1993 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 3 of 12

1993 Honda Accord EX from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Cheap, Quick, Fun

Faults:

Flex Pipe

Brakes

Timing Belt will need to be replaced.

General Comments:

Great 1st car imo, handles great and acclerartes decently.

The Automatic transmission is a big jerky, but other than that it's a great car.

I would defiantly buy another accord.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2007

1993 Honda Accord EX 2.2 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired274000 kilometres
Most recent distance323000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Overall good car in looks, performance, and reliability

Faults:

I have put almost nothing into this car other than new exhaust, battery and tires. Previous owner replaced the clutch at 270 000 km.

General Comments:

This car is a marvel of Japanese engineering. The style, reliability and overall performance make it the best used car I have ever purchased. The only bad point is that this car does not like cold weather starts, and even that is very minor. I am only getting rid of this car because I have outgrown it and am looking for a truck. The car still runs perfect, next to no rust and the interior is still immaculate. If you maintain these cars, it has been said they can hit 450 00 km no problem and I believe it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2006

1993 Honda Accord EX Wagon 2.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance220543 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent and reliable car

Faults:

Front Right Spring broke at 201,000 miles. Replaced both springs and struts.

Replaced both CV joints at 200,000 because the rubber boots had cracked and had lost the lubricant.

Replaced the igniter (ICM - Ignition Control Module) at 210,000 because the engine would stall unexpectedly while driving.

General Comments:

The power steering is second to none; makes for a relaxing highway driving.

After 13 years of use, this year I spent my first $800 in repairs and now it runs and rides like new again.

Platinum spark plugs improve the idling and the fuel efficiency.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2006

1993 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles

Summary:

If ya find one, buy it!

Faults:

Faulty temperature sensor (sensor that indicated when it's cold, to add more fuel to start your car). I could still start the car, but I would have to turn the key, without turning the car over. Not that big of deal, cost me like 80-100$ with the labor included. Didn't feel like messing around to start the car and had it fixed.

Replaced the starter at 119,000 miles. Car wouldn't start. Got a used starter for half the price. Probably well overdue to replace the starter.

General Comments:

A pretty good car, drove it around the Mid West to go to college, and hasn't failed on me yet (crossing my fingers!!). For that old of a car, it's still pretty reliable.

Only thing that's a problem for me is that I went to college with a town of about 10,000, so it was hard to find a guy to work on a foreign car. But when it needed fixing, it was pretty chap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2006

1993 Honda Accord from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

ELECTRICsystem has gone at this it is to be that the car is not fireing up the right way I'm am so upset over this because I have spent lot of money on the car.

General Comments:

This car is very nice and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2005

1993 Honda Accord LX Anniversary Edition 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carHonda 1994 Toyota Camry

Summary:

The middle class lexus!! Great vehicle

Faults:

Brake system is always a problem and the suspension.

Everything electrical on this car gives me problems. The sunroof opens and closes when it wants to. Electrical problems throughout.

General Comments:

This vehicle's engine is the best! I am more afraid of the suspension and brake systems. It runs in any weather. I hate that they make vehicles so cheaply because you will see more Hondas on the streets of Chicago. I love this vehicle and hope for a more stylish truck in the future!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

1993 Honda Accord SE F22A6 2.2 PGM-FI from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission F22A6 2.2 PGM-FI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Probably the best car I will own

Faults:

This is my second Accord since 2000. When I purchased the car in March 2005, there were very little problems with it. The previous owner replaced the CV Joints, alternator and cooling fan motor. Unfortunately, he used aftermarket (Auto Zone) replacement parts. I have re-replaced the parts (which have already began to fail) with Genuine Honda Parts. He conditioned the seats about once a year and they are in excellent shape. The Bose stereo still works great. I took the liberty to install the factory CD changer. The Bose system is truly an experience with a CD changer and it's a disgrace to not install the CD changer to really experience its quality. One DIN cord and a Honda CD changer ($75 on eBay) is all it takes. The Honda Bose system came CD changer ready. If your Bose system has went bad, it is most likely the external amplifier installed in the trunk of the car (black box to the left, under rear shelf) Honda Dealers have an inexpensive repair program for the amps to bring yours back to life.

Key points on Accord repairs:

-CV joints: CV or Constant Velocity joints are subjected to grueling conditions. Part an entire driveshaft assembly, they work to transfer power from the transmission to the wheels. They are under a tremendous load, and must turn the front wheels no matter which way the steering wheel is turned. Most will fail anywhere from 90-130K miles. I HIGHLY recommend replacing them with a Genuine Honda Remanufactured driveshaft. They are approx. $200 retail and will last over 100K miles. If you cheap out and buy AutoZone or NAPA, it will last 6-20K miles, and need replaced again.

-Alternator: Manufactured by Nippon Denso, the alternator produces 80 Amps. Failures can happen at any mileage. Two of its most common failures are the bearing or Voltage Regulator. Again, Honda Remanufactured is the only way to go. Aftermarket alternators are notorious for quick failure in either the bearing or other components.

-Cooling Fan Motor: Most common in the south, you can't miss this part failing. Usually noted by a loud-screeching sound when the A/C is on or the temp needle reaching H at idle, this part again should be replaced with a Genuine Part.

-Other parts will go bad. Most aren't anything more than a minor repair.

General Comments:

I really have enjoyed Honda Cars. They are very fun to drive and I can depend on them to take me wherever I need to go without worrying about breaking down. The SE was truely ahead of its time and I'm glad to see the appreciation they still receive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

22nd Mar 2009, 12:49

I have owned a number of Accords, and Preludes over the past 15 years. Most of them have been from the eighties. I recently found a 1991, and a 1993 Accord for my daughters. I recommend brand new CV axles from Kragen Auto Parts. They are $61.00, they last a long time, and you will never pay for another one because they are free replacement for life.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 46 reviews