2000 Honda Civic DX 1.6 gas from North America


I couldn't have bought a better new car for the money


Absolutely none!

General Comments:

Considering this car gets 40mpg on the highway, I just had to give performance a nine, since it has enough power to go up any hill at speed, and has the ability to cruise at 85mph easily.

I gave comfort not higher than seven because of road noise, but I think the tires are partially to blame for this. Otherwise, everything else sounds and feels just right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

2000 Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTECH from North America


All around good car that can be easily modified to whatever to like


Nothing has gone wrong yet.

General Comments:

This is a great, cheap car.

It gets great gas mileage. 30 mpg.

The 4 cylinder engine is a little slow, but add about $1000-1500 to the engine and it will fly.

Parts, both performance and stock, are plentiful and affordable. Many options for performance parts and civics are very customizable.

There is not a lot of room in the backseat with the 2 door coupe, but how often do you sit in the backseat of your own car?

Very light car helps with speed and acceleration, but makes it easier to fly off the road in rain or snow.

The 2000 has great Macpherson double wishbone suspension which they replaced in the 2001/2002 for more backseat legroom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

30th Jul 2003, 18:03

Exactly how many MPG is the 2000 civic ex? City/Highway.

1st Oct 2008, 16:25

Hey can you please recommend some performance upgrades for my 2000 civic ex? my first car so im a bit new to it all :p.

1st Oct 2008, 16:25

Oh and email is Ransomtouche@gmail.com.


-cray c.

2000 Honda Civic EX VTec from North America


Poor mans sports car


Struts replaced at 50,000 miles.

Steering wheel shakiness until I replaced tires.

Sunroof will clunk alternately when opening.

Compact disc player/radio sound fades out then returns.

Large truck ran over my car at less than 5 miles per hour, hood rolled up and bumper was not even touched.

Poor to start sometimes when fuel is low. Have to start two to three times before it will turn over.

Slow to start, no power until you reach 40 MPH.

Light car, slides in rain when starting in 1st gear.

General Comments:

No engine problems.

No tranmission problems.

Can feel every bump in the road.

Did well in cold weather, drove cross country with no problem in December.

Reliable, has never left me stranded.

A lot of features for the price.

Parts are cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2002

2000 Honda Civic CX Hatchback from North America


The worst purchase I have ever made


Sealing on the doors had to be replaced.

The wrong size pistons were put in the car when it was manufactured. The engine was rebuilt at 19,000 km.

Difficult to get the key out of the ignition when the car is in park.

The Crank pulley came off while driving. The crank is damaged as well as the bearings. This happened at 42,000 km.

The engine always makes a pinging noise.

General Comments:

This car is very unreliable.

The engine is always making pinging noises.

Basically, the car is a serious lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

7th Sep 2009, 21:49

No problems here at 122000 miles.

2000 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland


A fantastic mix of performance, practicality and price


There have been a number of rattles and squeaks from the interior fittings, all of which have been fixed at service time.

One of the bolts holding the driver's seat to the floor came out while I was driving.

Other than that, it has not missed a beat.

General Comments:

The performance is enough to keep up with 2.5 Litre V6 Vectras & Mondeos, not bad for a 1.6.

The ride is a touch harsh and it's surprisingly noisy above 60mph.

The standard fitment Dunlop tyres are fine in the dry, but seriously lack grip in the wet, they also add substantially to the noisy ride.

I got the car, Ex. demo, with Air Conditioning and a 12 Disk CD changer, for £12000, an absolute steal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2002

2000 Honda Civic DX 4 cyc from North America


Dependable and comfortable


Original tires were "dust" by 30,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall, this vehicle is reliable and economical. It is not a race car, but I am not disappointed with its' amount of power. Love the gas mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001