2000 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 7 of 10

2000 Honda Civic EX 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Not Pleased

Faults:

Of all things, my radiator went bad at 100,000 miles -- this coming after fluids were changed religiously every 3,000 miles. The car overheated and because of that, I'm looking to get a new vehicle.

Also, are those not the most uncomfortable seats in the world??

General Comments:

This car is "cute", but it is uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

8th Sep 2003, 10:05

Is it really necessary to change the radiator fluid every 3000 miles? This sounds kind of excessive to me and may have caused the radiator to fault.

8th Sep 2003, 16:11

I can't believe you are upset with a radiator that lasted "ONLY" 100,000 miles. Are you serious?

28th Dec 2006, 15:06

You should be happy that after 100k that’s the only problem you are having. Just remember that the new cars are more computerized and that means more problems. Fix it and be happy with it.

29th Dec 2006, 06:40

Why wouldn't it be metal to start with? To risk losing an engine over this shortcut speaks volumes.

2000 Honda Civic LX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance43200 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I think the Honda Civic should still be made with an antenna on the roof of the car

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

As we all know foreign cars last the longest, but when it comes to a Honda they can be your friend till the end. This car is great. Has never given me any problems yet. It is in excellent shape and is a nice little starter off car. Hondas run forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2003

2000 Honda Civic EX 1.6 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

Great car, with annoying faults

Faults:

Window regulator has failed and fallen apart several times...

The first 2 times were under warranty, then I paid for it once... Now it happened again..

Anyone with information on better parts get in touch... the genuine HONDA parts are crap.

Otherwise a decent economy car.. lots of road noise.. but OK otherwise..

And as another guy pointed out, the hood rattles..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2003

2000 Honda Civic LX 1.6L gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Solid economical performer

Faults:

I've had nothing but routine maintenance on this car. The only thing I've had to do are oil changes and regular scheduled visits.

I just changed the wiper inserts at 43000 miles.

General Comments:

I've found this car to be peppy and reliable.

I've taken several long trips, including one from Detroit to California and back in the winter without a whiff of any problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2003

12th Nov 2005, 04:49

My 2000 Civic the engine rear main seal leaked. out of warranty and the Honda Dealer wanted $3000 to fix. The other complaint I have with this car was it took forever for the heater to blow hot air, I live in a cold climate, and I need my heater to defrost the windshield, the only time it would heat up is when I ran it hard, at low speeds and idle the heater blew cold air, and this car was bad driving through deep snow, or heavy slush on the roads, the slush would pull this car side to side. Bad winter car.

16th Sep 2006, 08:43

I have had my Civic for almost 4 years. I have put about 48,000 miles on it in that time. It has 80,000 miles now. Zero problems so far, and I know I ran it hard, but last week the check engine light came on. Anyone know what that could be? I'll keep you posted when I find out.

7th Feb 2007, 08:10

All Hondas have the check engine light coming on at high mileage. Either the catalyser have lost its efficiency either the oxygen sensors are worn out.

2000 Honda Civic DX-VP from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles

Summary:

An excellent investment for everyone

Faults:

Nothing with the engine has gone wrong.

However, the mechanism that rolls the driver-side window up and down did break, but was able to have it replaced for free under the warranty.

General Comments:

Overall, my car handles very well on the road and has excellent gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

2nd Sep 2003, 12:49

Hello.

I have this car and the same thing happened to me! I'm having a heck of a time trying to get it fixed, all the quotes are for $200+ at the dealerships. Do you know if this is a common issue? I'm very curious now.

Thanks!

24th Mar 2004, 10:21

Yea, The same thing happen to me, but I got it fix for free. Great Car Tho!!!

So. Cali. USA.

8th Jul 2004, 09:04

I am not sure if the mechanism broke, but I have a heck of a time rolling my driver's side window back up once it is down. I would like to know if this is a problem with all of these too!

22nd Mar 2005, 09:01

Ya on my 2000 civic lx the passenger window is starting to slow down so I am thinking that it might be about ready to break.

7th Aug 2006, 00:46

Yah my driver side window is also busted weird!!!

20th Oct 2007, 16:33

The driver's side window on my 2000 Civic HB DX broke after 7 years. I dismantled the door, and fixed it, but the problem came back. Apparently, Honda knows that the window regulator is defective and has a replacement part to fix it. It's easy to take the panel off and do-it-yourself. Here's a good link:

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_do_you_fix_a_2000_Honda_civic_window_that_won't_go_up_all_the_way_and_that_fell_off_its_track

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 49 reviews