1992 Geo Storm Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.8L 16v dual over head cam from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L 16v dual over head cam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125222 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Faster than realized with upgrades waiting!

Faults:

The bearings in the right rear were shot on purchase, no big deal, but you have to replace the entire hub assembly - inconvenience!

Brakes are great, but don't last.

Blower motor for heat was shot - $75 to replace - bummer!

Passenger door handle broke on the interior. Hassle.

Rear view mirror fell off.

One thing that bothers me most is there aren't any custom body kits for these cars. I've looked and can't find any.

General Comments:

The car is impressively quick!

I've owned 3 Mustangs, all of which were GT's, 5 speeds.

I know what speed is, and this car moves.

Parts are too expensive for a domestic car.

The body is nice, sharp and aerodynamic.

Interior is sharp and comfortable for the car. Back seat is not there if you're taller than 5'.

Definitely a car to work.

Needs: Header, quality muffler, forced air induction system, Eibach lowering springs, (if you have the 5 star wheels (15's), keep the wheels), hard pounding system!

These cars give a hard hit with the hatchback if you have a good system!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

17th May 2002, 23:59

Hey, I am an owner of a 1992 Storm and I also have to agree with you about the amazing quickness of the car. I mean its not the most impressive, but for the money put into it and the gas mileage, in this day and time with the gas prices ever rising, its good to have a good, fairly quick car that doesn't cost an arm and a leg every time you go to the pump.

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles

Summary:

A terrible mistake

Faults:

Had to replace a very expensive tire ($140).

Needed new brakes, and they still squeak and groan when I first get in the car.

Exhaust system was very expensive, since it comes as one unit.

Radio doesn't work.

Shocks are terrible.

Seatbelt is uncomfortable.

Visibility stinks.

General Comments:

Do not buy this car unless the previous owner has taken VERY good care of it.

It is very expensive to maintain and insurance is through the roof on it.

The car feels like it has some pep, but the gears are jolty.

There's no backseat, Geo says there is, but trust me, it's just 3 feet of cloth back there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2001

31st Jul 2002, 19:24

I had a 92 Storm for 8 years. If you want to call this major my major problem was the front passenger tire the whole time I had the car because the struts never seemed to be balanced right. Even so I was always able to drive the car without problem. I had the car up until 97k when I got into an accident with it. Even after that the engine still seemed to run. It was definitely worth the money and a great car that I miss being able to drive. I was going to keep that car for as long as I naturally could.

1992 Geo Storm from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.7 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

A pit to throw money in

Faults:

I am finally getting rid of this car after 6 years of torture.

The parts are outrageously expensive, even for things like air filters (30% higher than most other cars).

I drive less than 10,000 miles a year and keep up on all standard maintenance.

Within the last 6 months, I have had to replace the computer, oxygen sensor, had the muffler changed for the 2nd time, and the thermostat.

General Comments:

The back seat will fit two midgets comfortably.

It is an attractive design.

It is relatively fuel efficient.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2001

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A good, reliable car

Faults:

Oil leaks.

Dead battery.

Replaced thermostat and hoses.

A/C will overload engine and shut off the car completely while driving (crazy!!)

Loss of good gas mileage.

General Comments:

The car is sporty for a Geo. It runs well, when there are no general problems. It is very fast and reliable.

The back seat is too small though, a car designed for 2 people, unless it's a small child in the back seat.

I enjoy speeding it around town, especially when people don't expect my Geo to have the kick it does!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

1992 Geo Storm 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 kilometres
Most recent distance111000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Le Mans

Summary:

Excellent price, cool looking car, cheap to run

Faults:

Standard maintenance (plugs, filters, fluids).

Battery died horribly.

General Comments:

An excellent car, great on gas, quick off the line and a not bad top end.

A standard is a must, the automatics are gutless.

An amazing looking vehicle, beautiful profile and body moulding unlike any other car on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

1992 Geo Storm 2 door coupe 1.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Precis

Summary:

A good car to buy if it has low mileage, or you are willing to invest time and money

Faults:

Exhaust system (all).

Clutch cable.

Radiator fan switch.

General Comments:

This car was very reliable until it hit 100,000 miles. It was usually just minor things (repairs/maintenance under $100), but they started occuring quite frequently. Lots of fun to drive though...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2000

10th Jul 2001, 03:24

I have a '91 Storm, and contrary to your statement, mine has held up well with over 140,000 miles on it. All I've had done is a brake replacement after 100,000 miles. Any other work came before it, it just needs some half-hearted maintenance, that's all I give mine while I drive it fairly roughly. Maybe you have a lemon...

1st Jun 2002, 14:42

I have a 1992 Geo Storm and I have had problems with the clutch cable and exhaust system. I have done routine maintenance on the car which was all under $100. Here recently I had to replace the whole clutch which is very costly.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 31 reviews