1992 Geo Storm 2+2 hatchback 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Very reliable and cefinitely worth the little bit they cost

Faults:

The starter went out at 100,000 miles.

The calipers went bad at 215,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is definitely one of the most reliable ones that I have owned-That is why I've owned three.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

6th Feb 2006, 15:33

Does the tapping sound seem to be coming from the dashboard. Every winter there is a very annoying tapping noise that gets louder as it gets colder.

14th Mar 2006, 03:58

Mine does that too, it's really annoying, but luckily the heat works well in my Storm so the noise goes away quickly.

1992 Geo Storm 1.6 from North America

Faults:

Power steering hose needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car was my first car. I really liked it and lots of people were impressed by the sporty and futuristic design. Comparable to the look of a Porsche, but a lot cheaper.

The car had a little bit of guts, but I was not blown away by its speed.

The interior is cozy, especially the backseat which is ample for groceries and kids 10 or under. But I guess that's minor since I never would sit in it. This car was also very endurable, since I'd cram 5 people and sometimes more in there, and never found it affected the car. The car also handled very well in snow.

I was expecting better gas mileage from this little car.

Unfortunately the car's demise occurred whenever I jumped some railroad tracks with five people in the car and took out six guard rails. Whoa what a rush, but I think the fact that the car was so tiny prevented anyone from being injured.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2004

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.8 16v DOHC from North America

Summary:

A beater that will whoop most civics

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 240,000 kilometers.

Replaced rotor button.

Needed an alternator.

New exhaust.

Needs new wires and secondary pickup.

Needs new rear sway bar bushings.

Porting and polishing it because of some failed valves.

General Comments:

This car is amazing, really quick and likes downshifts from 4th to 3rd doing about 90 clicks. the ride is amazing handles corners real well. have a k&n air filter for it so it seems to work better fromm 3000 rpm to 7200 rpm.

The back seats suck and prefer to have them out. theres no foot room in back and people bang there heads on the rear glass.

Nice layout inside the car and very comfortable I find, mainly because I'm 5"10" if you were over 6 foot not too bad though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.8L from North America

Summary:

Very good and reliable car

Faults:

My brake lights went before I purchased the car. It was an easy repair by hooking up a wire to the stop light fuse and bearing one of the wires that lead to the brake light switch. Lights work fine now.

Small leak on the passenger side. The leak was coming in through the hood funnel. Small patch job worked fine.

Other than that there were no real problem with the car.

General Comments:

This is a very fast car without any mods.

Good handling with it on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

21st May 2004, 13:31

I had the same problems with my brake lights and I used the same technique with the fuse and wire. And it is a very very fast and reliable car for a small engine like the DOHC 1.8L.

1992 Geo Storm GSi 4 cylnder engine from North America

Summary:

The best car for the lowest price

Faults:

Well my struts went; that was a little sad. I suppose it is because the guy before me drove it hard. But besides that, nothing wrong has happened to it.

General Comments:

Great car. Reliable and quick if driven properly. If you get a body kit, it will look superior. You can check some pics out at cardomain.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2003

1992 Geo Storm Hatchback 1.6 liter from North America

Summary:

A nice little sports car that's cheap on gas

Faults:

My timing belt, and the alternator both went at 150,600 kilometers.

My head gasket, and the o-ring on the valve, both went at 152,000 kilometers.

My seal on the y-pipe that's joined with the converter blew at 149,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

The car handles good around corners.

It's quick enough for a 1.6 liter.

Really cheap on gas.

The only thing that I don't is that the parts are a little expensive. When one thing breaks, something else breaks, with my experience anyways. Other than that, I like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th October, 2003