2000 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 5 of 10

2000 Honda Civic EX 1.6 SOHC VTEC from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39907 miles
Most recent distance40600 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great gas saver with an automatic transmission

Faults:

I had to change the automatic transmission fluid because the transmission was shifting a little harsh and the new fluid fixed it.

General Comments:

It is very reliable and it's a good handling car. It is weak on torque for mountain highway cruises. I wish the car has more torque so it can climb up the mountains faster.

It gets great gas mileage, I got a average of 37 mpg on one gas tank from a road trip between California and Washington state.

I don't have any other complaints so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2006

2000 Honda Civic Si 1.6L DOHC from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This ain't your Mommy's Civic

Faults:

Nothing. Ever. Period.

General Comments:

This car is quite peppy for a Civic, The first time Honda brought it's DOHC B16 to the states. it also handles like a dream and that's the main reason I fell in love with it.

The stock seats however have a severe lack of side bolstering though, and the 1.6L displacement doesn't give it enough torque for the strip. Yet the car's geometry, reinforced frame and suspension make it right at home in the twisties.

I'm not to suprised with the fact that I haven't had any problems thus far. It is a Honda after all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2005

3rd Nov 2005, 16:05

The B16 4-cylinder was available on the 1995-1997 Honda del Sol VTEC, as well as the 1999 Honda Civic Si. The 2000 Si was not the first car in the states to enjoy the motor.

2000 Honda Civic EX 1.6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance86800 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

This car gets a grade of A+

Faults:

I just bought this car, and I am so happy. My friends are in the import scene, and I bought a Honda stock so I could personalize it with my taste.

Nothing is wrong with this car, and with the high mileage, the dealership added a 100,000 mile / four year warranty on the drive train, so I am good to go, couldn't be happier.

General Comments:

There are so many things that you can do with a Honda Civic, I cannot wait to sink my claws into it and really show off my imagination.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2005

2000 Honda Civic EX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Reliable, but good for only short trips

General Comments:

The car has held up very well.

The transmission does pause before going into drive when it is cold, but this seems to be a common Honda trait. It also has high shift points, and you can notice this when you drive very slowly. When you give it lots of gas, it is as smooth as silk.

The OEM Firestone tires are horrible. They barely lasted 35k miles. I put on a set of Korean tires and they are excellent.

The seats are extremely uncomfortable. I drive from Chicago to DC often, and I ache all over after a few hours. My wife wants me to get another Crown Victoria, because my last one was a dream to drive. I think this car would be ideal if the seats were more supportive.

And yes, even though it has 127 horse power, it lacks power.

I will trade it in soon for an Accord, Camry, CR-X, or Rav4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2005

2000 Honda Civic L.X 1.6L SOHC 16v from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6L SOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles

Summary:

A great reliable car that is also fun to drive

Faults:

When the car was almost brand new the front window molding was peeling off and the dealer fixed this problem under warranty.

Other than that the car has been perfect and has gave no problems what so ever.

General Comments:

This is a great car and I highly recomend a Honda of any kind to anyone who wants a great reliable car.

The car also gets incredibly good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2005

2000 Honda Civic Si 1.6L doch Vtech from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6L doch Vtech Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Good car

Faults:

The front brakes finally went out at 80,000 miles (never been replaced before that). passenger has a little trouble, nothing big.

General Comments:

Good all around car. very cheap too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2005

2000 Honda Civic Coupe Sport 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17500 miles
Most recent distance19500 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Great car that looks the part and turns heads

Faults:

Nothing so far, but I am getting a bit of a rattle from the exhaust which I'll need to get checked out.

General Comments:

Great car. Bought it two months ago after owning a Renault Megane for two years. A lot better.

It's a limited edition Sport model, based on the Lsi, but with a couple of extras such as alloys and a spoiler. Make the car look a bit better than the standard coupe.

It has the SOHC Non-Vtec motor with 105bhp. Not hugely fast, but quick enough for driving around town and has plenty of pull on the motorway. A lot more than my old Megane which was a slow piece of crap. Also more than enough to get rid of any chavs in crappy old Novas and the like!

Has all the comforts that you would expect or need. Electric windows and mirrors, air con, alloys etc etc. Very comfortable to drive on short and longer journeys. Gets plenty of looks aswell, as the coupe isn't nearly as common as the hatchback or saloon versions in the UK. Which is a nice little bonus!

Overall, it's been a great car in the 2 months and 2000 miles I've had it so far. Heres to another few thousand good miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2004

9th Jan 2005, 07:51

I've just bought a Honda Civic Sport Coupe, and I also noticed a rattle on the exhaust. I looked to see what it was and it's the heat shield over the cat. It is a very good car. Honda could have done better than 105 or 103bhp, or whatever it is, as some of the other 1.6 models are 120+bhp. Overall pleased with my second ever car.

16th Sep 2005, 07:42

Well it's interesting, because I also bought a Honda Civic Coupe, and it too started to rattle at the exhaust recently, and guess what, the heat shield over the cat. convertor. So it seems quite a common fault. I think you can't fault it looks wise, performance not so sure, mine is auto, and I've been getting 20mpg? is that fair? Apart from that I think it has good acceleration, 80 mph hovering around 3500rpm which isn't too bad. I like all the options you get with the car such air cond, electric windows, alloys etc. So really I'm quite happy with the car apart from the fuel economy which I will watch carefully.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 49 reviews