GSi is DOHC. I have placed a turbo in from a Isuzu Impulse and other mods to the engine and, and made my "slow car" or sleeper as they call it a surprise to others while on the road. "I just got passed by a GEO?!?"

As stated the manifold on my 1992 has also decided it wants no part of the exhaust, I am about to mig weld the three bolts to the joint.. lol.

The heat shield sounds like some one on a snare drum, the metal they used for this was too thin, the heat from the manifold plus mother nature has rusted thru on one of the areas where it is connected, my fix? I have removed the shield and placed on it a mold of "muffler patch" and placed it back on.. bingo, this works, it keeps the heat in the pipe better, and there is no more rattle.

As with most imports, the motor will out last the body, I have done allot of fiberglass work overall on the car to fix all the rusted out area's around the wheel wells, fenders and dog legs.. It now sits in primer gray awaiting what color I should paint it..

These small cars make some heads turn when they are set up right, and why be normal and run a Honda, like the rest of your buds..