1993 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder. from North America


A BMW for the middle classes


My radiator went at 110,000 miles.

CV joints replaced at 130,000 miles.

A/C compressor replaced at 133,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I have ever owned.

It is roomy, stylish, reliable, and safe.

How safe? I was hit broadside by a policeman that was going 50 mph and my Accord suffered slight damage to the driver's door. This happened at 90,000 miles and still my car drives and looks like new. I luckily walked away without a scratch!

My wife and I also have a '93 Accord Wagon that is extremely reliable.

If you are looking for solid, reliable transportation that is a joy to drive, then a used Accord should be tops on your list.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

16th Feb 2005, 05:19

I love my 1993 Accord, it runs great. That policeman was doing 50 mph when he hit his brakes. If he were going 50 at impact both cars would be totaled, unless it was armored.

1993 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder from North America


Accords for life!


Distributor replacement at 75000 miles was the only replacement I thought premature.

General Comments:

Greatest car I've ever owned except for possibly my 2001 Accord.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2002

1993 Honda Accord SE 2.2L from North America


Take care of it and it will last forever


This car has been virtually flawless. I pamper it, but it pays me back in that it still is running like new.

General Comments:

This car handles well and runs like a Timex. I do most maintenance work myself. The only dealer performed items were to cut the rotors and replace the timing belt.

Orig tires lasted until 78,000 miles. Orig brakes until about 65,000 miles.

I have been using Castrol Syntec and change the oil every 3k miles. It stays clean and never uses any oil.

Only drawback is the seats. The seat bottom does not extend out enough to support your legs enough, and on long rides my back starts to ache a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

1993 Honda Accord EX 2.2L from North America


A great all around car


At 180,000 miles the alternator bearings wore out due to a misadjustment of the belt.

At 89,000 miles the distributor ceased and Honda covered it under the warranty due to a defective unit.

At 195,000 miles the valve cover started leaking oil and was very easy to fix.

At least once a season the temperature control knob on the heater breaks off. Design flaw!

General Comments:

I have never owned such a reliable car in my life. I have talked several other people to into buying Honda's as a result.

Everything still works, it's amazingly rattle free given the high mileage. Incredible craftsmanship and attention to detail.

For a 4 cylinder it's fast enough, although I don't think it would be OK in an Automatic. You're not going to win any races, but at least you can get out into traffic.

I will definitely only buy Honda as long as I can afford it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

1993 Honda Accord SE 2.2 from North America


Will earn high miles


Seat wear (leather).

Driver's side door handle.

Tires wear fast.

Bose system failed.

Valve cover gasket.

General Comments:

I love the car, it has never let me down. Most cars can't take this kind of abuse. Minor problems are cheap to fix, also I don't like the Honda dealer, I take it to an import specialist, they do the best job. E-mail me if you have any questions, I have had Hondas all my life.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

1993 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder from North America


Inferior Japanese junk- never again!!!


Brake rotors warped at least once a year.

Head gaskets.

Manifold faskets.

Fuel pump.

Water pump.

Transmission jolted the whole car while downshifting.

Absolutely no power or acceleration whatsoever, compares to the Dodge Onmi/Chevy Chevette.

Weak engine, can't take abuse. Like any Honda, push it a little and it will overheat and fail.

Engine will not stay timed.

Climate controls have failed at least 3 times.

General Comments:

Honda's quality is way overrated. The sheet metal on this car is so thin, you could lean on it and dent it. This car was pampered and still couldn't seem to run right.

This is one of the worst performing cars I've ever driven. It's pretty embarrassing to get blown away at the stoplight by a Chevy Celebrity.

Ride and handling were OK. Fairly roomy and comfy interior too.

I've had every sensor possible break on the motor, again and again and again. I'd take my first car, (a '65 Falcon), any day over this rice burning loser-mobile. It was a car that ran well, drove well, put up with abuse and never failed me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

10th Aug 2001, 17:15

Your car must be an exception. Hondas are extremely reliable and wet all over American models and even German models. I have driven Honda engines and they take so much stick it is unnatural, even when abused and not maintained. Why are there so many old Honda models on the roads - in fact why are there so many old Japanese cars on the road? Simple - they are far more reliable generally than other manufacturers! By the way - I am not Japanese - just that I'm not blinded by patriotism.