2001 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 7 of 15

2001 Honda Accord LZ 2.3 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good car, great reliability

Faults:

Only the normal replacement items, such as brakes, tires, muffler, etc.

General Comments:

This is probably the best car I have owned. This is the 4 cylinder (I have heard that the 6 cyl had problems). It is very economical. Other than normal maintenance, this car just runs without problems. It is just about the right size - not too small or too large. Gas mileage is very good. I average about 30mpg. The only issue is the lack of power when the air conditioner is running, but this is expected with an economy car. I just do normal maintenance on it and it still runs and looks like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2007

2001 Honda Accord EX V6 3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

THE best car to have

Faults:

Transmission was gone at 160000 km.

General Comments:

I use my Accord as a Taxi for 2 years now. And every passenger I have in the car says that this is the best taxi they've been in. Even after 265000 km the car goes through only 1 liter of oil between oil changes. Cost of maintenance is very low compare to GM, Ford or Chrysler products. There is good room in the back for 3 adults.I'm averaging 12,5-13liters of gas per 100 km. in the city, and about 8.5-9 liters on hi-way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2007

2001 Honda Accord Type R 2.2 n/a petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 n/a petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The best performance saloon in its price range

Faults:

20,000+ miles of driving the car hard hasn't produced any faults, just followed the service intervals as normal, oil being done a little mature because of the way I drive.

Running costs for performance as with most flagship Honda is excellent!

General Comments:

One of the best FWD chassis around, stunning composure, excellent level of grip and feedback and a rev happy engine that flies around the rev gauge.

Seats are excellent as would be expected from Recaro, gear selection is firm and precise and overall the car feels solid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2007

2001 Honda Accord EX V6 3.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance78500 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Perfect for cruising and very good reliablility car of the year

Faults:

Just my light from my gauge that shows the miles its just not bright enough and it goes retarded sometimes, but other than that its all good.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car and most reliable car. Well most reliable for its age. Cause other cars from year 2001 aren't reliable most of the time. Well I use to have a 1989 Honda Prelude 2.0si and its went all the way to 330000 miles and still running, I just needed a newer car, but other than the miles its amazingly reliable. that's what B series engine are like very reliable, but I'm loving my accord ex v6 too it doesn't feel as fast, but its much faster. Honda has most reliable car compared too many other car manufactures. It's a very smooth ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2006

29th Dec 2006, 09:58

So, in the 500 miles that you have had it, it is the most reliable car. Any car from 2001 should be reliable - or is it that I drive Volvo and they seem to be just as reliable. By the way, did you mention that Honda's was reliable?

29th Dec 2006, 11:44

Any car from 2001 should be reliable?

One would think that to be the case, but I suggest you look at the vehicles listed here, especially the AMerican ones, from 2001.

29th Dec 2006, 23:03

Yeah they are not reliable. I drive my gen 6 Accord 35,000 miles a year (I will have 200,000 miles soon) and have had no problems except for the creature that we hit that smashed the bumper and hood. If you say things like it is better than the rest you will get a lot of angry people...

7th Feb 2007, 23:26

Well dude that's your fault for running into something not the cars fault. And plus accords are very reliable well basically almost all Honda's as someone else said above are reliable cars anyways. well thanx for commenting.

2001 Honda Accord EX V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It's a nice car

Faults:

Regular maintenance of changing oil, tires, brake pads and rotors.

SRS light came on just couple weeks ago.

General Comments:

Only getting 24mph on highway, that does not seem right. The car handles pretty good. Other than the SRS light, haven't had any issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2006

17th Nov 2006, 10:00

How are you driving your car. I found when I drive my V6 hard the mileage is low. Are you getting 24 with mixed mileage. I got mine when I was 17 and I was getting 27 with highway and alittle traffic. On a recent trip from Minnesota to Michigan I was able to get around 30-32 MPG. That is of course because I drove the speed limit of 65 through Wisconsin and Illinois.

23rd Nov 2006, 18:13

The SRS light is a failed SRS computer. It is mounted in your passenger seat. Honda has recalled the computer, so the repair should be free, it was for me.

26th Nov 2006, 21:11

Like the previous commenter mentioned, the mileage depends on how you drive the car. I regularly drive my V6 '01 Accord about 400-500 miles/wk and get about 24-25 mpg combined with about 50% highway driving. I do drive it hard however also. I went on a trip from Washington to Phoenix this summer and on one tank got 34 mpg!! Not bad for 80-85 mph and consistent altitudes on the way down of 5000' +.

14th May 2008, 05:23

I don't think that it's considered a recall yet, but the SRS light that keeps on lighting on is in the warranty since March 2006, and it says something like extended the repair warranty for 10 years or 150000 miles, whichever one comes first, so whoever has this problem should get it fixed soon; the link is here http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/defect/results.cfm?action_number=PE05043&SearchType=QuickSearch&summary=true

And this is where I got it from some person http://townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.efdf921/826

I just recently did the research because the light is annoying me. Oh yeah, and the Accord is a beautiful smooth ride.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 49 reviews