2001 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 14 of 15

2001 Honda Accord SE 2.0 16v VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v VTEC Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

A reliable if somewhat dull family saloon car

Faults:

Lambda (Oxygen) sensor in exhaust failed showing warning light on dashboard.

General Comments:

This car is a good all-round family saloon car.

Well made.

Generally reliable.

Quiet.

Fairly economical (33mpg).

Performance, however, sucks. It is slow considering it is supposed to develop 138BHP...I'm still trying to find the extra 100BHP... I still have my Xantia 2.0 16v which will comfortably out accelerate it.

The cabin is tidy and spacious if somewhat plasticky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

6th Jul 2003, 14:44

It has to sit at 4kRPM + to get the power from the VTEC - then it will see of your Xantia.

5th Jan 2006, 16:26

The engine is a 8V, not 16V.

27th Dec 2007, 11:37

If you want it to go fast, you have to rev the pants off it.

2001 Honda Accord DX 2.0 liter in-line 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter in-line 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

BMW and Mercedes-Benz wish they could build a vehicle this trouble free at any price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The quality and refinement are unsurpassed. Considering the wide range of option packages available, it can be purchased as an economical family transporter or a luxury sedan. I paid less than $17,000 for my DX model. It is roomy, comfortable, and economical. The 135 hp four will cruise at 75 mph all day and return 27 mpg. Unless you have a serious lust for horsepower, or a big ego, anything more is just window dressing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2003

9th Feb 2005, 12:29

Hondas are wonderful cars.. I have one and haven't had any problems with it... I was also in an accident recently with it.. I got rear ended by a chevrolet truck... My honda just had a few small dents...the front end of the Chevrolet was destroyed... If that doesn't say something good about Honda quality..I don't know what does!! I have 63,000 miles on mine and it drives like new!

2001 Honda Accord EX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance26500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Faults:

The Paint on the front Bumper chipped off two weeks after I got it.

SRS Light came on and would not go off.

A lot of wind noise on the interstate.

The car does not handle well in wet weather.

Had to have the dashboard replaced due to a air bubble in the center of the dash.

General Comments:

I bought this car in Feb 2001, I traded a 1996 Honda Civic EX Coupe with 298,000 miles on it. Best car I ever owned.

This Honda is cheaply made, and the sound system is horrible.

It has no pick-up.

The seats feel like cardboard.

Front end alignment is impossible to keep.

Windows squeek when they are going up.

When the car shifts from gear to gear it jerks very bad.

This is my 3rd Honda to own, and will be my last Honda to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

12th Dec 2003, 09:36

I suggest you look into getting a new transmission if it continues to "jerk" like that. Also does anyone one have a hard time getting the parking brake to go down? I nearly broke my wrist working with it one day.

2001 Honda Accord EX 2.4 liter Four Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Four Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The best car ever made!

Faults:

Nothing.

Was in an accident 3 months after purchase. It had 6,101 miles on it.

General Comments:

This is in my opinion the best car ever made.

It is the EX model so it has a sunroof, six disk in-dash CD-changer, remote entry with security system.

It is the most reliable car out there.

I recommend it to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

21st Jan 2003, 14:37

I also have a 2001 Accord EX and I love it. I started buying Accords because my husband had one that had almost 400,000 miles on the original engine. We probably won't buy anything else.

28th Jun 2004, 09:25

I have been back to the dealership 3 times for the SRS light. My 3 year old battery was replaced as the answer which turned out to be not the answer. Then the belt buckle is to be replaced as the answer, which is on order for 3 weeks and I am still driving with the SRS light on. My rear breaks needed replacement at 35,000 miles and 2 new tires at the 35,000 point. I find this unusual at this point for the quality and price of Honda. I am driving the 2001 Honda Accord. I've owned 2 other Honda autos in the past with better served me much better.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 49 reviews