2000 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 4 of 10

2000 Honda Civic VP Sedan 1.6 Liter 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance52400 miles

Summary:

Don't know what to say

Faults:

1. The front door windows are hard to rotate. I also had driver side rotator broken because it was too hard to turn. Replacing it costed more than $160.

2. The brakes wore out too soon, @53000 miles. I took the car to Brake Check for inspecting the brakes. They had a look at it, and estimated the cost for replacing the pads, caliper and resurfacing the rotors for $500+. I don't why everyone still says it is cheap to operate?

3. Too low. For a tall man, its not very comfortable to get in and get out.

Pros:-

1. Gives good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2007

2000 Honda Civic Si LS/DOHC VTEC from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission LS/DOHC VTEC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Very fast, very powerful and beautiful

Faults:

The previous owner made an LS/VTEC swap and vehicle was in police impound. Needed a major tune-up.

General Comments:

BEAUTIFUL IN DESIGN... this was a custom built LS/Vtec and it drives and handles like a dream... VERY FAST, VERY POWERFUL... smoked a GT Mustang on the highway with down shift. Scary at take off sometimes because of custom racing clutches and raised rpms. This car reaches up to 9,000 rpm and can run up to 125 MPH on 4th Gear with no straining... MUST be a good driver to race it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

2000 Honda Civic EX 1.6 Gasoline from Saudi Arabia

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20250 kilometres
Most recent distance120010 kilometres

Summary:

It is good for city rides and for saving money

Faults:

After 130 KM/HOUR the car seems not stable on the road and you can hear the wind sound while you are on a high speed, but turn on your music to avoid that thing. And after I almost passed 60000 KM when I'm on a bump it feels like the car became sold, it doesn't go smoothly. So, I changed some parts then it became good like before.

General Comments:

Just fill your tank with gasoline and change the filters and oil, then start your engine and hit the road what ever you want to go.

It cost nothing on maintenance and filling up the tank.

The car is small from inside.

Honestly, Honda is making great practical cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2007

2000 Honda Civic Coupe 1.6ls from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6ls Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Stylish and reliable

Faults:

I can honestly say with the 30,000 miles I put up on this motor nothing went wrong at all.

General Comments:

Superb car good on fuel easy to modify and get parts for.

I lowered mine 40mm all round and it handled great I must admit, my previous car was a civic and my next is another Honda.

Great boot space, good room for passengers for a coupe. as per every Honda you will not be blown away with a stylish interior bit the reliablity is amazing tyres and petrol is all this car ever asked for.

I would recommend a service of oil and filters every 5-6k and these cars will run virtually forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2007

2000 Honda Civic EX 1.6 Vtech from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Vtech Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39740 miles
Most recent distance70925 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A pricey used car, but very reliable

Faults:

The only complaint I have is the CD player. When the car is parked in direct sunlight and the interior heats up, especially in summer, the player just ejects the disc with an error. Any other time, it plays great. Just a minor annoyance.

The heat shield on the exhaust loosened up twice (this happens with a lot of foreign cars I was told).

General Comments:

Has got to be the most reliable car I've owned to date. (Knock on wood)

I'm averaging 32-36MPG in mixed driving. Is cheap to fill-up even when gas in our area was $3.30/gallon at its highest.

Handles great. It could use more torque.

My dealer has been great with the service.

The only parts I've replaced are the tires all around, air filter, wiper blades, front disc brake pads, and a four-wheel alignment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2006

2000 Honda Civic EX 1.6L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Double wishbone and bullet proof!

Faults:

Zero problems! This car will last forever!

General Comments:

Excellent handling with a few upgrades.

Comptech Sport Springs are like night and day over stock.

Great aftermarket support for the Civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2006

2000 Honda Civic EX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

There are better quality choices

Faults:

My A/C compressor bailed. It'll cost $2,200 to fix it. Honda refuses to admit problems, although they are assisting some with "Goodwill" warranty. It depends how well informed you are. I learned too late.

If your A/C quits, back yourself with info from edmunds.com. Do a search for A/C compressor issues and Honda to get the info you'll need to get Honda to act.

General Comments:

Honda's arrogance reminds me of GM in the 80s, (before they handed over their market share to the Japanese). It's only a matter of time before they do the same to the Korean makes with 5 year/60,000 mile warranties.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

27th Aug 2006, 17:18

Better quality choices like Lexus, BMW, or Porsche. Dude, do you think I can afford those prices? I am sticking with Honda!.!.!

18th Sep 2006, 13:24

Honda is and always will be the best pound for pound car on the market. I am a loyal and patriotic American, but I am not a dumb American. Dumb Americans choose cars that are second best just because they carry an American name. My Honda was made in America by American Workers. By buying a Honda I am supporting Americans and getting the best car on the road bar none. What you need to do is dunk your head in a bucket of water three times and pull it out twice!!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 49 reviews