1992 Geo Storm Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Overall I think the car is going to be a good one

Faults:

When I purchased the car I was told the air conditioner was fixed simply by adding freon. 2 days later the air conditioner quit and a loud "grinding" sound came from under the hood. The compressor had froze up completely. The car does not start and is currently in the shop awaiting a new compressor.

Rear view mirror shakes while riding.

General Comments:

The car sat for over a year and a half without being driven.

This car will really scoot, and although it doesn't get speed as quickly as the Mustang, once it gets moving it goes smoothly!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

A fun reliable form of transportation

Faults:

Brakes went out

Clutch pulls through the firewall twice

Computer replaced.

General Comments:

I love this car, it has speed, control and is incredibly cute.

Backseat is very small and uncomfortable.

Stock stereo system isn't the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2002

1992 Geo Storm Wagon 1.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Cabrio

Summary:

A great car for someone who likes to tinker around

Faults:

All minor wear and tear parts.

CV joints, timing belt, valve cover gasket, and struts.

Dash cracked, had to build new a new one out of fiberglass.

General Comments:

My Storm is amazingly quick.

My only complaint about is how far it is to reach for functions like stereo operation and defroster control.

Seems very comfy for six foot plus driver like me.

A lot of fun to fix up. Many parts from the Civics can be altered to fit the Storm; in addition, the GSI parts fit perfectly, i.e. instrument cluster with extra gauges, and the front bumper cover with fog lights and additional air intakes.

Sound system gets better with every pay check.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

1992 Geo Storm 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance157000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

More bang than buck with this car

Faults:

The power steering line rusted out after turning under extreme pressure for quite some time.

The new stereo Flickers on and off sometimes due to the wiring system.

General Comments:

I love the handling on this car.

For the price and horse power of the 1.6 model you get so much bang.

I wish I had the 1.8 and help finding modifications.

The interior is out of this world and so is the shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Type II

Summary:

Good car for someone with no family

Faults:

Head gasket, struts, and brakes at 90,000.

Brakes at 80,000... goes through mufflers.

General Comments:

It's not my car, but I do all the work on it. All in all it's a nice car, but lacks comfort. It's definitely not a family car.

It does have good take off, and purrs along just fine.

The head gasket replacement was very difficult. I've done lots of head gaskets, and this one was hard, because of lack of space in engine compartment. The rear strut mounts were fun to get to. Had to take out all the rear plastic to access. Parts are on the high side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2002

1992 Geo Storm GSi 1.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Worst car ever made!

Faults:

The drivers side axle rusted and snapped in half.

The muffler rusted out quickly.

The quarter panels (above rear wheels) rusted out completely.

The passenger side ball joint broke twice.

The Starter died at 112,000 miles.

The alternator died at 112,500 miles.

The radiator blew a hole at 113,000 miles.

The trunk and hood release both broke.

The trunk key hole broke.

The calipers on the front brakes needed replaced at about 116,000 miles.

It had an oil leak that was repaired six times that kept resurfacing.

General Comments:

This was the worst car that I have ever owned.

Do not buy a Geo Storm ever! Especially a GSi.

There is no room in the back seats.

The only good thing about this car was it had pretty good acceleration for a 1.8 liter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

6th Oct 2002, 23:04

I think that you pay for what you buy. The Geo Storm was not made with the intension of a family car. My personal experience, was that of a good one. I bought the car, just as you with 96,000 miles on it. I had to put various little parts into it. You have to expect that with a used car. The Geo Storm has great mileage, acceleration, handling, and in my case, reliability. I was impressed with the 1.8L model also.

8th Nov 2009, 16:25

You just bought one at the wrong mileage, as did I. I think all of these replacements come with the territory. I have a Storm myself with similar mileage on it, and it seems like all of the original factory parts break at nearly the same time between 105,000-120,000 miles. The upshot is that if you have enough money saved up for the repairs, you have what is essentially a new car for a fraction of the cost.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 31 reviews