1993 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 8 of 12

1993 Honda Accord LX 2.2 f22a6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 f22a6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned.

Faults:

Oil jet went at 145,000 miles.

Ball joint went at 148,000 miles.

Drive axle went at 170,000 miles.

General Comments:

I found that this car is one of the best all around cars on the market.

It comes with a good amount of power, but can also seat 4 and still be comfy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2002

1993 Honda Accord LX from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired161900 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles

Summary:

Good Car if Pampered

Faults:

Replaced Radiator

Water Pump & Timing Belt Replaced

Heater Knobs Replaced

Both Front Axles need to be Replaced

Antenna Broken

Door Handle Casing Cracked

Brakes have to be replaced more than they're supposed to

Paint is chipping off

General Comments:

The car gets good gas mileage.

The maintenance and such is very expensive on this car.

With the right car it will last at least another 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

1993 Honda Accord LX from Japan

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance192000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

This is the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Ignition coil went out at 150000 miles.

General Comments:

This car handles extremely well, and excelerates smoothly.

The reliability of this car was exceptional. I put almost 100000 miles on it and only spent $240 in repairs other than normal maintenance costs.

The seats are roomy and comfortable.

The fake silver coating on the emergency brake and gear shift kept flaking off, leaving the plastic showing underneath.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

1993 Honda Accord LX from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired164000 miles
Most recent distance168500 miles

Summary:

Good car for most day to day driving if it is in perfect condition

Faults:

Radiator Busted.

Replaced Heater Knobs.

Cracked casing around door handle.

Brakes squeak continually.

Antenna snapped in half, actual power antenna motor still works.

Possible blown head or cracked block, still under investigation.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable.

Drives well and has taken a serious beating.

I have noticed all the problems I have mentioned above have been the same general problems from all then Honda's.

Quite upset with all the engine problems I am incurring since I have heard "These cars last forever".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

18th Dec 2002, 14:22

I agree - the 90-93 Accords (I've had 2) are excellent runners - and I am *brutal* on my cars, so that's high praise. I experienced all the above listed failure points except the brake squeaks (I use metallic pads - no squeaks!) and the head gasket - both have been OK on mine. My failures were a radiator, heater knobs, door handle plastic and the antenna stopped working (I think the inside cable is stripped - motor still works great). I also am having random issues with the motor controller box, but nothing serious. Finally, my CD player (the one sourced thru Alpine by Honda USA) lost its lights so I can't see what's up, but it still works functionally, and the radio 'flick up/flick down' volume control failed - they gave me a new radio under warranty with a conventional 'turning' style knob and all has been OK since. I have put more than 250,000 combined miles on these Accords and I am *still* driving a '93.

3rd Nov 2004, 16:23

I just traded in my 90 Accord LX to get a new 04 Pilot for my wife. It seemed like a good idea at the time because we ski and have a new baby- so the 4wd and extra room is great- but man do I ever miss my Accord, and I am looking for another 90-93 model now.

Mine had 242,000 miles on it when I sold it and I never had a single major problem with it. I drove that car from college to marriage and into my 30's (neglecting oil changes, driving the crap out of it, etc) and it ran like a top until the day I traded it. I did break the door handle plastic, the radio quit, it had started to *slowly* leak oil, and the power antenna stripped out- but that seems commonplace with these cars. I cannot imagine that the problems a couple of you have had (engine problems) are very common.

Or maybe I was just lucky...

1993 Honda Accord LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Excellent performance and value

Faults:

The antenna stopped retracting.

Intermittent starting problem when warm although it has never failed to start after a few attempts.

Small rust bubble formed after nine years even though car was always garaged and regularly waxed.

Muffler replaced at 95,0000.

General Comments:

Still handles like new, tracks straight, tires have always worn evenly.

Original brakes at 97,000 miles, still lots of life left.

Very quiet, smooth ride, a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

12th Feb 2006, 02:21

Failure to start in warm weather in these accords results from a bad main relay located behind the radio under the dash.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 46 reviews